We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not care for the wine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ceja Vineyards - CLOSED

Ceja Vineyards
1248 First St., Napa, CA 94559
(707) 931-6978
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ceja Vineyards is an ultra premium Latino family owned winery founded by Amelia, Pedro, Armando and Martha Ceja - first generation Mexican-American winegrowers in the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Enhance your wine knowledge as you learn about our rich heritage and see what makes the Carneros region such a premier grape growing region. Enjoy and sample a minimum of five wines from our portfolio that may include our Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, and Vino de Casa Red blend. ​Situated right on the highway between Napa and Sonoma with lovely expansive views of the surrounding Carneros countryside, our wine tasting room is comfy and cozy inside and includes a private outdoor sitting area perfect for picnics.
detroit
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Did not care for the wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were staying at the Avia hotel and decided to try the Ceja tasting base upon good reviews on Yelp, and the location being just down the street. The man pouring the wine was very nice to talk with, but we did not care for the wine. I found myself dumping a lot of it in the bucket. You can do better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great 1st Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just down from the Avia, the Ceja tasting room is a lovely place to stop to initiate your wine tasting experience. The staff is very charming and informative. The wine flights were good. Don't forget to get a 2-1 tasting voucher before you go. They had a wine special on their rose - which was a wonderful - dry but similar tastes to a pinot noir. Of course, we couldn't pass up buying the bottle!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend an Afternoon In Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The host at the wine bar was very knowledgeable. We ended up sampling more of his wine than planned. He would keep pouring additional samples just as a courtesy. The Ceja wine was all very good and it ranges in price from extremely affordable to pricy. Also, it was a very pleasant temperature inside. Most of the places we went in Napa were very warm inside.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great wine and a great family heritage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stopped at Ceja as part of a Napa Valley Bike Tour. Unfortunately it was the last stop of the day so we were a litte tired and had already tasted a bunch of wine. I remember the wine being good, but it could be the other wine talking! I specifically remember their rose, pinot noir, and their dessert wine. What I really loved about Ceja apart from the wine was their story. They are one of a few Mexican-American wineries and you could definitely feel the family vibe there. It's a very warm, welcoming place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Tasting Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Was pleasantly suprise by the Rose and the Sauv Blanc. Not usually a white drinker but this blew me away. If they serve it at the White House then it is good enough for me. Great tasting bar !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceja Vineyards also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceja Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.