We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks, Good Prices, Good Service, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R J's Sizzlin Steer

R J's Sizzlin Steer
41401 Kalmia St, Murrieta, CA 92562
951-600-7711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 150 Restaurants in Murrieta
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Steaks, Good Prices, Good Service, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This place is good all around.

It's one of those exposed beam high ceiling barn like atmospheres with large tables, big booths and dated wall ornaments.

They are a steak house, so stick to the steak! Portions are reasonable in size, food is cooked well, and prices are decent for what you get.

Drinks, like everywhere else, are not cheap. Go home and have a margarita afterwards if you don't want to see your bill increase by 50%!

They have a special on Tri-Tip Monday and Tuesday. GO.

They have taco Tuesday where the tacos are $2/each (chicken, pork, fish, shrimp, steak, tri-tip). GO. (actually don't because I don't want to have to wait for you to leave to get a seat).

Net-Net: Do it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went here with our daughter and her date on the night of a school formal. The staff was happy to seat us separately, so the kids could enjoy a "date," while the adults could keep an eye on them, but not obviously. The staff was delightful and helpful, the food was very good, and the prices were reasonable. This place can get quite crowded, so make a reservation! We had some excellent steaks, and some delicious appetizers here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good steak, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I couldn't understand why our steaks were taking so long. Our waitress finally told us that they were having trouble with their computer system that day, so the kitchen never got our order.

It seemed to us that if they were having trouble, why didn't anyone double-check that the kitchen was getting orders. It's too bad, because the steaks were good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Beef Is Here !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

What an awesome surprise to find this quality steak restaurant less than a mile away from our home! Superb steak kabobs, fresh veggies and salads, and 3 distinctly different atmospheres to dine in. The dedicated dining room is quite large, and the seating appears to be very comfortable (though its a tiny bit noisy). The bar area is smaller but quite nice, with lots of counter height booths, as well as tables and chairs. Finally, there's a large covered patio area with live entertainment as a bonus. We were there on a Saturday night, and got there early. Glad we did, as it was starting to get busy by the time we left. Prices are very reasonable considering the excellent food and service. We're going back next weekend to try out their brunch, which we hear is outstanding!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went there for dinner. I have dairy/gluten allergies. Server was knowledgeable and steered me away from food items I should avoid and made suggestions that were helpful. Had the prime rib and it was really good. Others in my party had steaks and everyone thought the food was tasty. The salad could be a bit bigger, but otherwise I thought the portions were adequate. I will make it a point to eat here when I'm in town again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R J's Sizzlin Steer also viewed

 

Been to R J's Sizzlin Steer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R J's Sizzlin Steer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.