We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Inn
Save
You added Victoria Inn to your Saves list
402 Main St., Murphys, CA 95247 (Formerly Rebud Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Murphys B&B and Inns
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location on old Main Street; our meals at the inn were 5 star, a very helpful staff manned the front desk. Be aware that the included breakfast is not served until 8:30 AM, which is a bit late for most energetic tourists. Also know that front desk staff leaves in the evening and a code is required for entry. The owner lives nearby and is available for emergencies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha U, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciated your thoughts, we will make the coffee station access more prominent for those who would like a nice cup before 8:30am. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After a warm welcome by Danielle while showing us some available rooms, we couldn't resist the opportunity to stay Sunday night. Overall it was a great experience. We had room #3 overlooking the street with a neat little balcony. Inside the room was HUGE, claw footed tub, next to a fireplace, with a separate bathroom. Our heating/cooling was also controlled by the thermostat in the hallway outside our room. We requested it be turned off so we could have the balcony door open. My wife will alway remember her soak in the tub, sipping on a glass of Red Obsession fron Ironstone Winery, conversing with me. After her soak, we walked down stairs and had a great meal. Thank you Rose, you're the BEST. Unfortunately, not Rose's problem, but management, there weren't enough staff to handle dinner service on a Sunday night. The table of 4 next to us was having a real challenge just getting their first martini. Their server felt so bad about it that he bought a round of drinks for the table.

Fortunately, there are little things that could be easily fixed in the hotel side too. The pillows are TERRIBLE, cheap thin foam type, even though there were oversized decorator pillows on top of the bed concealing these stupid little pillows. So it wouldn't take much to upgrade the pillows. And then the "breakfast" doesn't start until 8:30 AM, totally ridiculous, as 4 other guests having coffee at 7:30 agreed. Actually for a Monday morning, there was only one little coffee shop open in town where you could order a microwaved egg sandwich. Why they couldn't start breakfast at 7:30 vs. 8:30 doesn't seem like a big deal, especially to take care of hungry guest. Frankly I've never stated at a B&B type place that didn't serve food until 8:30. Kind of silly.

Bottom line, we'll be there again this summer to see if they changed anything.

PS: If you've driven all the way to Murphys and you don't spend time at Ironwood, you made a huge mistake. Ironwood Winery is a MUST SEE and taste.

Room Tip: #12 in the back has to be the quietest, all the other rooms seem to be located over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha U, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, I am glad that you had a nice visit at Ironestone (I love the museum myself as well) and that you will return. There have been discussions regarding the pillows and we are contemplating incorporating a pillow menu program into the Inn. There are many things we are looking at we will take your words into consideration. We do strive to exceed your expectations and offer you wonderful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Murphys is a quiet little town and the "V" is right downtown on main street. The location is great if you want to be close to the wineries and just stroll around downtown. The rooms are nice and comfortable with a feel that equally matches the town itself. There is a fabulous restaurant in the hotel that serves great food and just outside the hotel on main street are multiple wineries in walking distance. The front desk was knowledgeable and friendly, and the feel is more of a b&b than a "hotel".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha U, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the V and in Murphys. Please do come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to Murphys to pick up a wine shipment at one of the local wineries and figured we might as well spend the night, since we would be doing some 'tasting' while there. We had been wanting to check this place out and they had a vacancy...it worked.

We had a small room above the Bistro patio...you could hear the chatter, but it was all very civilized and not too noisy at all. The room was clean and well-maintained, but space was a premium, and I wouldn't choose that room for more than a one-night stay. The small balcony was about the length of a queen-sized bed and about 3 feet wide. OK for two to sit and have a glass of wine; had to stand up to see over the rail. WiFi worked fine...no TV or phones in the rooms.

Desk people were helpful and courteous and made some recommendations for wineries and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms above the Bistro tend to be noisier than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in Room 11, "cottage". Fireplace burns only small duraflames but provides some atmosphere (burn two at a time for twice as much atmoshere ;). 2 person Jacuzzi is brilliant, large enough for a big guy like me and my girlfriend. Shower head could be a little higher for tall guys like me.

Nice wood floor and overall size of room was large, warm and cheery. Perfect for our getaway.

Bed has a a faux four-poster design to it with curtains - really charming. Bed, linens and pillows great.

Had a private furnished porch which we didnt get to use this trip but intend to when the weather warms up a bit.

Staff pleasant, started a fire for us before we checked in and while we had a light supper.

Continental breakfast was great -- and I usually consider them afterhoughts by the hotel and skip them in favor of a breakfast somewhere else. But this one was much better. Pastries were delightful and well made. Bagels were really, really good - soft and great flavor. Smoked salmon with capers was also excellent quality and coffee was very good as well. We sat outside on porch to eat along with a selection of newspapers. They also had fireplace going on in dining room but outdoors was more our style that day.

Room Tip: Room 11 is the cottage and subject of this review - did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A little mixed on the one night we stayed at the VI. Remember folks, it's not a hotel, it's an Inn, and more like a bed and breakfast without the big breakfast. The photo is deceiving, as the entire building is right on main street off the street and houses other businesses other than the Inn. We stayed in the Opi's cabin room with in-laws across the hall in a regular king bed room. Our room: Luxurious looking old style post beds, bare wood ceilings and wood floors, old claw foot tub and tin panel shower. The decor is a mix of vintage upscale (think Restoration Hardware) with some odd 70's/80's throwback here and there (like the huge jet tub that could fit 5 adults in the in-laws room and some other assorted fixtures). One thing that got me was the heating vents had dust globs caught in them and there was dust under the beds (like they cleaned the floors, just didn't take the extra time to run a broom/mop under the bed). This place is not huge, so the rooms should be SPOTLESS! The heater in this room is LOUD, probably because the bare wood ceiling decor and lack of insulation. When the heat kicks on, the noise of the vent and air coming through woke me up every time. On the flip side, my in-laws did not have this issue in their room. As someone else mentioned, the heater controls all rooms centrally. I was told on check-in, it is set by staff to a "comfortable" level but not advised until I complained at check-out that guests can adjust the thermostat if they need to. I'd like to know which guest set it to 75 or 80 after 10PM, because we (in-laws included) roasted all night. The beds are warm enough with the huge blankets! I cracked the windows at the head of the bed but it was 32 degrees outside, with the windows at head level, so you froze your face off and the heater kicked on every fifteen minutes. Very uncomfortable and sleepless night. I had another issue at 9:30PM when I went to take a shower. With the hot water on full blast (no cold water on) the water was barely warm enough to take a shower. This wasn't a problem the next day in the morning (water was steaming hot), so I wonder if they share water heating with the restaurant that maybe had some industrial dishwashers going that night around closing? I would skip the continental breakfast (walk down to Aria Bakery!!). The Inn provided Bagels, pastry, yogurt, granola and raisin bran, OJ, bananas, apples, oranges, weak/bad tasting coffee, packaged cocoa and cider. I saw a "Kirkland" bag in the prep area (probably the bagels) but made me think maybe the pastry was also from Costco, not from a local bakery. No thanks. Overall, if you can deal with lack of regular hotel amenities (no TV, fridge, safe, ironing board, blow dryer, etc.), the decor is very nice, quiet rooms, comfortable, centrally located in town to walk to anything. The staff is super friendly but only available from 9am to 7pm. My wife was overly charmed by the rooms, as most people might be. Great getaway for couples but our kids hated it! Loved being able to walk downstairs and take a little door right into the bar/bistro (see review for "V" Restaurant), then take a staircase right back to your room for the evening. My wife wants to go back. Me, I might go for it if there is nothing else worth checking out and we try a different room....

Room Tip: Opis' cabin: wood floors, loud ventilation system
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stay here at least twice a year for a little wine tasting get away. If you want great wines and friendly helpful hosts try coming to Murphy's and Calaveras County. Of course if you miss paying outrageous fees for your wine and don't mind snooty hosts then you better stick to Napa County.
The Victoria is quaint and comfortable, the rooms are well appointed and the location is right in the heart of downtown Murphy's. The breakfast is awesome and the hosts are very helpful. It is a bit more costly to stay here but in my opinion worth every dime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Address: 402 Main St., Murphys, CA 95247 (Formerly Rebud Inn)
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay with us at Victoria Inn in Murphys, in the heart of Calaveras in California, you can explore Yosemite National Park or Bear Valley Ski Area. If you prefer, stay local and stroll Main Street, enjoying the unique shops and restaurants. The area surrounding Murphys is the best rival to Napa Valley and noted for our vineyards and wineries. Whatever you choose to do, your day will end in a beautiful room in an elegant and comfortable home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.