We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attempt with the little touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Suites

Save Saved
You added Murphys Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murphys Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Murphys
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great attempt with the little touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

They really try to be unique with the morning delivery of donuts, but it just isn't quite there yet. The rooms are nice and large, but the decor is a bit dated. If you're going to leave it dated at least date it back in the 1800s like the rest of the town. The staff is very friendly and the beds are comfy. The location is also within walking distance to town, at only about a quarter mile from the main drag. I can't really complain (well, except the bathroom smelled a bit musty), it just doesn't have that "Wow" factor for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the staff and our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Rooms are great for the size and variety offered, especially for a family. Love the mini fridge and microwave in room and the extra sitting room/fold out sofa bed. Those are definitely excellent features. Not the most thorough cleaning of rooms, but overall fine. We always find a sock, or someone's contact lenses, etc. in a drawer or under a table. The linens are fine, carpet vacuumed, bathrooms cleaned, just not a lot of attention to detail cleaning. So, not a deal breaker. Staff is usually very responsive to requests for a blanket, remote issue, etc. They are accommodating and the place is comfortable and convenient to anything you want to do in town. Walking distance to wine tasting, concerts at the vineyard, excellent Italian Restaurant and other little spots on the main strip. Wish they would heat the pool a bit though. In the summer, when it is super hot, water is still chilly until many days of sun to warm it, Travelling with kids, a pool is always a highlight and kind of a bummer when it is even too chilly in the summer to comfortably swim. Overall, this is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel. Convenient, grocery store nearby, etc. We stay here often as we have family in the area and find this the best value and features. For 2 adults and 2 school age kids can't beat the 2 room suite with the two queen beds and pull out couch. Only reason didn't give higher rating is that the rooms aren't cleaned very well sometimes and for a two room suite, expecting to accommodate 4 guests, they do not stock sufficient (4) bath towels and one sink/vanity area out in the middle of the "living space", with one toilet and tub/shower in separate space. A second toilet would be delightful, but they do have lobby restrooms which are very nice, when the need arises : ).. Pool towels are available at front desk, which is great. They have computers in the lobby, laundry machines and also a nice sauna, hot tub and work out space. Overall, good value and we will continue to choose this hotel whenever we visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for frequenting our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This facility is a great experience right at check in friendly corteous they definetely go the extra mile for you. It's situated very central walking distance to the main strip. Although the pool area is not very large I still had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Glad you had an enjoyable time. Our facility is perfect for families gathering for a wedding in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've stayed in Murphy's Suites "two-room suite" several times. This type of room gets you a typical motel bedroom with either a king or two full-size beds, and a living room area with a hide-a-bed. The area between has an enclosed room with a tub/shower and a toilet, and a separate counter area right out in the open that serves as the bathroom sink. I'm a little bit uncomfortable with this arrangement (I like a bit of privacy when brushing my teeth, and stuff like that, I'm weird that way).

The rooms themselves are fairly nice. The main bed is of good quality, with good bedding. The hide-a-bed is okay - there's not much you can do with one of those things - but there's plenty of extra blankets and pillows in the cupboards.

The only real problem is the heating and ventilation. The room has one of those crappy window combo heater/air conditioner/fan units, and the thing is approximately as loud as an old Evinrude motor running at idle. You pretty much have to leave the thing running all night, too. The only way to get heated or cooled air into the living room part of the suite is a little (approximately 12" square) fan set into the wall between the two rooms. It's not terribly effective.

The good points are these: Free Wi-Fi. TVs in each room of the suite, with lots of channels (including HBO, if I remember correctly). Very friendly staff. Free donuts and juice delivered to your door each morning. Reasonably priced. Good location. Lots of free parking.

All in all, Murphys Suites is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for being a great return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Pescadero, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was taken aback with pleasure at each unfolding of the discovery of Murphys Suites. Seeing the motel from the outside, (it certainly won't win any architectural awards) and knowing the 'low end' price for my reservation, I expected a generic sort of small town motel. As I approached, I noticed the large, formal and very well done entrance, Wow. As the large doors opened automatically I felt welcomed, then surprised with the expansive lobby with a 20 something foot ceiling. I stopped to take it all in. There was a fire going in a nice little area off to one side with comfortable seating, too many to mention other well done details along with the timber framing made it feel warm and inviting. I was particularly impressed with the accomplishment of balance between formal elegance and county warmth. Refreshingly, I was greeted warmly with sincerity by Tanya. I was just short of being shocked at each feature, accommodation and service Tanya presented. Honestly, I was overwhelmed, with Tanya tipping the scales, Aspen's 5 Stars have nothing over this place. Kudos to Tanya. If you're fortunate, you'll experience luxurious warmth and the delightful Tanya.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed our facility. Tanya is a exceptional hostess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

While the hotel is a little dated and can be more like a motel in some aspects (plastic cups and skimpy towels in the rooms), you will be surprised by the little pleasantries that do make your stay very enjoyable.

The hotel is very centralized to the town of Murphys and within walking distance to most shops and restaurants. Upon checking in the staff was VERY pleasant and helpful, and asked what flavor donuts we would like delivered with our coffee, juice or milk in the morning. They even gave us a time that we would like to have them delivered!

The room/suite we had was generously sized with a microwave, fridge and wet bar.

We were traveling with a group of friend and there are a couple of nice common areas for us to gather for a bottle of wine and conversation.

The staff kindly held our luggage and wine cases the day of check out so we could enjoy our last day in Murphys showing our car at the Ironstone Concourse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

For the third year in a row we take an Autumn hike through Calaveras Big Trees State Park. We have stayed in Murphys, but this year was the first time we stayed at Murphys Suites. In comparison to other properties, Murphys Suites appears to be one of the newest hotels in the area. The hotel staff was wonderful and accommodating. After we checked in, we were asked if the room was acceptable and they could change it if we desired. The room was large and it is nice to have a separate bedroom and sitting area. The backside of the hotel overlooks a nursery and we found it to be quiet. Probably better than the rooms fronting the parking area. A microwave and small refrigerator makes it easy to have a quick bite to eat before venturing out. The room was clean, but not necessarily spotless as I'm sure they have quite a few skiers during the winter season. The room had a "lived in" feel, but not such that it was uncomfortable. A nice touch is the orange juice, coffee and mini donuts in the morning. If that's not your thing, Hillbillies Cafe is just a short distance up the road for breakfast or lunch.
The pool and spa were closed and that is normal according to the staff for this time of year. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return again for our annual hike through the Big Trees.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel seem to be quieter as these rooms overlook a nursery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good to hear your enjoyed your stay. Calaveras Big Trees State Park is only one of the fabulous hiking trail systems in our beautiful area. Glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Address: 134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphys Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.