We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Murphys Suites to your Saves list
Murphys Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed our week-end stay. 2-room suite was very clean, pleasantly enough furnished and spacious with 2 comfortable queen beds and adjoined sitting room, with TV in both rooms. Friendly staff. Donuts & Juice delivered to our door each morning was a nice convenience. Suite also has frig, microwave, hair dryer and coffee maker with supplies. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the layout of our rooms as well as our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
33
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We come to Murphys from the East Bay usually 2-3 times a year for a winery event and have always stayed at another property. This time, they were booked full, but, lucky for us Murphys Suites was not. We got a room a kind of the last minute, got an AARP discount and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took advantage of the pool (no one else was there) and will definitely remember the sauna next trip. Very friendly employees, extremely clean room with a fridge for our drinks. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would ask for an odd numbered room, away from the highway. However, we were on the highway side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoy our area wineries and return often. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean room. Very friendly folks. Very quiet. It was well appointed, but not fancy. Breakfast was included. Close to downtown and restaurants. Several wineries in the area. On the Ebbetts Pass scenic park way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. Ebbetts Pass is a wonderful drive with many scenic views and vistas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I wish there were a way to give two ratings for this hotel because they excelled in some areas and were a bit short in others. The manager, Mike, was so helpful in arranging their theatre under the stars package. The package includes discounted room, tickets to an outdoor show and pizzas to go from a local restaurant. He even had folding chairs for us to use for the evening if we didn't bring our own. The show was fantastic and the setting wonderful. An experience not to be missed.

The suite was clean and spacious, the pool was small but nice and the beach towels provided were not those oversize napkins you get at most places. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant and donuts were delivered to our room in the morning as promised. The housekeeping staff however did not make up our room which we discovered after a long day out, the room key had to be reset as it was only set for one night instead of two, and the donuts did not appear the second day. A bit of fine tuning on the details and this would be a perfect score. Murphys is a great weekend getaway and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A first visit to Murphy's. I was mesmerized by the charm and buzz of the town. Then pulled into Murphys' Suites which was somewhat isolated from the town and very few cars in the lot. (Thursday). I immediately began to draw a disillusioned conclusion about the place...until I walked in and registered. Once inside, the ambiance and the graciousness of the young front desk clerk immediately took my disappointment away. She, along with the manager, were eagerly accommodating from everything from sight-seeing tips and restaurants, to offering delivery of home-made donuts to the room next morning. The room rates were reasonable, and the rooms themselves were spacious, clean and QUIET...unlike a few places in the town proper. Would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our staff and facility. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently had a weekend in Murphys with my mother and sister. We chose this hotel because of the availability of 3 separate beds (2 queens and a pull out sofabed). We enjoyed a 2 room suite that was a great size for the three of us. We had a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffeemaker in our room. The room was clean, just a tiny bit dated. But, I was able to forgive that because of some amenities. There was a small pool available as well as a hot tub. At breakfast time we were brought our choice of donuts to the room with some orange juice. The hotel backs to a convenient market for necessary purchases. Service was ok. There were times when the desk wasn't manned. But our wait was never more than 5-10 minutes. The hotel is a short distance from main street. Driving is probably the preferred way to head to main because of the highway that it is located beside. We had a room alongside the highway and never felt, saw, or heard the effects of it. I would recommend the hotel and have plans of returning myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed here a few times with family and friends. This hotel is a great place to stay while you enjoy what the Calaveras Mountains have to offer. Highly recommended for anyone looking for value and excellent lodging. This is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! There are many indoor and outdoor activities to experience in Calaveras County and the Sierra Nevada Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Address: 134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphys Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.