We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Murphys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Murphys Suites to your Saves list
Murphys Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Union City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Murphys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently had a weekend in Murphys with my mother and sister. We chose this hotel because of the availability of 3 separate beds (2 queens and a pull out sofabed). We enjoyed a 2 room suite that was a great size for the three of us. We had a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffeemaker in our room. The room was clean, just a tiny bit dated. But, I was able to forgive that because of some amenities. There was a small pool available as well as a hot tub. At breakfast time we were brought our choice of donuts to the room with some orange juice. The hotel backs to a convenient market for necessary purchases. Service was ok. There were times when the desk wasn't manned. But our wait was never more than 5-10 minutes. The hotel is a short distance from main street. Driving is probably the preferred way to head to main because of the highway that it is located beside. We had a room alongside the highway and never felt, saw, or heard the effects of it. I would recommend the hotel and have plans of returning myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
29
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed here a few times with family and friends. This hotel is a great place to stay while you enjoy what the Calaveras Mountains have to offer. Highly recommended for anyone looking for value and excellent lodging. This is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! There are many indoor and outdoor activities to experience in Calaveras County and the Sierra Nevada Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful.Very close to downtown. Their cappuccino coffee was fantastic. The rooms are large and their beds were comfortable. I would definitely visit again and tell my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall a very good experience. Nice, clean grounds. Well maintained. Rooms are large. Good location. A little far for walking to downtown, but it is a short drive. The donuts that were served for breakfast left a little to be desired, but overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is about 1/2 mile to the start of "town" and them town is about 1 1/12 mile long it takes all day to enjoy it in entirety. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Murphys Suites is a wonderful place to stay. We have been there on business 3 or 4
years now and so enjoy the stay. It is very clean - the staff is very helpful - and it is very quiet.
We have recommended this place to several different ones. And, we look forward to
our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Mom, my brother and I stayed here last Thanksgiving and we enjoyed this place alot. We had a nice "senior" room to accommodate my Mom and we had plenty of room to spread out. Murphys Suites was clean and comfortable and the front office staff was friendly with welcoming smiles. We love the cookies and coffee too! We especially also loved this place because it was still close to downtown but far enough to get a quiet night's rest. We will definitely come back to Murphys Suites. Love this Place, and thanks.

Yolanda, Hortensia and Greg G.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Annually, a group of 20 reserves 10 rooms for a week of sharing a mutual "addiction", (quilting) and I have found the staff at the Suites to be enthusiastic, helpful and pleasant to work with. The suites are large and well-equipped, except for the fact that there is only one sink, which is in the kitchen area. Our downstairs room, near the lobby area, is even quiet. Nice having coffee available throughout the day. The hotel is easily accessible from the Highway and near town (walking distance) and many good restaurants, although they are not all open every day. Many of the shops are closed on different weekdays and most don't open until noon, then close at 5:00 so if you are planning other activities in the area they are not available to visit when wandering the town before leaving for the day or after dinner. From peering in the windows of the many boutiques and shops, I would say that is a cost-saving bonus to the traveler (sadly) as there are many interesting places for the daytime visitor/shopper to explore if you can get in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Address: 134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphys Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.