We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Suites

Save Saved
You added Murphys Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murphys Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
turlock, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall a very good experience. Nice, clean grounds. Well maintained. Rooms are large. Good location. A little far for walking to downtown, but it is a short drive. The donuts that were served for breakfast left a little to be desired, but overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is about 1/2 mile to the start of "town" and them town is about 1 1/12 mile long it takes all day to enjoy it in entirety. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    46
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
31
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Murphys Suites is a wonderful place to stay. We have been there on business 3 or 4
years now and so enjoy the stay. It is very clean - the staff is very helpful - and it is very quiet.
We have recommended this place to several different ones. And, we look forward to
our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Mom, my brother and I stayed here last Thanksgiving and we enjoyed this place alot. We had a nice "senior" room to accommodate my Mom and we had plenty of room to spread out. Murphys Suites was clean and comfortable and the front office staff was friendly with welcoming smiles. We love the cookies and coffee too! We especially also loved this place because it was still close to downtown but far enough to get a quiet night's rest. We will definitely come back to Murphys Suites. Love this Place, and thanks.

Yolanda, Hortensia and Greg G.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Annually, a group of 20 reserves 10 rooms for a week of sharing a mutual "addiction", (quilting) and I have found the staff at the Suites to be enthusiastic, helpful and pleasant to work with. The suites are large and well-equipped, except for the fact that there is only one sink, which is in the kitchen area. Our downstairs room, near the lobby area, is even quiet. Nice having coffee available throughout the day. The hotel is easily accessible from the Highway and near town (walking distance) and many good restaurants, although they are not all open every day. Many of the shops are closed on different weekdays and most don't open until noon, then close at 5:00 so if you are planning other activities in the area they are not available to visit when wandering the town before leaving for the day or after dinner. From peering in the windows of the many boutiques and shops, I would say that is a cost-saving bonus to the traveler (sadly) as there are many interesting places for the daytime visitor/shopper to explore if you can get in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed here for the last several years during the annual Grape Stomp in October. The rooms have always been clean. It is great to have a refrigerator and sink and coffee maker. They also offer complimentary espresso drinks at the front desk. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is nice and convenient to be able to walk to the downtown area of Murphys to restaurants and wineries. Good size room for family of 4 including teen age boys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay was great and convenient to downtown Murphy. The staff was very friendly. And clean. Our only issue was the elevator was out. I have severe cope and am being treated for breasted cancer and could not climb. The stairs. As a result we were required to take a suite downstairs which we didn't need for two people at a substantial additional cost. I felt you could have been more accomidating in negotiating the cost difference because the elevator was not available. Otherwise everything else was great

Room Tip: Our stay was great. Only problem we had is the elevator was out. I have severe cope with oxygen an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had a great stay in a perfect room and a nice discount rate because they have a partnership with a local winery that I was visiting.

There was a tiny bit of confusion when I asked for directions to a trail behind the hotel (that nobody seemed to know of), but the staff were friendly and informed otherwise.

I will definitely stay here again in Murphys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility and the local wineries. The trail begins on the far side of our pool. It is a small paved road and after about 200 yds there is a dirt trail for 100 yds which connects into Church Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Address: 134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphys Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.