We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Calimari ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy Market and Cafe

Alchemy Market and Cafe
191 Main Street, Murphys, CA 95247
209 728 0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“The BEST Calimari ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

While wine tasting in Murphys, we stopped in for lunch at Alchemy. Not wanting a huge meal, we opted for the Calimari and were amazed at how delicious it was. It was served along with fried Jalapenas and hat a treat. Having eating calimari in many places over the years, I have to say this was THE BEST ! Oh....and as an added touch, the wine glasses were frosty cold to enhance the onderful local Chardonnay. First class place and not to miss and as an added touch, or server, TONY was outstanding. If you are in Murphys...go there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    48
    13
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Wine, music and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We happened to choose a night when a local winery was featuring their wine and a local singer was entertaining. It made for a very festive evening. The wine was reasonably priced and went well with our meals. The food was delicious and the music varied and well sung. We had salads and sole as entrees and they were plentiful and tasty. The calamari appetizer was really spicy and good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a great experiance here. It was our aniversery. We were able to get away for a quick trip. Chris was amazing and made our night special. The portions are large, so consider splitting. We sat outside and had a lovely table- nice easy ambiance. The wine suggestions were great. Don't miss the crab mac 'n cheese! Yummy! We will be back! A great place, not to be missed if visiting Murphys or the surrpunding area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a dinner reservation for our group of 10 and were promptly seated. Our server, Tony was friendly and very helpful with dinner/drinks suggestions. Had the crab cake salad for appetizer and it was tasty. Tried the dinner special for that nite- duck with coconut flavored rice and mango salsa. I was a little hesitant when ordering that, since it can be a hit or miss with duck. But this turned out to be one of the best ducks I had. It is juicy and moist and cooked perfectly. Had a delicious glass of Stone's Espresso Russian Imperial Stout to go with it. If you are into beers, this place has it all. Ask for the Blue List which has Reserve and limited edition beers. Kids menu choices were good and portion sizes were plenty. Everyone in our group came back satisfied and raving about the food. Service was great. What a gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice spot with outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a nice dinner here in September. Not a lot of options for vegetarians, and the portions are huge. Our pasta special and crab cake salad were both very tasty, though. Our server was excellent. The outdoor seating was very nice (covered, so its probably good even if the weather isn't cooperating like it was for us).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy Market and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.