We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Querencia

Querencia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Querencia
Save
You added Querencia to your Saves list
4183 Sheep Ranch Road, P. O. Box 945, Murphys, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Murphys B&B and Inns
Modesto, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Querencia is truly a slice of heaven. This past weekend was our 7th time to visit Mike and Mary Jo. We have come by ourselves, have brought our three adult children and their spouses, and this past weekend brought friends from Vacaville. They have said as we were leaving, please bring us back again!! This is the most awesome B&B. You not only have the beautiful venue, but the most awesome hosts. The rooms, the pampering, the breakfast, all the other little details that makes you feel so pampered.
Once again, "Thank You", Mike and Mary Jo for another wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Didn't mean to click on the pool. There is no pool. OOPS on my part!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What can we add that previous guests haven't already commented on...Querencia is such an extraordinarily special place that it's hard to describe the experience. Once we arrived, we knew that we had found a piece of heaven that Mike and Mary Jo have created above the delightful town of Murphys. It's somewhat off the beaten path, but that's part of its charm. The inn has four guest rooms, but we were fortunate to be the only guests the Sunday night we visited. This meant we had even more attention from our amazing hosts, who provided us with superb meals and comfortable, intelligent conversation, along with advice about walks around the property. We had arranged for a private dinner in the hidden wine cellar, and every morsel exceeded expectations, starting with Mike's focaccia and Mary Jo's fresh soup using tomatoes and herbs from their extensive garden. Breakfast began when a tray with coffee and freshly baked scones (the best we'd ever had) were brought to our room. From there, we moved to the great room, at our leisure, for an outstanding omelet and eggs Benedict on Mike's freshly made English muffins. We wished we could have stayed longer... We've stayed in many bed&breakfast inns around the world, and there is little doubt Querencia ranks at the top of the list.

Room Tip: Each of the four rooms is lovely, with distinctive furnishings and artwork and amazing showers, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

How does one describe perfection that is well planned out by the host but experienced freshly and spontaneously by the guests with enough of little surprises thrown in to make one feel like royalty? Mike and Mary Jo have left no detail unturned! From the moment of our arrival, their thoughtfulness and superlative hosting touched our sensibilities and we remained charmed for the rest of our 2-night stay. Truly, this fairy-like castle exceeded all of our expectations. If you want to pamper yourself in every sense of the word, this is the perfect B&B for you! Even for the price conscious, after you add up the gourmet breakfast--served in 3 courses--the cocktail hour, and the extra treats (fine chocolates on your bed everyday, plus homemade cookies and cold beverages), this place is actually more affordable than some of the other B&B in Murphys. But you'll never get the same quality of hosting! Ok, maybe in the best Ryokans in Japan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Querencia is unbelievable! The decor, the food, the setting, the tranquility and especially the owners, Mike and Mary Jo made this an experience we will always remember. We were the only ones at the B&B the first night and felt spoiled and pampered by this amazing couple. Mike is a fabulous cook and by they end of our 2 night stay we were sharing recipes. We'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a wonderful experience and would give this more than 5 stars, if they were available!

Room Tip: We liked the Tuscan room where we stayed. The beautiful hand tiled shower with multiple jets was lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just spent our anniversary weekend at Querencia. What a great experience! We stayed in the Tuscan room. The room was beautiful with high quality finishes, a heavenly bed and luxurious linens.

The views from the room, the great room and the gardens are gorgeous. Evening appetizer and wine were delicious, but the best treat of all was breakfast. Freshly baked scones, fresh fruit and imaginative egg and pancake dishes. Mary Jo and Mike are amazing hosts.

Room Tip: They are all lovely. This is a small B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'm not a B&B game, but this place rocks! The setting is unbelievable--on a hill with amazing views, and the place is so relaxing. Mike and Mary Jo, the owners, are wonderful. Breakfast is delicious-Mike's fresh-baked scones and homemade English Muffins are excellent. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a get-away night or weekend in the foothills.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Querencia in April in the Chocolat room.
This is an amazing place. Mary Jo and Mike have fashioned an exquisite experience for their guests. The property is beautiful, hiking paths, breathtaking scenery gorgeous rooms - immense great room, fully stocked library just a fantastic setting. The bonus is the gourmet food - from cocktail time wine and appetizers to the incredible breakfast choices. We recommend this place so highly - it is unbelievably beautiful - you must experience this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Querencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Querencia

Address: 4183 Sheep Ranch Road, P. O. Box 945, Murphys, CA
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Querencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.