We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One need not like wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ironstone Vineyards

Ironstone Vineyards
1894 Six Mile Road, Murphys, CA 95247
+1 209-728-1251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ironstone Vineyards is a family-owned and operated winery that places as much emphasis on the natural beauty and history of our surroundings as we do on the quality of our wines. Located in Murphys, in the heart of the Sierra Foothills in California's scenic Gold Rush Country, Ironstone is a state-of-the-art wine production facility. The winery was built in the style of a 19th century gold stamp mill and has antiques and gold mining artifacts on display throughout the facility. Ironstone offers a Tasting Room and Music Room, where you can find the fully restored Alhambra Theatre Pipe Organ. The facility also boasts Meeting and Banquet Facilities, an Outdoor Amphitheatre, Wine Aging Caverns and a Culinary Demonstration Kitchen. With fourteen acres of Spectacular Lakeside Gardens, you can choose your perfect Wedding Venue. Ironstone's Heritage Museum is home to a 44 pound Crystalline Gold Leaf specimen, the largest in the world. The Heritage Jewelry Shoppe, located inside the Heritage Museum, offers visitors a unique opportunity to take home a piece of California's colorful history.
Winters, ca
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“One need not like wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Go to hear the old theatre organ and watch the pipes working behind glass. In addition, there is a great little museum with a large piece of local gold. You can have a great sandwich and eat it on the deck. Then, head to the lower parking lot and check out all the old machinery and the flume.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ironstone Winery is a delight for both the lips and the eyes. It was such a delightful surprise! The entrance and the grounds were filled with beautiful flowers. We were fortunate enough to visit on a week day when it was quiet and not crowded. My husband did a wine tasting of 6 different wines for only $5.00 while I opted for just a dollar sample of their champagne. The grounds are perfect for outdoor concerts with a large stage and lots of lawn space for concert goers. The summer schedule included Melissa Etheridge and several other recognizable famous names. The winery also offers itself as a stunningly beautiful venue for weddings. Even though we also went to several lovely Napa wineries on this same vacation, Ironstone Winery was by far my favorite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a beautiful winery, The museum was interesting as well. The decor of the place was gorgeous. Great photo opps.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The winery is beautiful. They have concerts and weddings. If you visit dont forget to go downstairs and see the pipe organ. The gift shop is great too. There are many old artifacts and a huge gold nugget to see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ironstone is beyond awesome in the Wineries category!! Absolutely gorgeous setting - I've seen a lot of wineries and NONE compare with the Ironstone!!

...And, get this: They don't act like snobs (check THAT out, Napa wineries), and they DON'T charge an arm and a leg for their wines!! Per our tastes, their wines are nice!

This place is awesome for "escape" - for a day, or a Wedding!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironstone Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Ironstone Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironstone Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.