We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as it Used to Be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Inn Motel

Save Saved
You added Murphys Inn Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murphys Inn Motel
76 Main Street, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Murphys
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as it Used to Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We have stayed here a couple of other times and being that it was a Sunday evening we thought we would not have to pay weekend rates. Not only that no breakfast is offered as there was a cafe next door. It would have been a better deal to go down the street to a B&B. There is not much of a choice in Murphys and probably would have been better to go down to Angels Camp.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbun1, Guest Relations Manager at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Murphys Inn Motel has changed policy to include Sunday as a mid-week day and Mid-week prices are the same year round. No increase for peak season as of June 2010. All rates and pricing schedules are subject to change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Seriously, are the walls made of paper here? If you are a light sleeper or have a hard time staying asleep, bring your ear plugs! We could hear the neighbors having a normal conversation through the walls. I hate that. Big pet peeve of mine.
Pros: walking distance to everything in Murphys; clean; coffee maker.
Cons: no hotel designated parking (if you're paying $139/night, you really should have parking spaces designated for your guests only, not the entire town); bad pillows (picky, I know).
We were here for Irish Day which is a major event in Murphys. That's why we were cranky when there was no one controlling who parked in the hotel parking lot. We're paying to stay here, we should have a parking spot. For the price we paid for this particular weekend, I would NOT recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

My husband and I (and another couple) stayed at the Murphys Inn when visiting friends who live in the area. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We had previously stayed in the Murphys Suites which is fine, but seems very unfriendly to me. The Murphys Inn was much cozier, the front desk employee was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, nice bed and soft sheets. And it was very clean. We will probably stay there again on our next visit with our friends.

  • Liked — It was very clean - bathroom looked new
  • Disliked — Needs some other room redecorating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

I have been staying here off & on through the summer working at ironstone winery on business & there is nothing wrong with this hotel, The location is within walking distance of down town, A super market is right behind it and there is a great pizza place called Pizza Plus witch dose not suck, Rooms are clean shower works fine and there is Free Wi-Fi the only complaint I would have is the beds are a little hard but I have had worse for more money.

  • Liked — Truck Parking, Near Food And Stores, Friendly People.
  • Disliked — Beds Are A Little Hard For Me.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about staying there, but I was pleasantly suprised. Is it a Marriott resort? No, but it is clean, comfortable, and close to downtown Murphys, which is a great old gold rush town. We only stayed there overnight, but it was a great home base for a number of business/pleasure trips to local wineries and other local businesses. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice, quiet place to stay for a few days while exploring that part of the world. Also, they have free internet in the lobby which was good for checking e-mail while we were away.

  • Liked — Convenience to downtown, quiet, decent room
  • Disliked — A little dated, not immediately adjacent to much in the way of food or drink.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Spent 1 night for family get together in the area
Pros-
-Close to downtown- at the end of the main street, you can wak to shops, restaurants, wineries...
-Not immaculate but tidy/ clean
-Good shower pressure, tub seemed newer.

Cons-
-Older motel that needs redecorating, sheets thin, old, stained comforter is pretty gross and we threw that off right away. Pillows thin, too soft.
-Pool was cold, not sure if it was even heated, lots of shade trees so you stayed in the shade, you need to check out towels ar front desk than return them. Pool furniture was stained, cracked, the table wa sticky, they should at least clean that.
-Room walls are thin, you could hear your neighbors above, next door...
-Beds were too soft, our backs hurt in the morning
-No fridge or microwave in room
-Small room

This a 2 star motel so don't expect the Ritz or Four Seasons. The room was $123 a night so I thought it was too overpriced for the condition of the room. I have paid less for really nice hotel rooms and service, but MIL paid so I shouldnt complain. Maybe next year we'll try the Murphy suites.
-

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Worst motel/hotel experience EVER! We walked into the room and immediately were hit with a horrible odor--a sour, musty smell. And the room was HOT! We immediately turned on the "air conditioner" which was totally inadequate. No remote control for the TV, only enough hot water for one of us to shower, and the bed was hard. What a dump!!!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murphys Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Inn Motel

Address: 76 Main Street, Murphys, CA 95247
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Murphys Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphys Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.