We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Murphys Inn Motel to your Saves list
Murphys Inn Motel
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   76 Main Street, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% off second night
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Rooms were clean and nice but could be updated. Nice to have a microwave and mini firdge. We appreciated the local artwork throughout the hotel and room. Great location to walk to everything in Murphys. Tanya was super friendly and made great suggestions of things to do while we were in town. Will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Glad you enjoyed our country inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    73
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
34
67
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

It was Valentines and I couldn't get a room anywhere! I called Murphys Inn and Tonya said they are booked up but she would be glad to take my name and number. She called an hour later and said there was a room available at another hotel in Angels Camp. I told her thanks but we would wait and see if we could get a room in Murphys. Someone cancelled an hour later, Tonja called and we got a room that was very nice and close to downtown at a good price. She went the extra mile for us! Most would not! I hope her boss reads this and makes her the boss! She deserves it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Happy to hear your plans worked out. Tanya is the best at hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We planned a Thanksgiving trip to Murphys to see friends and celebrate the end of a stressful year. As money is tight I was delighted to see that the Motel had reasonable rates and had been recently renovated. What a mistake!
Overall the motel is clean, yes there are Oreos but :
• the walls are paper thin. We heard anyone next door who was taking a shower, watching TV or in the case of Friday night, the two men fighting for several hours with the women they seemed to have picked up in a local bar.When I advised the desk clerk the next day, the bored and manic Tanya, she said, "oh yeah them..."
The beds are the cheapest rick-hard mattresses covered by a thin layer of foam that I wouldn't even put in a dog bed. It was the kind of foam you might use to pack valuables, not put on a bed. I had terrible back pains and slept less and less each night
• The rooms are overall clean and neat, but the3 carpets...I wore slippers each night and the soles were FILTHY after one day. And there was debris, leaves, food crumbs etc on the stairs and common areas.
• The shower started to back up the first night - when I took out the drain plug there were WADS of dirty hair blocking the drain. I pulled out the clumps and had no further problems but YUCK.
• There was only one thin blanket (and one extra in the closet) and a VERY thin spread on the bed. IN THE END of NOVEMBER! We took the spread and blanket off the other bed and still had to put the heat on.
• Minor minor but - The in room coffee was the cheapest, stalest ever - Maxwell house that I think had been there since last year.
As I made my complaints about noise neither Tanya not the weekend desk clerk offered any help or empathy. The only bright spot was Bruce, the night clerk.

They also screwed up several people's reservations - not ours but two others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

For the third year in a row, a group of golfers has stayed at Murphy's Inn for two nights, played golf two days and celebrated the rest of the time. Murphy's Inn has a room that has a living room area in addition to the bedroom. We usurped it as a hospitality room. Meet here in the morning for coffee, have pizza the first night we are there from the neighborhood pizza place and the second night we go to Angelo's, fantastic. Murphy's Inn has accommodated use well and is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you continue to choose us and Murphys as a destination for fun year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unclothed dislocation
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My S.O. and I had waited all summer to go over Sonora Pass and spend the night in Bridgeport. On the way up HWY 120 I checked the road conditions over the pass. A surprise storm had dropped snow on the pass and CA Trans closed it. I really like Murphy's so we did a quick availability check and found that Murphy's Inn Motel had plenty of rooms available.The price was perfect and we told Tanya that we would be there in about an hour. We arrived to a warm welcome from Tanya (with an abundant supply of Oreo cookies) who cheerfully told us that we could have any room we wanted given that we were the only guests. The lack of guests was not the fault of the motel or Tanya, the entire town was pretty devoid of tourists. We wandered all over Murphy's tasting wine, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Back at the Motel we got good advise on where to eat from Tanya and had a very nice meal at the Murphy's Grill walking distance fro the motel. At the Grill, we were the only patrons so had had "exclusive" and very personal service in a cute restaurant. Our room at the Inn was simple, but very clean and comfortable. The beds were especially comfortable, the bathroom spacious and clean. Our room was pleasantly quiet and the temperature easy to control. This is not a top of the line motel - BUT for the price and comfort we were pleased with our experience. Tanya is an asset for the motel. She takes an obvious interest in her guests, is cheerful and helpful in every way. Our last minute change of plans yielded an overall fun outing largely due to Tanya and the Murphy's Inn. Check it, out you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: No room service or restaurant. No breakfast but the Hillbilly Cafe across the parking lot was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Sounds like an unfortunate detour led you to a wonderful surprise in Murphys. Pleased to hear that you also enjoyed the Oreos and Tanya they are definitely two reasons to stay at the Murphys Inn Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in October to visit nearby wineries and Calaveras Big Tree State Park (which was awesome). We were initially put in a room facing the busy highway, so we asked to be moved to the other side, which was quickly accommodated and VERY quiet! Beds were comfortable, though if you look closely, they are simply older mattresses which have been topped with a 2 inch foam pad. Motel provides no breakfast, but is walking distance to downtown and many restaurants. We enjoyed our stay here overall and would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the highway if you value quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a more private room and that you enjoyed your visit to our area. We look forward to your return. Thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and we have consistantly received great service and a clean room. The staff are very friendly. Tanya at the front desk and Sandy in housekeeping are two people that went out of their way to make our visit memorable. If staying at a B&B is not in your budget or if you prefer to eat at the local bakery, this is the top choice in Murphys!

Room Tip: A standard room is your best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Tanya and Sandy are two of our top notch team players. Your nod of recognition to them has been noticed, I am pleased that your stay was memorable and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.2 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
11.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
7.0 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.1 mi away
CourtWood Inn
CourtWood Inn
#1 of 4 in Murphys
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Inn Motel

Address: 76 Main Street, Murphys, CA 95247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Murphys Inn Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Murphys Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphys Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.