We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“32nd Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunbar House, 1880

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunbar House, 1880 to your Saves list
Dunbar House, 1880
271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
1 review
“32nd Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

32nd Anniversary

Enjoyed our first visit to Dunbar House 1880 and Murphy’s. With the exception of the shower/tub arrangement, our stay in the Blue Oaks room was lovely. This spacious attic apartment was so nice. A little disappointed that there were no other guests to share our delicious breakfast and dining experience with, but owner Arline took some time to sit and chat with us, which was nice. So many nice touches and thoughtful planning throughout the house and property by the owners puts this B & B very high on our list. In our 3 days and two nights in Murphy’s, we found plenty to do, even during one full day of rain. We toured the town ourselves and later with a very informative guided walking tour; visited two caves (Mercer and Moaning); visited Ironstone; went to Big Trees; lunched at Grounds and had dinners at Alchemy and also Loruccio’s (all great food).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nice B&B. Hostess very pleasant and Best Breakfast at a B&B in a long time or maybe ever. Fun walking around Murphys and tasting the wines. Did the Sat. morning walking tour and got some history of the area but had enough and broke off from the tour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I flew in and drove to this beautiful area. We had planned our PAWS seeing the elephants trip for several years, and it was amazing. This is a great option. It is a 20 minute drive to PAWS, but the drive is beautiful and worth. We loved our stay and the old world charm. The food was amazing, and the fudge was world class. Our only complaint was the pillows. But overall, well worth it... enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We really enjoyed the Dunbar house for out stay in the spring. They made our stay in the Gold country just perfect. From the well tended and equipped room, to the beautiful breakfasts, there was nothing else we needed. It's a lovely home, comfortable and situated close to all the restaurants, and the Main Street. We will surely stay there again when we visit the Gold country.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our room with its own private little deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Dunbar house for two nights while visiting the PAWS sanctuary in San Andreas. The house is charming and comfortable with all the conveniences we needed. We were on the first floor in a room with a comfortable king sized bed and double jacuzzi. The property is immaculate, inside and out. Complimentary home baked cookies, fudge, a bottle of wine and delicious appetizer were found in the room each afternoon. Such a nice and special touch! There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room as well as in the dining room. The living room, with the fireplace always blazing, was a warm and inviting area to gather in. There were books to read, dvds to borrow, and pictures and interesting paraphernalia dressing the walls and shelves from the gold rush era. The house is conveniently located to many delicious restaurants, wine tasting rooms and shops. The two breakfasts we had were made by Dawn and were absolutely delicious. They each were truly a work of art! She is quite talented and has an eye for presentation. We enjoyed dinner at Grounds and The Alchemy, both recommended by Arlene. We will definitely be highly recommending this warm and friendly B and B to our friends and family. Thank you Arlene, Rich and Dawn for welcoming us into your home!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We arrived, Arlene greeted us at the door and showed us around the property. Then we were taken to our room on the 2nd floor. The stairs are very narrow. The Sugar Plum room was very nice. We brought our suitcases upstairs and then received a phone call from Arlene, asking us if we rather stay downstairs at no additional charge. We were the only guests staying here all week so she very nicely upgraded us to a room downstairs that was bigger. While the room is bigger in the Cedar, the amenities are not as nice. There isn't a heater or fan in the bathroom, or the little added room and we were very cold.The shower is also very small. The is a nice sized tub in the room. In the summer I imagine it wouldn't be a problem. We have a lovely outside patio with a garden.. The breakfasts are probably the best we have ever had. Usually Quiches or fritatas are served mostly resembling each other. Here we had beautifully plated dishes, and something different every day. Dawn is the cook and she did a magnificent job. I see a restaurant in her future. She has been lovingly taught by Arlene. Very impressive. We did have a fritatta today but it was unlike any we have had. It was outstanding.The B and B is very conveniently located within walking distance to Main street where there are over 20 tasting rooms plus lovely shops and restaurants. We loved Grounds for dinner. Highly recommended by Arlene and also a friend of ours. If secure internet is important to you as it is to us, they do not offer it. They claim too many people forget the password. In the many B and B's we have stayed in secure internet has always been included, with the exception of one other place and when we asked they complied. In B and B's that we have stayed in the password is posted in the room so that if forgotten it is easily found. Also if one clicks on auto sign in the computer will sign in automatically.

Something else rather than having a "happy hour" at 4 PM like most B and B's, They provide a bottle of wine everyday plus appetizers, fudge and cookies daily. We loved that and since we didn't drink the wine as most days we were out wine tasting we are taking them home and will have happy memories. We usually aren't back at a B and B at 4 to enjoy the happy hour so this was a nice touch.

We would definitely come back when in the area again. I wanted to post pictures but I haven't downloaded them yet so may post at a later date. I took pictures of 3 of the 4 breakfasts.

Room Tip: The Sugar Plum has much better amentites than the Cedar but the Cedar is a lovely room and is going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Entering Dunbar House is like being transported to the 1880s, except for the great wifi, TV/DVD, fridge, jacuzzi and keurig coffee maker in your room.

PLUS
Meeting the other guests at breakfast... nice people stay here :)
It is NEAR Main St. but not ON Main St. which is noisy at night
Beautiful garden
Rich's nightly fires in the parlor

MINUS
Not a lot to do in Murphys if you are not a fan of wine tasting
Expensive
Room is a bit cluttered with froufrou

THING TO DO
Eat at Grounds
Visit Brice Station Winery
Drive/hike at Calaveras Big Trees State Park
Visit Angle's Camp

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.4 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbar House, 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbar House, 1880

Address: 271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 4 diamond B&B has 5 cozy Victorian King or Queen guest rooms with private bath/showers. Cedar & Sequoia each have a 2 person Jacuzzi, and in-room or private patio dining. Each room has a Norwegian gas burning stove, Direct TV, flat screen TV with an available DVD collection, personal amenities, and a private refrigerator provisioned with bottled water & beer, appetizer plate and a complimentary bottle of local wine. Fresh baked cookies daily. Enjoy our full country breakfast in our charming dining room or in our beautiful gardens. Plan your romantic getaway today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunbar House, 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunbar House, 1880, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.