We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of County Inn

Save Saved
You added County Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
County Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Leong Drive, Mountain View, CA 94043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Mountain View
San Jose
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have to say I am shocked to see all the bad reviews here for this place. The room I had was nice. It was clean, comfortable bed, fridge, micro and so on. Never tried the in room coffee as I usually don't. Let's face it, those packets aren't going to be the best coffee and I don't care where you stay. What contact I had with staff was generally good. Not over the top but not rude. The free breakfast was good. They had scrambled eggs, waffles, ham, cereal, bagels and cream cheese, muffins and various assorted breads, coffee, orange juice and that's just what I can remember. I booked my room through http://hotels.com and got a deal for $50 I have seen since then they generally want $89. For $50 I would say its a yes but not really for $89. Overall my experience here was a positive

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, General Manager at County Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and letting us know how much you enjoyed your lodging experience and your breakfast. As we continue to make improvements to the County Inn we are so glad that is valued guests like you that are taking notice of our reasonable room rates near Silicon Valley. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    9
    16
See reviews for
7
4
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I just completed hotel stay at County Inn at Mountain View, California and did not get the $25 gas crad that is promised at the time of making the reservation. The Expedia should be responsible for this gas card, according to Mr. Shah, the Manager when I presented my claim. I was made the reservation on 12/07/2011 and the the gas card was offered on that day. I had made a call to Hotels.com and was assured that the gas card offer was included in my reservation.

This is a false offer. Caution!

Room Tip: Go to other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

County Inn is a very cheap hotel. For its price, it has an excellent breakfast, and decent rooms. The only major complaint I have is with the room amenities. For example, in the room I stayed in, there were two phones, neither of which worked. The TV also had very grainy pictures. In addition, the room wasn't as clean as one would like it to be. I also found the desk workers to be somewhat cold, note quite rude but certainly indifferent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Trip Advisor critics are some times so mean. Spouse and I stayed at County Inn for six nights, and adult child joined us, in separate room, for three nights. Real glass ware, real mugs, great breakfast, and large room. I'd go back next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Owner at County Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we are so grateful to have wonderful guests at the County Inn. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I actually feel like an idiot because I thought I booked the very nice Country Inn, in nearby Sunnyvale. Even their logos look similar. My one night inadvertent stay at the County Inn didn't kill me, but boy is this place a dump. My first impression was the intensely musty smell when I entered the room and the traffic outside. The property is bordered by Leong Drive, a surprisingly busy and noisy street, and the intolerably loud 101 freeway on the other. With walls and windows as thin as paper, I found it hard to sleep.

Weirdly, the room has several motion detectors that turn the lights on as you walk across the room -- quite an annoyance to you and anyone still in bed if you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Even turning in bed quickly turned the lights on and you have to get up to turn them off. Whose idea was this?

Water temperature too was awful and made for an unpleasant shower.

I don't know if they offered breakfast because I couldn't get out of this place fast enough in the morning. Do yourself a favor and stay away from the County Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Owner at County Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
I regret we did not meet your expectations and you did not find your experience with us to be great. We strive daily to improve and with guests comments that we take very seriously we learn and grown on how to better. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Honestly, I got this inn by bidding at priceline. Then I went here to check the review.
Surprisingly, most of the reviews were negative which made me upset.

We arrived at county inn at late night after a long drive. The guy at reception desk was very kind and gave us double beds after knowing that we had two people.

The room was old but OK. Especially I checked our beds and found they were clean.

The interent was free as well as the breakfast and parking which was enough for us.

We stayed there for 2 nights and everything was good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Owner at County Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My friend booked two rooms for my husband and me and for her husband in JULY for October Jimmy Buffet concert at Shoreline. When we got there at 3:15, there was a line and the guy said he was having trouble with his computer (dial-up modem). The first guy in line said he had been there since 2:30, but the guy made him wait until 3 to check in. When we got there, he said they had overbooked and we didn't have a room, but that he had ANOTHER very nice hotel a mile and 1/2 (farther from our venue) . SUffice it to say, the owner did NOT do ANYTHING in the way of trying to make it better. He had us over a barrel. THere were a number of people that he "shifted" to his hotel which was pretty empty. Breakfast at the Sundowner in Sunnyvale was pretty marginal and nothing was replaced...they ran out of cream and fruit, etc. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckshah, Owner at County Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Our team regrets to hear of your poor hospitality experience, circumstances on this evening prevented us from putting our best foot forward, we have learned from this experience and have grown. Please accept my sincere apology and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to County Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Inn

Address: 850 Leong Drive, Mountain View, CA 94043
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your County Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.