We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1854 El Camino Real West, Mountain View, CA 94040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Mountain View
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed here for a business trip with two colleagues. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff friendly. The hot breakfast buffet was tasty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
25
6
5
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Great place to stay to. The rooms were really great and very spacy. They have full-equipped kitchen and everything in place. there is even a decorative fireplace for the ones who have the time to deal with it ;)

It's very conveniently situated on El Camino Real.

You can safely skip the breakfast. The eggs look rather artificial and the meatballs were really awfull. More or less - that was it :).

Internet and parking were great. Total charge was lower than the real initial estimate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Don't believe what they promise you, prices, shuttles, etc, don't believe it even they confirmed through email, they can change it, right before your trip when it's too late and expensive for you to switch to another place.

They'll have lot's of excuses for these changes, one of them is: "the sales person does not work her anymore, what she promised does not count..."

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMountainView, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and I am definately sorry about your issues with your rates here.

We still do provide a business shuttle service that saves our customers money and do many other services for our guests such as grocery shopping, provide them complimentary dinners M-Th, as well as breakfast daily.

We at the hotel pride ourselves with integrety and ethics and I would love to look into this matter accordingly for you. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, I would love to get your number e-mailed to me so I can do some further investigation.

Sincerely,
Monyrith King
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Very nice and pleasant place to stay. Stay here several times a year. The two bedroom suite is great and has an upstairs and downstairs. Convenient, clean and nice front desk personnel.The stairs could use a little refurbishing, but inside units are very well cared for and clean. Nice breakfast with lots of options. Pool area is small and near the road. I like the rooms for the price. Value is great.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — could use a little outside maintenance
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

I've stayed here a few times; since my last visit earlier in the year the rooms have had a bit of an upgrade. A few new pieces of 'art' on the walls, and some improvements to the laundry area.

Otherwise, it's nothing flash, but comfortable, clean and with free Internet (wired + wireless) access.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Overall its a nice spot for a business traveler. The location is convenient and the service is excellent. The evening happy hours are great, especially since the traffic is awful and trying to drive to dinner can be tiring. Otherwise its basically what you'd expect from an extended stay format hotel.

The one down side is that the exterior is a bit run down. It looks like the whole place could use a power wash and a fresh coat of paint. The interiors are fine though. You get the feeling that Marriott acquired the property and renovated the inside but not the outside.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — outside appearance
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

20 of us are on an assignment for a couple of weeks at Stanford and we are all staying in this hotel. I work on the road frequently (software) and I have gotten used to the typical 3 star client hotels but this is almost as nice as my condo in Seattle.

Not only do I have a full kitchen, with 2 bar stools (including dishwasher) service for four, living room with a small couch and desk but they do your grocery shopping for free while you are at work! They have a hot healthy breakfast (eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, oatmeal) and since I had breakfast in my room took a yogurt and orange with me to work. Then at night they have a light snack or dinner (tacos, BB,) most nights as well a huge flat panel to watch while you eat. If you want to shop there is a whole foods market (pricey organic) about 1/2 mile away and a little further a Safeway

The women at the front desk are not only helpful - they changed my room from a quiet one that didn't have a tub (it was handicapped accessible) to another one on the top floor but actually say hi when you go by for breakfast . Most of the units are away from the street and at night the street is pretty quiet but ask to nave one in buildings 1 to 4 or the odd numbs 5,7, 11, 13 (not 9) or on the quiet side of 14,10, 9, 6 and 8.

My room was very modern, clean, and so far very quiet. (I hope my neighor can't hear my yoga video on my laptop) There is only a very small workout room (3 machines) though and a very small pool. It is located about 5 miles from Stanford (one turn between the hotel and the campus, shopping center and hospital).

We are paying long term rates of only $139 a night and that is an amazing price for this area and for this quality. Free and ample off street parking, free internet and they even have a little store onsite if you want to buy a frozen dinner or something to cook.

Usually the only reason I post someplace online is because I hate something so this is rare for me. (the photos are from an Iphone so not the best)

  • Liked — They not only have a full kitchen but grocery shop for you for free.
  • Disliked — The traffic on the near-by freeways
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View

Address: 1854 El Camino Real West, Mountain View, CA 94040
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View Hotel Mountain View
Mountain View Residence Inn
Residence Inn Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.