We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again for business.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zico to your Saves list
Hotel Zico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Mountain View
LA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again for business.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while on business at Stanford. The room was clean and the sheets were comfy. The hotel is next to highway so you may hear some cars. the room came with complimentary ear plugs but I didn't need them. Safety was never an issue at this property. The decor was eclectic. Service was fine. The morning buffet was ok. Employees were nice. I would stay again for business, but would not choose this property if on vacation with the family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    87
    35
    22
    12
See reviews for
49
44
36
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San jose
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My pros: Nice lobby, good staff (Jim (I believe)night desk clerk and breakfast ladies), low priced lobby snack bar, easy quick work out room, good parking, better than most hotel breakfasts, colorful and well kept rooms stocked with all amenities, cool bathrooms, and very affordable. Saved $50 from staying somewhere in DT San Jose and was totally worth it!
Cons: the entrance comes at you quick so pay attention, better that you keep your window closed (next to Highway), you can easily hear your rude neighbors above you running back and forth or dragging their stuff around, and make sure your door fully shuts. If I had to nitpick I would say that the 32 inch tv isn't up to most hotels 42+ inch standards and the bathroom is a little small but nothing really bothered me worth complaining about (except those 20 minutes my neighbors were loud)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Always a little unsettling when you book a place sight unseen but this spot was wonderful. It will be our new home when visiting family in the Bay Area. Not perfect but close. Staff were wonderful, room was a good size and very comfortable and centrally located for the places we had planned to visit. Only negative was the entry to the property is right at the off ramp from the freeway which can be a little scary when trying to get in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good location, close to freeway, and for under $150 a night, this is very good value for money. I have stayed there twice. The beds are surprisingly comfortable, rooms are good sized. Breakfast is great, fresh omelet made to order. I also like decor of the place, very tropical, though all the trees do make the place a bit dark. The only problem was that walls are very thin, I could hear someone walking upstairs all the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

After driving around Santa Cruz and the Bay area- we decided to skip camping as it was busy and full of spring breakers, we happened upon the Hotel Zico. From the moment we walked towards the front door, it was like we were slipped into a slice of paradise! The hotel is just along a freeway so it is a little noisy...but nothing too crazy. The lobby is beautifully decorated, but it was the gentleman at the front desk that won us over. He was a very polite man who chatted with us and made the check in process very enjoyable. We had a room on the second floor which was very large and absoluetly beautiful! It was nice to see the thought put into the decoration in the room, with just small extras as wall hangings and tasteful knick-knacks. There was a great flat screen TV, desk and computer chair, and a sitting chair which provided more options than always sitting on the bed. There was also a beautiful patio/deck that opened up from our room that overlooked the beautiful landscape. (The deck is shared with other rooms, but there is enough space and each room has their own table and chairs on the deck.) The breakfast was also outstanding! All and all this is a great place to stay and the price was very affordable! I always read some of the bad reviews of places, and the ones for the Zico just do not make sense to me. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Zico more than once as I travel to the Bay area often on business. Most recently I stayed for two nights on an interview trip. Overall the hotel has been fully refurbished and is general in great shape.

The bed is comfortable and the pillow menu is nice if you have a particular like/dislike. (I prefer flatter pillows) The hotel has snacks and drinks you can purchase right by the front desk like many hotels have.

As mentioned in other reviews it can be a bit tricky to get to - it's easy to find - harder to see that you have to go to the next light and make a u-turn.

I only had one problem when I tried to check out which was the the night clerk was sleeping at 4:30am and I couldn't rouse her. I even tried calling the hotel but no one answered. After about 15 min I was able to check out. Minor inconvenience but I was headed to catch a flight.

Anyway, I give this hotel 4 stars (very good) for a 3-star hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is so basic and old it really shouldn't be more than $100 a night. The rooms were old, the bathroom tiny, walls paper thin, breakfast was lame. For $355 a night this should be amazing. Only go here if you like wasting money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Address: 200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Family Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Silicon Valley's newest Green hotel & boutique experience, Hotel Zico melds stylish modern Mediterranean decor, welcoming service and a wealth of unique amenities - all at unbeatable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.