We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zico to your Saves list
Hotel Zico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Mountain View
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The breakfast service time is not good. I believe that it should open earlier than 6:30 am in the morning. Also the omlette bar does not really open unitl another half hour after opening time. The coffee does not taste good either. The room does not get cleaned well past 12 pm and not everything gets replenished. I believe the service needs to be up a notch or two for me to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    87
    35
    22
    12
See reviews for
49
44
36
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We often travel to Mountain View for concerts at shoreline ampatheatre and have stayed on some pretty nasty hotels. So this time I decided to search out a better hotel! And we found it! Beautiful property, nice rooms, great full breakfast and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have never heard of this hotel, and even when I was making reservation, I didn't know I was booking this hotel because I booked it through hotwire. Its environment and Mediterranean room style surprising me, I even saw a small lizard outside the main lobby. My room was facing inside and I had a quiet and comfortable stay. Only concern is their pillowcases are too old to have pilling on surface.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alma, mi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We were worried about staying at this hotel since we had never heard of it however, this hotel is amazing ! Makes you feel like you are staying in the Italy.
It is a nice place, obviously an old hotel that they revamped and made stylish and new. The balconys are shared and have open community spaces.

The only thing is that the first floor rooms face the outside which made me feel a bit uncomfortable so we moved up a floor, staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel had something to offer that most cannot. It is located right next to the superb Stevens Creek exercise trail in Mountain View. It goes for miles and was accessible just off of the parking lot. The provided hot breakfast was excellent. The choices were varied and everything was good. The breakfast room was very large, clean, and bright. The surrounding area is easily accessible from the hotel, which is located on El Camino Real.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

There was a giant spit loogie prominently positioned on the wall. That's it for me folks..

I've been staying at Zico when in the Peninsula for business since 2007. Sadly the last several stays I've had here in the last ~12 months or so have shown obvious decreases in quality.

This last time was the last straw. The room I generally request and stay in (largest, most secluded) was filthy when we arrived. There was a giant spit loogie on the wall next to my side of the bed. Clearly, utterly disgusting. Late at night, hotel was fully booked, so we stayed in the room, but asked to have it cleaned, maid never showed up to clean the room. I left for work the next day, put the "clean me" sign on the door and came home at 7pm or so. Room wasn't cleaned. At all. Wall spit remained. What a dump.

This place has gone so far downhill that I'll never stay here again. 7 years of staying here, and I'm taking my business (and anyone elses business I can help influence) elsewhere.


* Loogie: a large slimy glob of spit, that is formed by coughing up and hocking whats in your throat.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Or don't stay in a "balcony room" b/c 1) all balconies are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConceptHigh, General Manager at Hotel Zico, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. More importantly, I am so sorry for your negative experience. I am personally looking into the issues you describe in your room as we do have a deep cleaning and regular cleaning program. I have looped in our head housekeeper into this issue and it will be resolved immediately. I invite you to contact me anytime at the hotel to discuss further and see how we can make this up to you and keep you coming back to us!

Thanks again,
Alfonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was eager to bring my hubby here for a weekend getaway. I enjoyed my first stay, but this stay was kinda "meh".
We got a super-duper good online rate. So with that seemed to come an attitude of "you got the cheap rate" so you get lesser service.
The response to my request for a quiet room in a quiet location on an upper floor was a room on the first floor near the front desk. Fortunately, the guests in this area were not loud and the footsteps above our heads did not go late into the night or start up early in the morning. Although it's a smoke-free property, we got a heavy whiff of cigarette smoke later in the evening. Most likely the smokers were outside on the first floor puffing away and the bathroom fan was sucking in the smoke.
We skipped breakfast to chow down on some dim sum.
Not sure I'll be making a 3rd visit here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Address: 200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Silicon Valley's newest Green hotel & boutique experience, Hotel Zico melds stylish modern Mediterranean decor, welcoming service and a wealth of unique amenities - all at unbeatable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.