We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
Reggio Emilia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice hotel in Moutan View. I like it because it's not the 'classical' business hotel: it's more warmy and personal starting from the painting, the furniture and the people.
Rooms are nice: nicely painted and with nice forniture. Clean and of the right size.
It's on El Camino Real: The road in that area.
There is also a nice trail in the area if you like to run.
Minus? It's a bit isolated, not too new, the heating is EXTREMELY noise.

Room Tip: The side of the El Camino Real ha balcony but it's more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    76
    31
    19
    12
See reviews for
38
38
33
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean, a prime rating consideration, and were stylishly furnished--with even a Keurig coffee maker in the room! The bed had a firm, very comfortable mattress, with a quality sheet and duvet, and a choice of pillow firmness. The hotel has a nice, modern look and feel, a very attractive lobby area, and friendly, helpful front desk staff. The included breakfast included a to-order omelet bar, but lacked sugar-free cereals and offered only white bread (no brown or whole wheat bread). Parking is in an underground lot, with a very convenient elevator that enables one to transfer luggage directly from a car to one's floor.

The hotel is undergoing construction so plan on exceptional noise starting weekdays at 9:00 AM. Also, because the hotel is located alongside a busy freeway, a North-side room is recommended.

One other point: the Zico Hotel shares a driveway with an adjacent extended stay hotel located to the rear of the Zico. Most people intuitively follow the driveway until they find a hotel entrance in the rear--but it's for the other hotel. The Zico's actual lobby entrance is difficult to spot, with only a small sign just in front of the underground parking garage pointing the way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very convenient location right off the #85 on El Camino Real. I stayed on the second floor in room 210. It was far enough away from the freeway so that I didn't hear any noise. Bathroom was really small. Had to step to the side of the toilet to close the door. Cleanliness could have been better. Room needed a good vacuuming and toilet seat had a "residue" on it.

Workout facility is small. The only treadmill was not working, but there was also a stairmaster, eliptical and recumbant bike. The weight machine was really messed up (unusable) so I let the front desk know. Water, towels and a big screen t.v. were available.

Breakfast room was large and had a nice variety of food. Bacon, sausage, eggs, cereal, toast, bagels, juices, coffee and an omlette bar. Due to the high volume of people at 9 am, there was a ten minute wait to get an omlette. The staff was friendly and accomodating throughout my stay.

I arrived at the property at 4pm to find several guests wanting their money refunded due to construction work going on. It was very noisy due to hammering and sawing, but all that stopped by the time I got into my room. I didn't hear any noise the next morning and I checked out by 11am. I thought the manager and front desk clerk handled themselves very well considering the stress they were under. They were courteous and gave refunds promptly.

There is underground parking that has an elevator. I noticed a police car cruising through the outside parking lot around 6pm. I get the impression they do this regularly to keep an eye on things. Traveling as a single female, I felt completely safe at this property. I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the 200's away from the roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our recent stay at Hotel Zico was delightful! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The full breakfast was delicious.The complimentary copy of the San Francisco Chronicle each weekday, the Starbucks coffee in the lobby and and the umbrellas available for our use on rainy days were nice amenities. We plan to stay there again anytime we are travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Our second floor room (219) was quiet and comfortable. Ask for a room that is located away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a nice one night stay after a long day in a hospital waiting room. Very comfortable beds, choice of pillows and clean rooms. Cute touches with folding decorations on the toilet paper and Kleenex. Made us smile when we needed some humor. The breakfast was really good with pancakes, omelette bar, bacon, sausage and toast. They served Starbucks coffee and a great selection of teas. I would definitely stay here again instead of a hotel chain where every place looks the same. I really liked the decor.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent a night at hotel Zico to avoid the fumes from our newly refinished hardwood floor. Based on the reviews we expected a good experience, but in reality, this place is very noisy, being close to Hwy 85 , and the rooms are nothing short of garishly painted dump. The bathroom was mildewy with big gaps between the wall and the tub, no tiles around the bathtub and shower; rather a badly painted turquoise color surface. The reception is decorated in a Zen inspired decor - I guess to counteract the aggravation due to the state of dilapidation and the intolerable garishness of the rooms. The famous good breakfast is good only for those who like greasy eggs, bacon and the like. I'll never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel Zico was a nice break from the typical hotel I stay in when on business. It has a very Zen feel to the lobby, the rooms are good (could be better) but I was happy with them. The breakfast is awesome, don't skip the omelet bar. Lot's of restaurants and shopping within walking distance and a great nature trail right by the hotel. When I'm back in the Mountain View area, I'll be sure to book my stay at Hotel Zico again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Address: 200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Silicon Valley's newest Green hotel & boutique experience, Hotel Zico melds stylish modern Mediterranean decor, welcoming service and a wealth of unique amenities - all at unbeatable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.