We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rice not included?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber India Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amber India Restaurant
2290 El Camino Real Suite 9, Mountain View, CA 94040
(650) 968-7511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amber India Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 297 Restaurants in Mountain View
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Rengstorff & Ortega Avenue
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rice not included?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I ate here twice during my two week stay in Palo Alto, and would probably go back again. BUT... while the food was very good, it was more pricey the second time, because we were charged extra for the plain white rice that I believe was included with each entree the we ordered the first time we ate there. I even questioned the waiter about it, and he insisted that rice is an extra charge. I've been to a lot of Indian restaurants and have never experienced this, so left feeling a little cheated.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Located in an unassuming strip shopping center, it is worth looking for. The menu was extensive with both meat and vegetarian choices. As noted by other reviewers, there were many Indian diners at this restaurant. With many choices, we settled on one of the complete dinners and a traditional lamb curry and an eggplant vegetarian dish. First - the portions are large (we had to take home almost 1/2 of our food) Second - the food was delicious. The vegetarian dishes were quite flavorful - the non-vegetarians enjoyed them. The service was pleasent and efficient without rushing. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Always busy, this restaurant offers a comprehensive menu and absolutely great food. Their lamb dishes are very well done; appetizers are generally very good indeed. Their take-out service is quick and efficient - they also have a take-out buffet option for the lunch time rush.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is consistently one of the better Indian restaurants in my experience... I've taken quite a few folks there and they all agree and have been back... sometimes without me!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good choice for Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

First off, let me note that a number of Indian groups were eating here, always a good sign for an ethnic restaurant. I found Amber India to be a very pleasant and effectively operated restaurant with a good mix of Indian cuisine. I ate here with a group of colleagues and we sampled 5 different preparations, 2 chicken, 1 eggplant, 1 lamb, and 1 vegetarian along with a sampler of the kinds of Naan offered. All were quite good. We did not try the Tandoor offerings and the menu did not include dosa (southern Indian) The meal was certainly on par with other Indian cuisine I've experienced, deserving of a 4-star rating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber India Restaurant also viewed

Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Amber India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber India Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.