We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT value for your money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Camino Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Inn and Suites
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1984 W. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT value for your money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel is nice and practical if you’re a family: there’s fridge and
a kitchenette in the ensuite rooms so that you fix a snack anytime.
The decoration is simple but not unpleasant – no frills, none of your
fussy bright gilded appliances and ornate bed spread:
at least it’s not tasteless -- and the California sunshine is magic
and compensates for the rather anonymous decoration!

The hotel has all the conveniences you can expect to find in a middle
row establishment.

EXCELLENT value for your money.
I’d recommend it if you want to use it as a base to visit Silicon
Valley, one of the cheapest place in Mountain View...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    26
    16
    15
See reviews for
50
22
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I was impressed by the lush landscaping and the charming pots of red flowers hanging from posts. The property is older, but management is trying to improve it. The conference/meeting room had old televisions stacked in it, and new carpet was being installed in some rooms during my visit. Fortunately, I heard no noise from the renovations. I stayed in an older room, and I found it to be clean enough. The bathroom had a window , and I enjoyed the daylight. The spa tub was huge and clean. I never could get enough hot water, however. I was warned about the lack of hot water by previous tripadvisor ratings. I was there from September 11-14th, 2011. Maybe things are better now. The wireless Internet service was so spotty that I gave up and checked my email in the lobby where there was always a good signal. They have a lobby computer that can be used to check email and print boarding passes at no charge, and I appreciated that. I believe I had the new improved breakfast that GM Scott Seymore wrote about in his response to another posting. He did, indeed, preside over breakfast himself. He was so smartly dressed in a business suit and tie that I first thought he might be a fellow business traveler who was making himself at home. During my trip I acquired an item that the TSA forbids in carry-on luggage. Mr. Seymore was kind enough to empty an oatmeal box so I could use it to pack and check my item. During my visit, I had problems with the electronic lock on my room, and they sent a pleasant man to replace the lock and some burnt-out bulbs too. One strange thing happened the night before I checked in, when my plane was delayed. I tried to call he hotel to be sure my reservation would not be canceled. Instead of reaching the front desk, I reached a guest who was trying to reach the front desk too. That was weird. I asked him whether it was a good place to stay and he said, "Its not my place to judge." He needs to get on board with tripadvisor! We love to judge.
The property has the tripadvisor logo displayed on the front door, which is brave because the ratings aren't the highest. I took as a sign that Mr. Seymore and the others are dedicated to improving the property and future ratings. I must admit, I could see the possibilities for the place. I wish I lived nearby so I could be their marketing manager. The aforementioned conference room is quite large, and would be a good setting for lunches and dinners for clubs or family events. I would even rent it to a start-up church on Sunday mornings. The kitchen appears to be a full sized catering kitchen, and I would partner with a caterer and take a cut of their action to have them cater special events in the meeting room. I was also intrigued by the outdoor service alley between the back of rooms. Each room could have its own tankless hot-water-on-demand heaters, installed outside. I would run the business case to see whether that would be more cost-effective than installing larger water heaters. I would be talking to the local utility companies to see what incentives might be available for energy efficient installations. I am sure Mr. Seymore is ahead of me on this, and I wish the best to him and all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one where they already replaced the water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Don't be silly and expect a five-star hotel.
Considering the price, the room is clean and the personal jacuzzi is a bounce.
The location is convenient enough. One bus to Stanford and walking distance (10-15 mins) to San Antonio Shopping Mall.
Breakfast is pretty sad, but I was happy to get my daily fix of coffee.
The internet wireless is not really reliable. I only got signal on and off.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

In booking a hotel in the Silicon Valley, we were surprised by the prices. The Camino Inn was about $20/night less expensive than the next best hotel. With that in mind, we put up with the worn and tired rooms, but at least they were clean. The battle for hot water in the morning was another draw back. The breakfast offerings of coffee, cereal, pastry and some mornings toast with only butter were poor at best, but the savings made up for the lack of the breakfasts other chains may offer. The staff were friendly and maintenance was quickly sent up to the room when requested to fix a problem. The wi-fi in the lobby was excellent, and it was located right in the centre of everything we need. While not the Ritz, it was an adequate place to sleep while visiting family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Camino Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for the opportunity to post an update.
Since your last visit we have installed two (2) new water heaters and repaired a third. Our Deluxe Continental Breakfast has also been upgraded by adding Fresh Fruit, Oatmeal, Fresh Donuts, Bagels & Cream Cheese and a morning Host. I personally handle the Host duties on most mornings. Also significant is the fact that the hotel is now under the direction of Hotel Managers Group, an established leader in Hospitality Management based in San Diego, CA. I recently joined the Hotel as it's new General Manager and am busy making improvements daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomabrd, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Ok the price of this place can't be beat and if your willing to accept worn and out-of-date furnishings and the possibility of no hot water then consider this place. We reserved 2 rooms and the room my wife, I and teenage son stayed in was a bit scruffy and stained but clean. My parents stayed in another building, there are several here, and never got hot water for the spa bath, the TV had terrible reception and there calls to the desk got no help to fix either problem. Even though we booked for 2 nights and there is a no cancelation policy we were able to get the motel to cancel the 2nd night after calling all afternoon to move my parents to another room and they couldn't do it. And the breakfast is meager at best, they only put out small portions as guest come into the lobby to apparently discourage guests from eating too much. Stingy and cheap. Stay here if money is your biggest concern over wise there are far better close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Camino Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
The Camino Inn & Suites is under new management as of August 15. Hotel Managers Group of San Diego has taken over the operation of the Hotel. Many new changes have already taken place that will directly impact the quality of the guest experience. We are more than confident that these changes willearn your trust and further consideration in the future when planning a trip to the Mountain View, Silicon Valley area.

Scott Seymore
General Manager
Camino Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

If you don't mind a bit of filth it is a convenient place to stay and the front desk guy was great. I had called to make sure there was a coffee maker in the room before I got on the road and they said there was. When I got there at 9 pm there was not so the guy at the front desk dug one up for me. The room had some extremely frightening drizzles on the box springs, the carpets were very nasty looking and the tub corner had some nasty black mold. FILTHY. Thank goodness it was cheap. The "breakfast" was a joke. There was coffee, a bowl of rotten bananas and 1 glazed doughnut left. Bring your own food and a can of lysol.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

very good customer services front desk clerk (sharishma) she was very awesom very good attitude, helpful. i check in on 19th january with my clients n friend. she greeted us very nice way first the hotel was so nice when i walked in. we have 2 rooms reserved by phone i called her around 5pm she talk to my staff very kindly way so we are so impressed with her, new bed, new carpet, very big Jacuzzi in the room worked very good. very quite place to stay. room was very clean.

advice to all go and stay in that hotel very cheap, and very clean, GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICES ON THE FRONT DESK (thanks to front desk clerk Sharishma).

kris joe
coldwell broker
washington, DC

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Inn and Suites

Address: 1984 W. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2002
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Camino Inn and Suites 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camino Inn & Suites is located in Mountain View, California in the heart of the Silicon Valley. Close to the San Antonio shopping center, Mountain View Center for the Performing Arts, the Los Altos History Museum and the Computer History Museum. Complimentary wireless internet is available in public areas and there is a business center on site. Guests enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast and guest parking is complimentary. Additional amenities include a fitness center, coin-op laundry facilities, coffee in the lobby and a small conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Camino Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Hotel Mountain View
Pacific Hotel Mountain View
Pacific Inn Mountain View
Pacific Inn Of Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.