We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal, helpful, WOW service... a reality here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strata Mountain View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Strata Mountain View to your Saves list
Hotel Strata Mountain View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 West El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Personal, helpful, WOW service... a reality here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My manager usually stayed at this property and so I decided to check them out on TripAdvisor first. When I read all the reviews, I told myself, this is unreal, you can't have a place that everyone raves about. It isn't possible! I booked the rooms online (took literally 5 mins on their website), got the corporate discount applied promptly and our reservations were done. At the last minute, we had to extend our stay by a day in advance and I sent them an email, and it was done! :) All this is before I've even reached the hotel!

The hotel location is easy to find. Cabs from SFO airport take an average of $100-$130 to get there. If you plan to work from/stay in Mountain View for long (and know how to drive in US), it's best if you can rent a car at the airport and drive down rather than taking a cab. We rented a car at Avis the day after we arrived and that worked out much much cheaper. Plus Avis also allows you to drop off the car at the airport so you can save on cab fares both ways. There's Castro Street a couple of streets away from the hotel where you can find many restaurants to dine at. The hotel also has a handy list of restaurants that you can call up and get food delivered to your rooms.

We chose the 2 Queen Bed room (2 of us were sharing the room). The room was super spacious, with a closet, decently sized kitchenette complete with a 4 burner gas stove, plates, cutlery, a refrigerator, microwave, coffee kettle! The bathroom again was smartly designed with the bathtub quite a distance away from the basin. They had a work desk with a portable laptop stand (to work from the bed)! What I loved was the ample plug points that they had provided for! It's so convenient when you don't have to hunt for points in the rooms. The lights had switches at the right heights and the right places too (I've stopped taking this for granted ever since my last few trips where the electrical layout is often the most poorly designed in the rooms). Their breakfast spread is delicious (try the pancakes, I gorged on the cinnamon raisin bread with cream cheese spread each day), the pantry in the lobby has coffee, tea and some cold snacks like yogurt and buns in case you need a midnight snack!

But you know what you'll remember when you stay here and when you leave? Their service. If there was one word I could attribute to what I experienced here, it was "home". Everyone welcomes you with a genuine smile that goes beyond the 'How're you'! Dilip Patel, the GM is the most humble, courteous person I've met! He actually greets all guests during breakfast and is looking to make your stay better! On our first day to work, we got lost (Yay for GPS-based directions that don't work!) and after a few wrong attempts, we gave up and called him for help, instead of taking the easy route by giving us more instructions, he actually drove to us and led us to our office! I don't know anyone else who would've made that choice! They also offer a shuttle service to get you to work (and of course to bring you back) as long as you confirm it with them in advance.

I know my review sounds like I'm overtly excited (with all my exclamation marks) but seriously, this has been the best ever service I've experienced so far! Thank you Dilip, Kirit, Em (and I'm forgetting everyone else's names but know that I thank you guys!)

Room Tip: - Choose a room on the first (ground if you're indian) floor if you have heavy luggage (I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, Manager at Hotel Strata Mountain View, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Ayesha,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Hotel Strata. It was a pleasure meeting you and your team and look forward to serving you the next time you are in Mountain View.

Sincerely,

Kirit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    46
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
27
28
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for work, it was a lovely experience, the staff are extremely helpful... they have an all day breakfast table... i totally enjoyed it.

They arrange for shuttles to the various offices located in the area, and to/from the airport on request

Room Tip: Ask for the dulex king room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hotel Strata definitely lives up to its TripAdvisor reviews: it's a comfortable, clean, and conveniently located hotel with a wonderful staff! Upon arriving at the hotel, I was a bit concerned by the fact that all rooms are accessed from the outside; I generally avoid this type of layout, as it gives the impression of being less safe. As a result, I really appreciated the fact that the Hotel Strata has gone out of its way to overcome this impression by creating key-access doors that allow only hotel guests to access the hallway balconies outside the rooms. The room itself was very nice: spacious, well-appointed, and clean. The wood floors are a great touch, and the mini-fridge and microwave make everything much more convenient! I did have some difficulty keeping the room cool on my first night, but that might have been my inability to determine how to use the system! The hotel location is very convenient: I had meetings in Palo Alto, Sunnyvale, and Mountain View during my stay and was never more than a 15 - 20 minute drive from any location; the approximately 45-minute trip into San Francisco was very straightforward as well. Finally, as other reviews have noted, the staff at the Hotel Strata is truly wonderful. Though the layout of the hotel means that you interact with them less than you might at a more traditional hotel, every interaction that I had with the staff was positive, expressing a true desire to make my stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. They were also genuinely kind and paid close attention to our pre-trip communications about my room preference, etc. In short, I'd definitely recommend the Hotel Strata and would return myself on future trips to Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A recent business trip to the San Mateo County area of California brought me to this hotel. Being near San Franscisco and the Silicon Valley area, there are many lodging choices that one could select. I came across Hotel Strata on the internet and was very impressed with its website, hotel features, reviews and proximity to where I was to conduct my business. At first I had a concern about it being a motor court style hotel (former Holiday Inn Express) and nearly discounted it as a valid choice as being a single female traveler, as safety is a primary concern. I am so glad that I did not as aside from safety, I look for a place that offers the most value in areas of rates, comfort, features and customer service.

This place is too good to be true as it has it all and I will definately come back for future stays while in the Bay Area. This hotel offers guests great value, comfort, five - star amenities, high speed internet, business center, delicious and plentiful breakfast buffet and most importantly...it has the best owners and staff ever. Mr. Patel and his family go out of their way to make you part of their family during your stay. I am certain that Mr. Patel and his son do not need to be a part of the daily operations as he has a devoted and dedicated staff with Gladys, Linda, and Em; however, I am happy they were as being greeted by them daily made my day. Everyone of these folks made me feel like family and ensured I received anything that I needed and gave the most helpful advice insofar as my travels and entertainment.

Never in my years of travel have I came across a team of people who love their jobs so much that they go beyond the call of duty to ensure total satisfaction for their guests. They spared no expense in remodeling this hotel to take it away from the looks of a national chain hotel into something truly outstanding and special. On my day of arrival, Mr. Patel was reviewing blueprints to do further enhancements to his hotel and was beaming as he described what he planned to do next. This level of commitment makes me happy and feel great that a small business owner in America can have much success by putting their heart into the business.

A special thanks goes out to Mr. Patel for being so kind and considerate by offering me a scarf to keep me warm on a day when it was 32 degrees after I left home without my coat. By the way, I could rave about customer service and his staff all day, but you may want to know that the Hotel Strata website photos depict exactly what you get when you stay. I was very pleased with the bedding, internet, food, etc. I have travelled all over the US and Mexico and by far have never met a team of folks concerned about making their customers feel great.

If you are ever in the Mountain View, CA area (near San Jose) you must consider this hotel. YOU will be happy you did!

Best regards,
Debbie N./ Houston, TX

Room Tip: I had the basic (300 SF) room and it was very nice and just as the website depicts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I only stayed at the Hotel Strata for a couple of days and did not want to leave because of the service I received. The staff was not only friendly but also extremely helpful and accommodating. Hotel Strata also has great rooms. But their staff is by far the biggest selling point for me. I will definitely stay there on my next visit to Mountain View.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay took us over Christmas day. Everything was excellent. Front desk helpful and courteous. Housekeeping was superlative. The room was kept perfectly clean with ample supply of bath linens and change of bed linens. HVAC worked perfectly. Comfortable bed made sleeping in a strange environment easy. Breakfast was sufficient and varied, numerous options to satisfy most tastes. Both hot and cold selections. All in all a most satisfying stay. Room was large and airy with lots of storage space for the luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Given the older, motel-type exterior, I wasn't expecting much, but I was blown away by the friendly and dedicated staff and pleasantly surprised by the upscale touches that have been added. From glass-enclosures on lower-level exterior hallways, umbrellas at entrances, high-end coffee and snacks, well-appointed rooms and amenities, everything at Strata was wonderful.

Room Tip: Best service in the Valley by-far! No need for a rental car- their free shuttle can get you to and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strata Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strata Mountain View

Address: 93 West El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Strata Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 100% non-smoking Hotel Strata! Located on Rte 82 junction of Hwy 85 & 237 with easy access to Hwy 101 & 280, near Google, Microsoft, Yahoo, Omnicell, Motorola, El Camino Hospital, Stanford, NASA Ames, Apple, Siemens and many Silicon Valley company, within proximity to more than 35 restaurants and shopping area. Complimentary pre-arranged shuttle weekdays within 6 mile radius. Bring the family & plan to stay with us during your Christmas & New Year holidays.For business or pleasure this Mountain View hotel features five different room types from which to choose, with all the modern conveniences. Rooms have hardwood type flooring, large flat panel TV/150 HD channels, DVD/CD player, 2-line conference speaker phone/voice mail, coffee/tea, microwave, refrigerator, pants press, and iron/ironing board. Relax in our luxurious beds with triple sheeting, goose down comforters multiple pillows with pillow menu. All rooms include complimentary high-speed Internet service over sized work desk & ergonomic chair. Join us each morning for a complimentary hot buffet breakfast with more than 50 items including signature coffee & cinnamon rolls. We also offer an on-site 24-hour full fitness center & swimming pool. Our 24 hour professional and courteous staff is always ready to meet and exceed guest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Strata Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center) Hotel Mountain View
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strata Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.