We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Small and Central Hotel for Business in The Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Avante to your Saves list
Hotel Avante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   860 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Solid, Small and Central Hotel for Business in The Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Another member of the generally funky Joie de Vivre hotel chain, the small Avante is centrally located for business in the Mountain View / Palo Alto area. Not too attractive from the outside, the rooms are generally tastefully furnished and the staff genuinely friendly and helpful. This was my second stay here in a few months and the experience has been consistent both times. For business travelers this hotel has everything you need and expect, but in a compact size with a bit more high touch service. It's good value for money and I will be back.

Room Tip: If your are on business, be sure to mention which company you are visiting - you may get an addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    78
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
42
27
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had read some very conflicting reviews of this hotel, so I didn't really know what to expect. Apparently anyone can build up or sabotage a hotel in these reviews by submitting fake ones. So this is my first review of anything online, only because I feel so strongly about it.

Hotel Avante was a fantastic experience! My husband and I were attending a concert at Shoreline and stayed two nights. In every way we were impressed with the hotel and its staff. Upon arrival, check-in was smooth and easy. We had gotten a really good rate with some kind of discount, so when the desk clerk told me they needed our credit card to charge possibly an extra $50 for incidentals (honor bar items), I thought no wonder the rate was so cheap. I gave them the credit card and they said the $50 would be credited back to our account if we didn't spend it. I was still skeptical, but as of today--a week and a half later--no such charge has even appeared on our online credit card statement.

The room was clean, quirky, and comfortable. The bathroom had the cleanest snow-white grout I've ever seen in a hotel, or anywhere, for that matter. The shower was excellent with adequate water pressure. Both nights we came "home" to music we liked playing in the room, the bed turned down, and candy on the bed, along with a card telling us the next day's weather. The mattress was great, and although one pillow was too fat for my taste and the other was too flat, I folded the flat one and it was perfect. Breakfast was plentiful, items constantly being replenished, and excellent--everything we could want. Since we didn't have time to move the furniture around, play with the toys in the desk, or use the pool, we'll have to stay longer on our next trip to take advantage of these features.

The one problem we had during our stay, on the day of the concert, was that another party took the cab we had ordered. The desk staff promptly called us another cab and gave us bottles of water while we waited. It turned out to be no problem, and their assistance was much appreciated. Next time we hope to get on the shuttle list before it fills up.

We have stayed at much more expensive hotels and this one ranks the best of all!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Like a lot of JDV hotels, the Avante is a recently refurbished hotel.

The service received at this hotel was great. Check in was very simple, and I liked the touches on the desk, such as a list of the receptionist's favourite things in the area. I received a call shortly after checking in to welcome me to the hotel and to check my room was ok, which it was.

I received an upgrade as a JDV member and the executive king room was spacious and clean. The El Camino Real road is busy outside, and you could hear it through the windows a little, but it didn't disturb us. The flat screen television had a reasonable selection of channels, and was comfortable to view from the bed. The bathroom was nicely arranged, with basics such as cotton bud and pads provided, the really nice JDV toiletries and good quality fittings (rain head on shower, funky taps on the sink)

Parking at the hotel was free, the WiFi was free and pretty fast when I used it. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, though I think another member of staff was needed to help her keep up with cleaning tables and restocking items.

Check out again was very quick and easy, with my bill emailed to me directly rather than having to wait for a printout.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I travel a lot to the San Francisco/San Jose area for work. The last thing I need is a constant reminder that I'm not at home snuggling with my cat and boyfriend. Thank goodness for this hotel!

Little things that this hotel does mean a lot to folks who travel all the time... ice water delivered to the room at night, happy hour with a cheese plate and nice wine or beer. Shoot, even the bottle opener, and coffee maker in the room are added bonuses! And the lovely staff leave little treats and a personal note behind thanking me for my business. Seriously, these people know how to make a gal feel welcome.

Sure, it's not a 5-star luxury resort. But it's clean, safe, creative environment for busy travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I attend a 3-day conference in Palo Alto every year and usually stay at the conference hotel. This year I decided to try one of the other many, many, many hotels in the area. After much research I chose Hotel Avante. One of the first things I noted was how quiet it is. It is on El Camino, the busy thoroughfare, and I had a front room so this was significant. Since I was at a conference I had little time at the hotel, but I couldn't wait each day to get back and relax. I recommend taking a swimsuit as the heated, outdoor pool looked very nice. I mentioned to the staff that I had not brought a suit; they told me where a Marshall's was to pick up a spare and offered to extend my check out so I could get some swim time in. Alas, I did not have even a few hours in my schedule to do that. The hotel is 4 stories with 15-20 rooms on each floor. There is a small exercise room and a lounge. Nothing grand but that fits in with the size and style of the hotel. I didn't get a chance to try the breakfast as I was out each morning at 6 and weekend breakfast starts at 7 (during the week it's much earlier). I would definitely stay at the Avante again and I will try others in the Joie de Vivre chain. They take older hotels and redo them usually around a concept. You can take a "test' on their website that matches you to one of their hotels. All in good fun.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I booked the room with a queen through expedia. On the day of my check in called and asked for a early check in which was no problem, when I arrived they advised me that due to having the early check in they had to upgrade my room sweet! Super clean room, very nice pool area and great breakfast! The hotel is older but they have put some work in on this place to give it a real modern feel. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Room was clean, came with everything you need for a stay. The nice touches included the glass of wine in the lobby and the hot breakfast. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: My room overlooked the pool. Don't know about other views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante

Address: 860 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Family Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Avante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.