We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel. Good price and convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Budget Motel
Save Saved
You added Budget Motel to your Saves list
1028 El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94035   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Motel. Good price and convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've been staying at the Budget Motel for a couple of weeks while looking for apartments in the Bay area and working in Silicon Valley. I highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Silicon Valley, or passing through on their way to the bay area. It is reasonably-priced, and within very short walking distance to the shops/restaurants on Castro Street in Mountain View. The owners are very nice, and do a great job maintaining their establishment. The rooms are clean and well-stocked; besides TV with HBO, you are also provided with an iron/ironing board, a refrigerator and microwave, among other things. Come try it out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
1
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

The WORST hotel I've ever stayed in. The second day of the trip, they came and asked us for an extra 50 dollars out of the blue, and then threatened to call the cops to have us kicked out if we didn't pay it. SO weird. Don't stay here unless you want very strange and random hassle. The room is fair, but nothing special and the staff and management are obviously sketchy. I wouldn't want housekeeping in my room, that's for sure!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I'm a commuter staying at the Budget Motel Monday - Thursday night every week for the past year. Clean, quiet, management friendly. Best value for the buck in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Following the previously glorious reviews we decided to stay at the Budget motel in Mountain View. This motel has been vastly overrated and given the choice I would not stay there again. There are much better options available such as Comfort Inn or Super 8.
The rooms are small, however the place is clean. The towels are so thin you can see through them. The as advertised high speed internet never works properly and the service is awful.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

What a wonderful surprise to find this gem tucked away within easy walking distance of downtown Mountain View's many coffee shops, bookstores and restaurants. The Budget Motel was not only affordable, but clean, quaint, quiet and comfortable. I highly recommend Budget Motel! I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, Quiet and Affordable
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Very convenient area, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyvale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I All Ways Stay At The Dudget Motel in Mt View CA and the managment there are exelent and very helpfull and are moore than happy to geve you derictions on wher to go for about any reserant in the earea and they runn a realy cleen place and they go out of ther way to make you fill rite at home when your on vacation. for the price you just cant find a better motel to stay

  • Liked — The Fast and Frendly service buy managment and staff
  • Disliked — The tv only has HBO
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Motel

Address: 1028 El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94035
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;