We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 East El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kind of disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Based on the multiple excellent reviews, I suppose I was basically expecting much more from this place, but it's just yet another very average hotel in Mountain View, so I'm not looking forward to come back, as I was expecting more for the price.

Pros:
- large rooms
- micro kitchen (MW and fridge)
- location, right on CA-85

Cons:
- low quality linen, really: thin, rough. And the bed is kinda weird.
- not so nice front desk staff
- small bathrooms, very basic fixtures
- the fridge / AC are very noisy, so you'd better turn them off to sleep
- location: El Camino is convenient but not where you'd book for your dream vacations.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    104
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
75
18
33
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall, very good. The staff is nice and attentive, the location was very convenient for me (right off of CA85), the pantry was well stocked, and the rooms were solid. (I especially love having the mini fridge and microwave.)

The breakfast was good, especially the made-to-order eggs and omelets, and they have a very good spread.

I used the fitness center, which had everything I needed, and I also used the laundry facilities, which were fine.

The bed was a little strange - each side has it's own dial to adjust the firmness of the mattress, although mine didn't seem to be doing anything. The bed also felt uneven across, with the middle feeling very strange. It didn't bother me, and I slept well, but I'm not sure if other rooms have the same issue.

The wifi is good - about as fast as you'll get in other hotels, and it's free, so that's awesome. I couldn't get the wired internet to work (I think it was a problem with the jack in my room), but it wasn't a big deal.

I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent hotel! Staff very friendly and helpful. Notified me of a small item left behind, offered to send it to me, and followed-up by sending it as promised. Rooms were very comfortable and quiet despite being near a hall entry door and stairwell. Breakfast was hot with a variety of items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've come to like the HIlton Garden Inns for a decent place to stay, clean linens, good breakfast, at a reasonable price and was not disappointed here. The rooms are typically nice yet basic, bathrooms small but adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here on business last month, and was impressed by the cleanliness, quality of the rooms, service, and location. Remember to leave early -- traffic on El Camino in the mornings is horrendous :).

Price was a little high for an HGI, but there may have been a conference or something going on (not much availability elsewhere). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn when she was a patient at Stanford Hospital. We loved the place so much, we returned a short time later for a weekend retreat! The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. It's about ten minutes away from Stanford on El Camino Real. Service was outstanding. We didn't have the breakfast they offered (for a price), but it looked like a great way to start the day. Be aware, however, that their restaurant isn't open every day for breakfast or dinner; be sure to ask before you reserve a room, if that's important to you. Unfortunately, the next three times we went to Stanford, we found that the prices were significantly higher than we had paid in either trip. We simply couldn't afford it. Be assured, however, that each time we return to the area, this will be the first place we look for a reservation. When it's reasonably priced (weekends and holidays, apparently), it will be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently spent two nights here while in the area on business at NASA Ames. The location is very convenient and close to good restaurants (if you like Indian, try the Afghan Kabul restaurant). The accommodations are quite comfortable, and won't tax your wallet. The staff works very hard to be personable, even providing a jar of fresh cookies for when you return in the evening. Facilities are modern and reasonably spacious. Breakfast is extra, no skin off my hide since I don't normally do breakfast, but which might matter to some. Parking is ample. This is not a 5-star hotel, but rises above the 3-star niche it occupies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View

Address: 840 East El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mountain View
#2 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#2 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View Hotel Mountain View
Hilton Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.