We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 East El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Mountain View
Nikau
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good stay, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We arrived at 9pm after a long flight. Not so impressed that the onsite restaurant was closed in the evenings due to the holidays, but the friendly receptionist provided directions to Castro Street (impressive restaurant row in downtown Mountain View). However, we couldn't face more journeying and noticed a Mexican place right across the road - fantastic carryout dinner, real Mexican food (beef tongue tacos, not regularly found in Western North Carolina). And the guy at hole in the wall liquor store next door gave us a great steer on Red Rocket Ale out of Sonoma. So happy, were we.

The room was perfectly fine. The standard to be expected of this chain. Good coffee for the hotel drip variety - Wolfgang Puck brand. The common areas are somewhat dated; the breakfast space, although bright and airy, was unappealing and at $12.95 per person we decided to meet our local family members elsewhere. I did note a fairly constant cleaning fluid aroma in the hallway - not overly objectionable but a small detraction.

The morning of our departure I availed myself of the coin-operated washer and dryer and worked out while waiting for the laundry. Fantastic little onsite gym - clean, individual tv screens (HGTV makes cycling 8 miles at 6am go by quickly), and opens out onto the pool and jacuzzi area which looks very nice but we did not take advantage of.

We were happily granted a late checkout of 1pm, which enabled good family time in the morning then a shower before the next long leg of our journey.

We will definitely consider staying here again when visiting family in the area. The price was right and probably reflected the fact that this property is due a refurb of public areas in the next year or two. The property's best asset is its front desk staff, unfailing friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    105
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
76
19
33
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have stayed here twice, on business, for a total of 7 nights. Rooms are nice size. Heat & air controls, small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in-room. Common areas are beautiful and pleasant. Friendly staff. Small pool and a hot tub outdoors, decent gym and a nice business center are included. The have a "restaurant" although served buffet style. The breakfast is standard with chef to make eggs and omelets made to order. Unless you are a HUGE eater it is not worth the price. There is a grocery store directly across the street along with a nice sushi restaurant. I got microwaveable food and a box of utensils and saved my per diem for more reasonably priced meals.
All in all I enjoyed my stay in this nice little hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not used to noise ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had a really excellent stay here. The room rate was very good and it included their wonderful breakfast buffet -- eggs and omelets cooked to order plus a large assortment of other hot and cold food choices -- really didn't need to eat lunch after eating breakfast here. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. There's some sort of hotel shuttle bus which we didn't use, and I"m not sure where it will take guests. There's a nice business center that is available to guests without charge. There were also other amenities that we didn't use such as a gym, pool, and laundry. The rooms were clean and in nice condition. Cookies and fruit were served in the evening. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I've stayed here a few times now and it's always been a good value. Rooms and common areas are clean and pleasant. Friendly staff. They have a small pool and a hot tub outdoors, a tidy decent gym and a business center. The breakfast is quite good, with omelets made to order, though not included in the room rate unless you are a Hilton Gold member or alike. The location is convenient with easy access to Hwy 85 and 237, a grocery store across the street and restaurants nearby, even public transport along El Camino Real. There is some noise from the traffic though so you may want to choose a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Away from the street and you will not hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Having stayed there before I've just left from staying there again. On the whole it is a decent property, a bit obtuse to get into streetwise (u-turns, etc) which is more a function of location.

This time I was in an upgraded room, 301 right at the front of the hotel. NEVER AGAIN will I stay in the street side of this hotel -- there's simply too much street noise from 0500 -> 2300. Then moving to the back of the property, silence and bliss!

Once upon a time this property had an either free or nearly free breakfast -- now they charge $14 which seems a bit too steep given they charge more than $200 a night they should bundle it in free unless you've gotten your room from a cut price travel site.

The hotel staff, especially front desk are very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: demand to be away from El Camino road / the front unless you don't like sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a week on business. Location was great for those traveling to work in the area. Hotel staff were very friendly. Overall the hotel, room and facilities were in great shape. Pool was small but in good condition. The small tuck shop well stocked when needing something late at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level may back onto the parking lot, but have good sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband was "put out " that I did not consult him before making reservations for our weekend stay. He was extremely please with our accommodations and even said he would stay again. The room, hallways , etc. were very clean. Our room was very quiet. The breakfast was great - and the room was cheerful overlooking the pool. After staying at other places for twice the price in nearby Palo Alto, we thought the value for our stay was great.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View

Address: 840 East El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mountain View
#2 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#2 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View Hotel Mountain View
Hilton Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.