We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Morgan Way, I-5 and Lake Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mount Shasta
seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

we found this place because we were looking for pet-friendly hotels. they let our dog stay there, but insisted we never leave them alone (not even in our car on the premises). not even in a crate while we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant. if we wanted to eat in the onsite restaurant, we'd have to order "to-go"....no such thing as room service for anyone--even people who don't have pets. the website advertised free wifi, but it turns out there's no wifi in the rooms--you have to have your own cable to plug into their outlet (you can get one at the desk, but this is mis-advertised, and hope you and your traveling partner don't both need the wifi). the heater/ac is really loud. however, on a positive note, the staff is very nice and friendly and there's a nice little courtyard for walking your pet.

  • Liked — friendly, nice staff
  • Disliked — lack of advertised wifi in rooms, not as pet friendly (though pets are allowed)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    166
    49
    12
    7
See reviews for
170
188
23
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We ran across the Tree House a couple of years ago while passing through on I-5 and thankful that we did, we have been back numerous times. It's a great location right off I-5 and offers the most incredible views of Mount Shasta. Their staff has always been super friendly and helpful, especially their GM who always helps us with ideas for places to see and do. Their restaurant serves great food especially prime rib and cedar plank salmon. Our kids absolutely LOVE the huge indoor pool and the spa is bigger than the normal. We are always appreciative of the cleanliness of the rooms and love the alpine feel.

  • Liked — convenience and family friendly
  • Disliked — no workout facility onsite
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

My ten year old daughter and I decided to take a road trip without a particular destination in mind. We ended up going to Mt. Shasta during President's Day weekend. We were lucky to get a room here. They just had three rooms left. We felt elated after a long drive. The room was large and clean. The people at the front desk were especially helpful and fun. We stayed for three nights and would definitly come back again

  • Liked — The friendly people
  • Disliked — The pool and hottub had too much chlorine
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

I can't really recall the exact day I stayed there, , but as far as booking a room over the phone once in about 2/07 ?? and again on 1/17/08, has been a horrible experience. The Manager there "Marty" is rude and very unprofessional. When you are making reservations make absolutely sure you get confirmation numbers and the names times and dates you spoke to people. According to Marty he never ever makes mistakes and nor do his empoyees. I think the hotel itself is fun because my two little girls like the indoor pool and juccuzi. They do have a decent continental breakfast an they do have a restaurant. I will not be returning to the tree house unfortunately because of Marty. Not only did he call me at work offended that I would even report him he was never truly apologetic. He never tried to compassionatly try to resolve the issue. Then proceeded to call me at work and harrass me about filing a complaint. I do not want to see people like this lose thier jobs but maybe take a human relations on the job class. On the other hand The Best Western Corporation was very helpful and apologized and gave me a gift card. Marty did nothing but humiliate me and threaten me. I will always stay at Best Western , but not at the tree house. They never make mistakes so you be careful not to make mistakes. Again make sure you get confirmation numbers, names of the booking person, time and date. If they lose your information they will not be polite about it because they never make mistakes. I will be writing the owner in regards to Marty the manager.

  • Liked — the indoor pool and juccuzi
  • Disliked — the service for the manager Marty and they have dishonest empoyees probably due to marty
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

In the midst of an enormous winter storm we were driving down from Oregon into California, and started looking for a place to stay as we crossed the border. We found the Tree House Inn just as the roads became impossible, and boy, are we glad we happened upon this terrific hotel! The price was a bit more than we normally would have spent ($147 after tax for 2 adults and 2 kids), but the pool was perfect and warm, the hot tub was nice, and a terrific hot breakfast (orange juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausages, danish, muffins, yogurt, fruit, and french toast, all in a buffet in the dining room) was included in the price. Upon checking in we also received coupons for a discount on dinner in the dining room as well as a free drink in the lounge, which we didn't take advantage of, but is nice. The room was very spacious and comfortable, the staff was friendly, breakfast was great, and though the hotel was very busy, we didn't feel it was noisy or crowded in any way. We were able to park near a door by our room, too. There was a small problem with no towels down at the pool, but I think that was more the fault of the crowd of young boys who were just leaving as we got there than the busy staff. All in all, a great find!

  • Liked — The pool was great, breakfast was terrific!
  • Disliked — a bit pricy.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

bit over priced for a Sunday night. Also, we were surprised by a balcony bandit in the middle of the night while staying on the third floor. He was allowed to check in under another guest that had just vacated. Beware check out when leaving and be leary of all the locals that roam the halls (selling drugs) and bar area cause they are not to be trusted.

We were not given any type of compensation just a node that we will get a discount should we have to go to court on THEIR behalf.
Not happy about the drama that they were negligent from preventing with some in house SECURITY!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchardk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House, responded to this review, November 19, 2007
We appreciate honest responses that individuals supply us on Trip advisor, as this is a way for us to improve our service to our guests. However, this reviewer did not offer an honest review.

The Best Western Tree House Motor Inn did experience an unfortunate incident on the morning of November 12th, not in the middle of the night as indicated in the review and drugs were not a part of this incident.

The police were alerted and myself along with several motel staff members were attempting to apprehend the individual, which is what caused him to go to another balcony in the first place. This incident was isolated and caused no harm or inconvience to any of our guests.

The owner was given praise by this party for the hotel staffs efforts and the way they handled the situation, only to find these remarks written about us. We do not understand how this party could go from concerned and supportive only to suggest we are unconcerned with lack of security.

Respectfully,
Marty Bryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This is the nicest hotel on our corp. lodging list. I travel with my dog which means a lot to me ( small fee for a big dog). I liked all of the plugs they provide where you don't have to crawl on the floor looking for them. Everything worked was clean, resort feel. Stayed traveling North and aga n on the trip south. Can't wait to go back. Having good food attached to the lobby is a plus as well.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House

Address: 111 Morgan Way, I-5 and Lake Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House is nestled at the gateway to Mt. Shasta, welcoming guests to this spectacular mountain resort area, which is surrounded by natural beauty, plenty of recreational activities and a stunning view of Mt. Shasta. The 14,161 foot face of Mt. Shasta does impress, as will the Shasta Trinity National Forest it is set in. We are located in northern California, one hour north of Redding and one hour south of the Oregon border. It is within an easy drive of San Francisco, Sacramento and Portland for a weekend getaway or vacation in any season. Come visit beautiful Mt. Shasta and book your room with us today.We have two restaurants to serve you, The Tree House Restaurant and Cooper's Bar & Grill, both open 7 days a week, offering Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tree House Hotel Mount Shasta
Best Western Tree Hotel
Best Western Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.