We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and Fun Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Goats Tavern

Billy Goats Tavern
107 Chestnut Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
(530) 926-0209
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 36 Restaurants in Mount Shasta
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Redding, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casual and Fun Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Good food, but The Goat can be crowded and loud. If you want to kick back and enjoy a brew and a burger in Mt. Shasta, this is the place to be.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    37
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best place for a post-summit beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Descending from two days on Mount Shasta, The Goat was our first port of call for the best, most imaginative and most deserved burger I enjoyed in my three-week stay in the US. Obviously a popular watering hole for the locals, it doesn't look like much from the outside but is well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“"A dive with good food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have eaten at the Goat several times, its our go to spot when we are out for a ride. We really like sitting on the outside deck to watch the local foot traffic. I have to admit we have never sat inside but a quick peek did reveal a dark cramped space that seemed very busy for my liking. This place is a bit run down and weathered but thats what we like about it. We are always amazed at the quality of food that comes to our table. The veggie burger, blue cheese burger, Fish tacos and those awesome garlic fries are our go to favorites. And for those beer drinkers they have a great selection. The crowds are hit and miss weekends being the worst weather permitting. If you like fine linens and non spotted glasses you might be turned off by the Goat. Try it take in the surroundings and most of all Enjoy!.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wear gloves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Read good reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. Talk about a hole in the wall. Appears to be a local hangout. Decent selection of beer and our sausage sampler was quite good. What a filthy place though. Sticky tables, filthy floors, and smelly inside. Need to shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot to mix with locals & more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A tiny, yet fun, place to dine year round. Although that the outdoor seating is defunct in the winter, you can cozy up with the locals for a brew and some typical tasty bar cuisine. I love this spot...and if you enjoy people watching or eavesdropping this is the place to hear some tales.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Goats Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Billy Goats Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Goats Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.