We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa
Save Saved
You added Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
203 Birch Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Above and beyond...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I am not the type to write reviews, but I feel compelled to write one after my visit. As mentioned in other glowing reviews, Shasta Mountinn is comfortable, charming, conveniently located, and has stellar views of the mountain. There's nothing like returning from a hearty hike and landing in a hot tub. David, the owner, is above and beyond--welcoming, a great masseur, attentive to details, and a fabulous cook. My dad and I stayed there for our hiking trip--and David helped make this a trip of a lifetime. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
134
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

On a whim we decided to stay at a B & B in Shasta. Never having stayed at a B & B before, we couldn't have asked for a better experience! The hosts were wonderful! The food was fabulous! The bed was THE most comfortable! The view was breathtaking! This was a perfect end to our first business trip! Thank you for welcoming us into your home!

~Mineral Sisters
Jill & Mindy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I agree wholeheartedly with the wonderful reviews. The place is marvelous and David, the host, has that something that makes you feel immediately at home. We enjoyed our 3 rainy and snowy days immensely. The rain didn't stop us from taking some of the most beautiful walks along the rivers and creeks in nearby McCloud and Dunsmuir. Can't wait to go back! I bet the rooms, newly painted by the local artist Jerry Stuart, look stunning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Traveled with my wife. By far, the best B&B I have ever stayed in. David treated us as true guests. He made us feel totally welcome. Room was as shown on the web site. David went far beyond what I have come to expect from a B&B host. Looking forward to traveling to Mt. Shasta again and staying at David's place. There is no other place in Mt. Shasta that I would even consider staying in, regardless of price. Just a great place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The owner of the Shasta MountInn is genuine and generous. He goes to great lengths to provide a memorable and special experience for travelers. The rooms are beautiful; the food is delicious; and the amenities are luxurious. ...And Mt. Shasta out the bedroom window is breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkidm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

What a wonderful, relaxing stay! The view from our room was incredible. Looking up at the stars from the hot tub topped an already great stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

where do i begin....our experience from the moment we stepped into the shasta mountinn was just perfect...warm, welcoming and the sweetest inn keeper/ owner i've ever encountered....the home was beautiful, clean, warm, extremely comfy clean bed and fluffy warn down comforter....the inn was stocked w/ wonderful treats for the quests, delicious coffee and breakfast in the morning....i really could go on and on......i just wanted to leave this review since our experience was such a good one and know that if others were looking for wonderful accommodations that this would fit the bill.......my husband and i have had the opportunity to stay in Mt. shasta at other bed and breakfasts, but none of our other experiences can hold a candle this our home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

Address: 203 Birch Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When seeking lodging in beautiful Mount Shasta, why stay in hotels when you can be pampered in a Victorian era bed and breakfast with incredible views of Mt. Shasta? Built in 1904 by master carpenter and Mayor of Mount Shasta Richie Edson this gorgeous home was restored to architectural beauty with lots of natural wood, crown moldings, three decks and fireplaces. The splendor of the wood and craftsmanship will astonish you and the views will captivate you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Mountinn Retreat Hotel Mount Shasta
Shasta Mountinn Retreat And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.