We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa
203 Birch Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This little B&B is perfect for a getaway in the Mount Shasta area. David is a very friendly, thorough innkeeper who takes great care of his guests. The massage service is a hidden gem, highly recommend purchasing one even though there is no dedicated spa facility at the house. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
130
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was the best B&B we have ever stayed in - and we have stayed in plenty throughout our travels of the UK and US. We loved the room (Twin Peaks), the foot massagers, the kitchenette and TV room, the well-stocked COMPLIMENTARY snack bar (which accommodation ever has it complimentary?), the sauna, the down blankets, the hot tub, the communal breakfasts, and the massages.

David was a wonderful host - he is genuinely interested in the welfare of his guests, and does it so generously in the process.

You need to stay at least two nights if not you will regret it. This is not an ordinary B&B - it’s a retreat.

Room Tip: Twin Peaks for its privacy on the upper floor and it's close to the kitchenette/TV room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I spent her 40th birthday in magnificent Mt. Shasta, and even in the planning stages we knew that the Shasta Mountinn was going to be a very special place. David was the ultimate host by telephone, but in person he treated us and each of the guests we met over the course of our stay like his favorite family members. Our room, the Edson, was immaculate, warm and inviting, with a spectacular view of the mountain.

And every morning David started us out right with a legendary breakfast in his communal dining room. We enjoyed French toast, blueberry pancakes, waffles, eggs, cereal, everything made to our specifications. And because David is awesome, he attracts awesome visitors. The week of our stay we met so many diverse and interesting people, some from as far away as China and Japan and Finland.

The other highlight for us was the hot tub, which can be used privately at any hour. There's nothing like sitting in jet-propelled hot water on a weekday, mid-morning, forgetting all your worries and your strife, as the song goes.

This was our first trip to Mt. Shasta, and everything about the town, the mountain and David's inn exceeded our expectations. Guaranteed, we will be back and this is the only place we'll stay when we're in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our off-season stay here. We are hikers and this was the perfect base for us. The house is very old so the rooms are unique and cozy. The beds were comfortable and our host, David, was very friendly and caring.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband surprised me with plans for a weekend at Mt. Shasta for a little rest and relaxation. We could not have imagined a more amazing time than what we experienced at the Shasta MountInn Retreat and Spa. From the moment we pulled up the driveway and saw the house, to checking out at the end of our stay, we were constantly impressed with the quality, peacefulness and comfort of this B&B. David was an excellent host, but felt more like a friend you enjoy staying with. Each room was beautifully decorated and held every comfort from guest bathrobes to in room fireplaces. We stayed in the Edson Room - the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and shower combination, and the view of Mt. Shasta was stunning. The grounds were well manicured with a creek alongside and on the deck was a sauna, hot tub and plenty of comfortable lounge chairs for relaxing during your stay. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and relaxing each morning. We are definitely looking forward to future visits to the Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa and the hospitality and kindness of David.

Room Tip: Each bedroom is tastefully decorated and has a stunning view of Mt.Shasta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

David has created a beautiful peaceful environment that makes you want to stay and stay and stay. The gentle stream flowing along side the rear deck provides a wonderful background sound as you swing in the comfy lounge chair viewing Mt. Shasta. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed two wonderful breakfasts. We absolutely will be back and wholeheartedly recommend that you have a massage while you are there.

Room Tip: While we prefer the rooms on the second floor, any and all of the rooms are comfortable, quiet and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stay at bed and breakfasts for a more personalized experience. Well David surpassed all our past experiences and expectations! From the quick call at my reservation inquiry, to meeting us outside as we drove up, David was a genuine host. The rooms were very clean, great beds, comfy sheets, even special toiletries. We had a couples massage while there. How convenient and very well done! Our favorite part of our stay were the morning breakfasts with the other guests.The conversations were delightful. The property is lovely with a spectacular view of the mountain from every room. David gave us great dinner suggestions along with other special activities in the area. I can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

Address: 203 Birch Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When seeking lodging in beautiful Mount Shasta, why stay in hotels when you can be pampered in a Victorian era bed and breakfast with incredible views of Mt. Shasta? Built in 1904 by master carpenter and Mayor of Mount Shasta Richie Edson this gorgeous home was restored to architectural beauty with lots of natural wood, crown moldings, three decks and fireplaces. The splendor of the wood and craftsmanship will astonish you and the views will captivate you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Mountinn Retreat Hotel Mount Shasta
Shasta Mountinn Retreat And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa to your Saves list