We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Shasta Resort

Save Saved
You added Mount Shasta Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Shasta Resort
1000 Siskiyou Lake Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Shasta
McKinleyville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Every year we stay at Mt. Shasta resort when we are in town to snow ski. There cottages and rooms are great, the price is very reasonable, and their spa is EXCEPTIONAL (especially after a full day of skiing). The golf course is beautiful and has an unobstructed view of the gorgeous mountain. I would highly recommend Mt. Shasta resort to a couple looking for a romantic getaway or a large family looking for a nice alternative to a hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
66
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Beautiful course in a gorgeous setting. Love getting out of the city to enjoy the Mt. Shasta area. The resort has a nice pro shop and dining. In the winter, our family skis at the the nearby Shasta Ski park and usually has dinner at the resort in the evening. The only downside is leaving!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were looking for a place to completely relax, and this was THE place to do it. We had one of the Woodland Suites with jacuzzi, and it was at the very end of the property, so very quiet. We ended up never using the jacuzzi, so would probably go for one of the one bedroom chalets instead next time. There are only a few with a lakeview, so ask for that if you want a view of Lake Siskiyou. We did not take advantage of any of the amenities so can't really speak for any of that. However the rooms were remodeled and very clean. They could use a bit more artwork on the walls because it seems a bit barren when you first walk in; a long coat rack for hanging things up would be a very welcome addition. Someone had mentioned in another review that there is only one nightstand, and we found that to be annoying as well, but dragged the end table and floor lamp over to the bed in its place. My only complaint would be the bed...hard mattress and sheets that were not as soft as they should have been.

The highlight of being here is being so close to Lake Sis; we spent two days floating on it with an awesome view of Mt. Shasta. There is a parking lot just south of the resort, less than 1/4 mile from the rooms, that takes you to the water's edge and has the best view. Make sure you pack some type of floating device and some enticing beverages, and just float your way through as many days as you can....you will be completely renewed!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have been staying at this Hotel for years and have never had a problem or been disappointed. On this trip we experienced our first issue (a broken A/C unit and it was HOT). They sent someone to fix it at 6pm on a Friday and called on my cellphone to let me know that they could not and asking if I would like to switch to a different room. The desk clerk then stayed late to give us the keys to our new room which was an upgrade to a beautiful lakefront room. I have stayed pretty much everywhere else in Mt. Shasta over the past 30 years and you cannot beat the Resort.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a Lakefront Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We rented a one-bedroom lakeview chalet and loved every minute of our recent stay. Although the parking lot was mostly full around us, we didn't really hear others staying around us with the peaceful setting in the wooded area and filtered view of Lake Siskiyou. We really enjoyed our spacious and quiet unit and didn't even turn on either of the two televisions all weekend (there is one in the bedroom as well).

The room (unit 115) seemed to have been recently upgraded with nice, leather furniture, sturdy coffee tables, and sizable dining area. I don't like to complain, but instead of the 5 stars it should have received, I only gave it 4 stars. This was mostly due to the kitchen that had most amenities but only had a smaller almost bar-sized sink and faucet and did not have a dishwasher or frying pan (could have probably special requested the frying pan). And although the unit appeared to be mostly remodeled, the bathroom cabinet was a little bit of an eyesore with the lamination peeling off the front of it (but the rest of the bathroom had been recently retiled, etc.?). This did not diminish our stay, but just a note for the property that could have considered these things when upgrading the otherwise beautiful unit.

Would definitely stay here again and try the spa and golf course next time and also rent a patio boat on Lake Siskiyou (the marina is a short drive away).

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the lakeview rooms as the ones across from those appear to face the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Well-located hotel with great views on Mount Shasta, including from the dining room where a diverse range of good quality plates are served. Bungalow rooms are spacious, well-inserted in the forest, and some have views on the river from their back porch. While we didn't try it, the hotel also seems to have a very nice golf course, which is a definite plus for golfers looking to intersperse excursions with glof days.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our chalet was comfortable, clean and in a very good location. A quiet wooded area. The golf was great. The staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding. We'll plan another trip here... for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Shasta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Shasta Resort

Address: 1000 Siskiyou Lake Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of beautiful Mount Shasta is one of Northern California's finest All-Season Resorts. Mount Shasta Resort encompasses all that you could ask for when searching for a place to stay and play. After 18 holes of golf, dine in our beautiful restaurant or relax more casually in our family friendly lounge. Unwind amidst some of the most pristine landscape imaginable in our Chalet accommodations with separate kitchenette, dining room, deck, and living room with a cozy gas fireplace. Be sure to visit the Evergreen Day Spa after a long day of skiing, fishing or golfing, for total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mount Shasta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Hotel Mount Shasta
Mt Shasta Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Shasta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.