We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Motel choice in Mount Shasta for those on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finlandia Motel & Lodge

Finlandia Motel & Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finlandia Motel & Lodge
Save
You added Finlandia Motel & Lodge to your Saves list
1612 S. Mt. Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Decent Motel choice in Mount Shasta for those on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Finlandia is a good motel choice for those with private car transport in Mount Shasta. There is nothing special about the motel. It is clean, simple and functional. The Wifi works well. Hot water shower is fine and the bed is comfortable. Staff at the hotel on my visit were ok, but were difficult to locate on check-in (for my second stay at the hotel). If you want a good night's sleep and don't intend to spend a lot of time at your motel choice in Shasta and have a limited budget, then seriously consider the Finlandia. If you don't have a car, then definitely stay somewhere closer to the centre of town as Finlandia would be a decent walk from the shops and restaurants in Shasta.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redlands california
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped by the Finlandia Hotel primarily because of my Finnish heritage. They gave us their best room built in the 90s in the rear of the property. It was spacious and clean yet somewhat Spartan. This is a very basic hotel good for a night's stay after driving 700 plus miles. The internet did not work well.

Room Tip: Room 22 was the "best room" and the favorite of the lady who checked us in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean. Lovely, bucolic setting. The staff in the reception makes is very unfriendly and border on rude. They certainly let you know that they don't like working there.. I ended up canceling my stay on the return trip because of the staff. Too bad because it is otherwise nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had Unit One with a kitchen which was fairly well-equipped though the rings on the cooker had suffered from previous occupants' use. There was no air con -just a big fan that made a great noise. The large refrigerator was useful though a little cracked. For complete freshness and comfort some things needed renovating we thought. Only one housekeeping visit in four days. The rest of the motel accommodation looked more modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We checked out this place based on reviews from here and yelp. We got the pine room, one of the deluxe and it was very nice. $110. We came too late to check out the sauna. The check-in staff was very sweet an helpful

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Finlandia has always been the place for us to stay with our dogs as we visit Mt/ Shasta. The staff and owner are friendly people who have always been helpful and welcoming to guests.

We usually visit Shasta around Thanksgiving but this year 5th in a row) we are planning to stay over Memorial day weekend and do some fishing.

Rooms are perfect size, clean and comfortable

Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Yes the Finlandia has an excellent Sauna and Hot tub however you mention a pool? Don't know what you were smoking or dringing but the Finlandia does not have a pool and never has had one, and second of all you do not need to get the Sauna key a day early it is stated on line and when you check in it is by appointment only so if you just pick a time it is ready and availble. I stay there all the time and thought the rooms in the lower part might be a little old fashion they are nice and the Delux rooms are very nice and updated and i have been to most motels in Mount Shasta and Finlandia is one of the lowest in price besides a few dives i would never think of staying in. And i have never had any problem getting ahold of anyone sence they changed the phone services they used to have.

Room Tip: Room 25 which is a one bedroom apt off by it self very quit and private room 22 view of the Mountian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finlandia Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Motel & Lodge

Address: 1612 S. Mt. Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Finlandia Motel and Lodge, located in beautiful Mount Shasta, California. We are proud to offer you free wireless internet, access to a spa, Finnish sauna, and complimentary coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finlandia Motel And Lodge
Finlandia Hotel Mount Shasta
Finlandia Motel Mount Shasta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finlandia Motel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.