We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Canopy Tours

Redwood Canopy Tours
37 Conference Dr, Mount Hermon Christian Camps and Conference Center, Mount Hermon, CA 95041
831-430-3537
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Soar through the redwood forest 150ft. in the air at the first canopy tour in California. Enjoy 6 zip lines and 2 suspension bridges while learning from the best tour guides in the industry. It will be the highlight of your trip!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my first ziplining experience, and I have to admit that I was pretty disappointed. It took a long time just to get ready and trained for the tour and a long time between each zip line while we waited for people to get clipped, zipped, and unclipped. Being up high is pretty cool. The extra precautions they need to take to make sure everyone is safe and always clipped in way up in the trees contributes to the slow pace. But even the ziplines themselves aren't really that thrilling. A 400' long zipline sounds long if you've never been on one before, so I thought it would be exciting, but it really wasn't. After going on this tour, I was left to wonder why people are all gung ho about ziplines in general. I would never go on this particular zipline tour again, and I even got a big discount for being a guest at Mount Hermon. Fast forward several months, and I went on my second ever zipline tour in a town called Santa Margarita. Now THAT was thrilling and made me understand why people really do enjoy ziplining. In Santa Margarita you don't suffer through a long training routine like you do at Mount Hermon, they just clip you in and you go. Unlike the Mount Hermon ziplines, the lines in Santa Margarita are designed to brake you automatically, and that is part of the thrill as you go jamming all the way to the end without having to worry about knocking anybody down. And they have an 1800' zipline that puts Mount Hermon's 400' zipline to shame. If you want an overly-relaxed pace and are willing to spend the money, then the Mount Hermon zipline would be an OK choice, but if you want a thrill, go elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene with good runs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This zipline course was very enjoyable and set in a wonderful location on Mount Herman, within a residential conference/retreat area that looked quite nice. The check-in and other facilities were top notch, and the guides and equipment were first rate. I have not been zipping in the redwoods elsewhere, so this was a sensory treat.

The course is very conveniently located, and the runs began and ended near the parking and check-in location. The trees were spectacular and the views in the woods were terrific. In addition to the zipline runs, we crossed a long suspended bridge with a good view.

For first-timers and experienced zippers, this is a good spot. Nothing extreme, just a solid site and course. They run a two line/two trolley vertical setup. The lines are covered in plastic, making the runs more quiet than if they were bare, and making braking with gloves much less abrasive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a really good time. The guides were nice and it definitely a thrill for us! Our daughter love it too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just finished our tour, and it was great! The guides were really funny and nice, and made sure everybody were having a good time. They told us about the redwood trees and forest, and encouraged us to ask questions. Totally worth the time and money, definitely one of the best things we did lately!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Ia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Adventure; worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a stop along our trip from San Francisco to San Diego. Coastal redwoods were a must, as well as zip lining. The tour guides were great, very knowledgeable of the redwoods, area. Next time we might look into staying for the whole package. Great adventure ;)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood Canopy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Redwood Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Canopy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Redwood Canopy Tours to your Saves list