We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long lines, small tubing area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Baldy Ski Area

Mt. Baldy Ski Area
8401 Mt Baldy Road, Mount Baldy, CA 91759
909.982.0800
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular California ski area offers more than 50 trails for downhill and snowboard enthusiasts.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“long lines, small tubing area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We basically went to take our small children tubing; Because my little one is less than 42 inches, we weren't able to buy his ticket online, although we bought the other 3 online. So once we arrived (30 mins before it opened) there was already a line at the window and we waited for about 45 mins to get his ticket. Once we got up the lift, we had to go to the lodge and get wristbands. BY the time all of this was done, it was 10:15 and our session was over at 11 :( Big time bummer. We could have waited for the next session, but had to get home 2 hours away and kids were anxious, so we went tubing for 40 mins. It was ok, kids liked it, but we won't go back!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    4
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip from LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We left LA a little later than we'd have liked and paid the price by trekking up the hill when most people were coming back down. It was still a fun day out though. We took the chair lift from the parking lot and enjoyed several minutes of peace and relaxation during the 10 - 15 minute ride before starting out on the steady 3000' hike to the summit. A couple of areas are pretty narrow, and the last stretch across the scree slopes below the summit are the steepest, but there are great views in all directions once you're there.
We met a group of people training for a bigger trek who were going to camp out on the hill overnight, which I thing is a great idea and I'll bet they had a fabulous view of the stars. Maybe next time...
After getting back to the ski lodge we took some time to have a beer (tasted so good) and checked out the menu, which was surprisingly limited although looked like quality food but with a quality price.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, skip the lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went on a groupon for lunch and ski lift during the non ski season. The views were spectacular. It had just snowed a bit, so we really enjoyed the best views. The whole visit took about two hours including lunch. Unless you have a package deal, the lunch isn't worth it. For a quick drive from Los Angeles or Orange County, the scenery can't be beat!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pack a lunch and hike”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Do not visit this area after you have been to Mammoth for fall ski lift hiking. Very sad, obvious that no revenue is being invested in repairs. Our lift chair was missing half of the safety bar. The parking lot is filled with trash, toilets are overflowing and have not been emptied since July. We had a Groupon which included lunch. Emerson the server was wonderful. He located our lost order after 25 minutes. Food was awful. "custom made blue cheese and bacon potato salad" was warm costco white potato salad. Outside patio chairs broken, trashcans filthy, carpet filthy, no organization. Cafeteria entry appears to be new but will not fit a walker or wheelchair.
Bar personnel busy serving Sunday football beer drinkers but will not help hikers trying to get drinks. Outside the restaurant are broken steel parts and rusting tin. Wonder why it is not stacked elsewhere???? Lift attendant was very nice, his coworker was blasting Led Zepplin 4 while washing his Toyota truck with a gas engine steam cleaner with no muffler. Entire top of mountain could hear this lawn mower engine and 1971 smash hit on his static filled radio, totally took away from a nice afternoon for all. Strongly advise to stay far away, this day was a disaster.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Mt. Baldy Ski Lifts during the non-ski season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Mt. Baldy allows you to take the ski lift up in the summer / fall to hike, when there's no skiing. Groupon had a big special going on several times this fall for 2 round trip ski lift tickets and $20 food voucher for "Top of the Notch Restaurant" for $29 total. It's hard to imagine our day would have cost about $60+ without the coupon. I definitely recommend doing this at the $29 level when available, because I would not think it was worth it at the full price rate. But it definitely was worth the Groupon rate. It's fun to take the lifts up (about a 15 minute ride each way.) At the top, you can pick various hiking trails. Just know things are NOT marked well at all and you feel kind of on your own to figure out the property. The signs are all old and hard to read, if they even have a sign to mark a trail. Get a map at the bottom of the lift since it's your main source for figuring out what trails are available. But they're not labeled in terms of difficulty. The food at the restaurant is actually pretty good. Just expect to wait a while if it's busy day. We waited 30 minutes to order, then about another 40 for the food delivery. So try to plan your break to eat before your starving.

We didn't hike to the summit. But another hiker told us it's about 2 hours each way if you want to. So we picked other trails. Great photo ops up there.

Last tip: Once you start your drive up the mountain (which the town is rather cute) you'll see lots of signs about having to buy a LA Park permit to park anywhere. Just know this is NOT the case as long as you are only parking in the ski lift's parking lot. I noticed some people had bought day passes to park there. But they didn't really need to unless they planned on other stops throughout the day but the signs on the way up are very misleading to make you think you need one. But we checked with the staff upon arrival to their lot and they said they own their own lot. This was a relief that we didn't have to drive back down the mountain to try to get a pass.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Baldy Ski Area also viewed

Been to Mt. Baldy Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Baldy Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.