We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came here early Sunday morning because famous Phil's was not open yet...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Landing Cafe

Moss Landing Cafe
421 Moss Landing Rd, Moss Landing, CA 95039-9645
831-633-3355
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Came here early Sunday morning because famous Phil's was not open yet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

I was so in mood for seafood that I ordered fish and chips for breakfast , it was huge portion, large pieces, enjoyed rest of my packed to go meal later at night up in Shasta at our next stop and still great taste even reheated! Also the fried artichoke, cute homey place and packed , we got in early.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

Only open for dinner Fri and Sat nights and have never eaten breakfast or lunch. Dinner is always a treat. The chef owner always has great evening specials. Food and service top notch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Food was excellent and service too. Just a small place on Hwy 1. Only thing was that the prices where a couple dollars more than listed on the TripAdvisor Menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Fried Artichokes, Why Not?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Intrigued by the idea of fried artichokes we pulled up at this roadside cafe off highway one, just south of Moss Landing. Waled in, friendly greeting from the server, cafe was fairly full, most seemed to be regular customers, always a good sign. A portion of artichokes together with an oyster sandwich hit the spot.

If the cafe wasn't thousands of miles from home we'd be regular customers too.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than you'd expect; we'd go there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We drove up to Moss Landing for lunch on a Sunday. Oops. Lots of traffic. And very few places to eat actually on Highway One from Santa Cruz to Monterey, except for a couple of spots in Moss Landing, which is mid-way down the Central Coast along Monterey Bay. The Whole Enchilada was packed, so we drove around and found the Moss Landing Cafe. Sharon had the clam chowder -- I had a taste -- and we both liked the unique flavor (cilantro?) a lot, although there weren't many pieces of clams swimming up on the spoon. The fish and chips were good, the service quick and friendly. We liked it enough to go there again. Oh, and it's not far from the Moss Landing State Beach, where we walked off our lunch.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moss Landing Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moss Landing Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Landing Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.