We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Whole Enchilada

The Whole Enchilada
Highway 1 And Moss Landing Rd, Moss Landing, CA 95039
831-633-3038
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Watsonville, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Being a local, I've eaten here a couple of times, and both times have been the same ... decent food, poor service, so-so ambiance, and definitely over-priced. Today, we ate there and I had chicken enchiladas that were not bad. I asked for sour-cream, and then I remembered ... uh oh. Last time we ate there I asked for bread and was charged extra; same thing this time ... $2.50 for a scoop of sour-cream, and we were already paying $30.00 for our two enchilada orders (with no $8.00 margaritas!).

Paying that amount for a little scoop of sour-cream is ridiculous ... and consequently, we won't be back. I'm sure they will miss us. Ha ha! But if others feel the same, and IF the restaurant reads their reviews, perhaps something might change for the better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    54
    47
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was good Mexican - not the best I have had, but good. Staff are friendly, and casual atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
“Over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended on a website that suggested "road trip stops" down Hwy 1. The food was ok, the service wasn't great, and it was pricier than I thought it would be. The ambiance was sort-of charming, altho no views of the water. I was surprised it was highlighted as a Must-Stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mexican it is!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Halfway between Monterey and Santa Cruz is this outstanding place. Great atmosphere, good food, busy place. Always a great restaurant to go to with a bigger group of people!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Funky Mexican eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our lunch here--how wonderful to have deep fried artichokes and other Mexican delights right here near the growing fields of artichokes. The small garden outside has them in purple bloom as well. Right next door is a huge farmers market with the most amazing selection of fruits and vegetables. Just down the road is an area to view otters up close as well as kayak rentals and tour boats to see waterfowl along the coast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whole Enchilada also viewed

 

Been to The Whole Enchilada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whole Enchilada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.