We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Inn

Save Saved
You added Captain's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain's Inn
8122 Moss Landing Road, P.O. Box 520, Moss Landing, CA 95039   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Landing B&B and Inns
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Inn made even more pleasant by Donna. The beach setting and quaint cozy rooms were deluxe. I would definitely recommend staying here again.

For an extra bonus, try the nearby Phil's fish market. The food was amazing and they had a live band. Not to be missed to create a great overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    19
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
95
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Captain's Inn is quirky and fabulous. We had a room right on the water, and our bed was a vintage trailer - the lights even worked! The hotel is small and intimate. The owner is obviously a boat person - there are boats incorporated into the landscape and into some of the other rooms.
Donna, the receptionist and breakfast chef was new when we were there and was very friendly. Her breakfasts were the best we've had at a B and B. Sweet potato pancakes, homemade banana bread, "fiesta eggs", fresh fruit and great coffee and conversation every morning. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Captain's Inn. It was a wonderful mixture of decadence and wildlife viewing. Our first morning a red-shouldered hawk buzzed our window. A little later a white-tailed kite was kiting in front of the window and a harrier was cruising below. We saw at least 2 Say's phoebes, otters, seals, pelicans, shorebirds, sparrows, cormorants, loons and more from our window. Captain Yahn is very knowledgeable about local wildlife. There is a bird list just for the inn.
The 3 course breakfasts were wonderful, especially the sweet potato pancakes. The Innkeeper was very accommodating. Other reviewers mentioned time frames and rules, but she will work with you if she can.
We walked to 2 great restaurants: The Haute Enchilada and The Lemon Grass Thai restaurant (lots of vegetarian options.)
The beach and harbor are within walking distance. We had a great kayak trip up the slough. The boat motif is fun. The beds were comfortable and our room was quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second story of the boat house. I did not look into the other rooms but I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am all over the world and have seen it all. Historic house reminds me of the old homes I grew up in Marblehead, Massachusetts so don't expect the Dubai Crowne Plaza. And if you have ever been to Europe their hotel rooms are much smaller than American over the top rooms, so don't expect big rooms in an historic house. Stayed two nights in the Historic House, Captain's Quarters, small rooms, but super comfy and the restoration work by the owners show how much they love the house. Loved the fact that in the early evening we could come downstairs and sit by the fireplace in the living room and help ourselves to hot cocoa or tea. The last night we spent in the Boathouse, "Sail Away" room which faces the Salinas River, the marshes and the dunes and all I can say is WOW, what an amazing view of the birds and wildlife. My hats off to Yahn, the owner, as each room is so uniquely decorated with the hulls of boats use for the beds and a bathtub right next to one of the front windows so you can literally soak it all in. Also a sense of humor, as there was a toy catamaran in the tub! Yes, it's a little pricey, but I find California, especially in this whole area very expensive anyway. For a getaway and being able to walk out the door and have a great meal at Haute Enchilada or Moss's Landing Cafe and take a walk on the beach without having to drive was worth its weight in gold.
Yes, there are some house rules, about keeping the front door locked in the Historic Inn, which faces the street, and going in and out of the back door, but for safety I can certainly understand it, being a home owner. Captain's Inn has this great little observation deck next to the Boathouse and marshes which is fantastic for taking photos, especially at sunset.
Breakfast is indeed served between 8:30am-9:30am, but you can help yourself to coffee and tea early in the morning. We were there for three nights and each morning, Donna, the innkeeper, served us a great breakfast. She even packed us a "to go" breakfast brown bag for our drive back up to catch our flight out of the San Francisco airport. Cookies in the late afternoon each day in your room, these little attention to details are impressive. One night we had take out food, and Donna brought over a child's sand bucket filled with plates, cups, silverware and other little goodies. Just loved it.
Rarely do I meet someone who is genuine and gracious in our society nowadays. Donna, the new innkeeper is a KEEPER!!!! Originally from Virginia, her southern manners and hospitality and kindness is genuine. She had only come on board at the Captain's Inn four days before we got there, and I was impressed, because it is not easy to run a bed and breakfast and try to accommodate everyone's needs and learn the nuisances of a new place. Donna makes you feel at home immediately and gives warmth to the place. It takes a certain type of person to run a really good B&B, and she has it. It is one of the major reasons I am giving it an excellent rating is because of Donna. And why we would come back.
Lastly, for anyone who wants a romantic getaway, book one of the rooms on the second floor of the Boathouse, you will not be disappointed. We stayed in the "Sail Away" room and we are boaties so this was a great treat for us. Loved the fact that you can walk out the door and down the road and have a wonderful meal, check out the birds and wildlife and go for a walk on the beach. Everybody in town, and it is an eclectic little place, is warm and friendly, very laid back. And for those birders out there, my husband, was in heaven, with all the different species of birds he saw at Moss's Landing.
For those people reading this review, this is the first time I have ever written a review, so I hope it helps. Yes, Route One, is close and so is the power plant up the road, but in the evenings things quiet down with the cars and I don't go psycho over stuff like that because California has always had too many cars anyway. I just block it out and enjoy the birds, wildlife and walking on the beach and the people who live there and who we met at the inn. We live in northern Wisconsin, so this was a great escape for us during the bitter cold winter months. Great food, great views, great innkeeper, quirky little hamlet, it's all good. Lesley and Mike B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for a pleasant, comfortable B&B experience pass on Captain's Inn. Not only are the rooms marginal (even the larger rooms which block the view of the historic building...where they expect guests to shower in a bathtub located in your bedroom) or unreasonably small (Harbor Master), but the people who run the place are less than professional. When checking in the number of rules are overwhelming, as if one is coming to trash the place and must be kept under control rather than welcoming guests who are paying top dollar for little return.
Part of the rules include breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30, not before, not after and if one wants coffee or tea before that, s/he needs to fend for themselves. On the morning of our stay, at about 8:45 when it was clear no one was showing up to make breakfast, I called "management" who gruffly told me breakfast was not served until 8:30, when I pointed out the time, he said he would be right there (I had apparently waken him). After another 10 minutes or so, he finally showed up blaming his part time cook and saying he would start making breakfast for us at that point. Well, we were all (we had three rooms) planning to leave after an 8:30 breakfast so it was not possible to wait another hour or so to have breakfast cooked/eaten.
The rooms are already overpriced and the "cooked" breakfast was a large part of why we decided to stay here - rather than offer us a refund for the portion of our room that included breakfast, even after we contacted their website before posting this review, the just blamed the "help."
Continue on to Monterey or another location - you will be MUCH happier.

Room Tip: Try another accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptWife, Owner at Captain's Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
First, thank you for choosing and staying at the Captain’s Inn. We’re sorry that we didn’t have an opportunity to respond to you in person and doubly sorry that you were so very disappointed. Your comments have been taken to heart.
Unfortunately, your visit coincided with a sudden and serious family illness – an extraordinary situation. In ten years, we have never before been late serving breakfast . We did apologize in person to you and your party and immediately arranged with Chef Mark at nearby (1/4 mile) Moss Landing Café to have you and the members of your party enjoy breakfast there, gratis of course.
Of the six waterfront rooms in the “Boathouse,” which is a building separate from the historic house, three rooms have oversized “soaking tubs,” are 28” deep – large enough for two adults – and equipped with a retractable shower hose. The other three rooms have double-head showers. One member of your party specifically requested a room with a soaking tub. Nothing was said to the contrary at check-in nor when the guest was given a tour of the room, otherwise, we could have moved her to a room with a shower instead.
In the historic (1906) house, are four rooms, one on the main floor, and three on the second floor, all approximately the same size but for their bathrooms. The room you mentioned, Harbor Master, like the other rooms, has a queen size bed, a small desk, an antique wardrobe, and a reading chair. The bathroom in Harbor Master is unusually small because of restrictions in the renovation of historic buildings; however, we make its small size very clear on our website and our staff knows well to alert guests who call us for a reservation. The discounted rate for the Harbor Master room is because of the small bathroom. Again, had we known about your concern at check-in on during your stay here, we could have moved you to either of the other two upstairs room with bath and tub combinations. They were both available.
A full description of each room and bath is on our website, is reviewed with any guest who inquires by phone, and is reiterated in the confirmation materials each guest receives by mail. It is unfortunate that we didn’t have the opportunity to remedy the situation then.
We do hope you’ll reconsider Captain’s Inn in the future and encourage you to redeem the $50 “breakfast credit” given to each of your party members toward a room, or rooms, of your preference the next time. Try anchoring here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Captain's Inn is a very special place to us, we have stayed here at least 4 times in the last ten years. And we live only about 30 miles away in Santa Cruz! So to spend the money when we could as easily just stay at home is an extra commendation. We are an older couple and really enjoy going down to eat and enjoy the music at Phil's Fish Market nearby, and this means in the dark months of the year we don't have to worry about dense fog or rain driving home. Seeing a different set of 4 walls from our own, with the great atmosphere the Inn has, is a real treat. The history, the decor, the delicious breakfast, the garden, the deck and the wildlife views are just lovely.
We have stayed in several different rooms over the years; we had an amazing boathouse room the first time and seeing the River light up at dawn through the picture windows was an unforgettable experience. But we found the real boat bed frame a bit difficult of negotiate. So the next time we tried the historic building. We had an upstairs room once, and the first floor First Mate room another time. We have decided that the First Mate is our absolute favorite. It is small but the bed is large and comfortable, and the best thing is, it adjoins right to the living room or "lobby" full of cozy furniture and a cheering fireplace and lots of books and information, so we feel like we are getting two rooms.
On this most recent trip the Inn was decorated for Halloween with the most artistic and novel pumpkins and gourds of all shapes and colors that I have ever seen, they were all over the place inside and out, a real visual treat. I learned that the innkeeper decorates for Christmas too, I think we will have to go check it out during that season also!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our hearts sunk as we drove into the town and saw the massive power plant dominating the landscape. The tiny town of Moss Landing would be OK ish if it were not for the power plant overshadowing the whole place.
The first night we opened the window to let some "fresh air" in but after a few hours were so overwhelmed with the fumes that we had to close the window and cook.
The owner is hospitable and works hard at being a good hostess, though we thought certain aspects were stingy. Charging for water e.g. Lots and lots of rules; a rather tyrannical style of management we felt, though guests appeared to be very happy.
The walls are thin and I felt sorry for the people next door to us as we are light sleepers and are up and down a bit through the night. Our room had an interleading door and we could hear every sound next door.
Comfy bed. Breakfast to US tastes but not others.
All in all overpriced for the awful location. I feel sorry for the owners as they are really trying their very best and are professional. If you aren't use to clean air you may not have a problem, but for those who are more particular, you would do well to drive on to Monterey.

Room Tip: The front building appears to have more substantial rooms and great water views. We were unfortunate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Inn

Address: 8122 Moss Landing Road, P.O. Box 520, Moss Landing, CA 95039
Location: United States > California > Moss Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Hotel Moss Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.