We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother--read reviews carefully” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Inn to your Saves list
Captain's Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   8122 Moss Landing Road, P.O. Box 520, Moss Landing, CA 95039   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Landing B&B and Inns
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't bother--read reviews carefully”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for a pleasant, comfortable B&B experience pass on Captain's Inn. Not only are the rooms marginal (even the larger rooms which block the view of the historic building...where they expect guests to shower in a bathtub located in your bedroom) or unreasonably small (Harbor Master), but the people who run the place are less than professional. When checking in the number of rules are overwhelming, as if one is coming to trash the place and must be kept under control rather than welcoming guests who are paying top dollar for little return.
Part of the rules include breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30, not before, not after and if one wants coffee or tea before that, s/he needs to fend for themselves. On the morning of our stay, at about 8:45 when it was clear no one was showing up to make breakfast, I called "management" who gruffly told me breakfast was not served until 8:30, when I pointed out the time, he said he would be right there (I had apparently waken him). After another 10 minutes or so, he finally showed up blaming his part time cook and saying he would start making breakfast for us at that point. Well, we were all (we had three rooms) planning to leave after an 8:30 breakfast so it was not possible to wait another hour or so to have breakfast cooked/eaten.
The rooms are already overpriced and the "cooked" breakfast was a large part of why we decided to stay here - rather than offer us a refund for the portion of our room that included breakfast, even after we contacted their website before posting this review, the just blamed the "help."
Continue on to Monterey or another location - you will be MUCH happier.

Room Tip: Try another accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptWife, Owner at Captain's Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
First, thank you for choosing and staying at the Captain’s Inn. We’re sorry that we didn’t have an opportunity to respond to you in person and doubly sorry that you were so very disappointed. Your comments have been taken to heart.
Unfortunately, your visit coincided with a sudden and serious family illness – an extraordinary situation. In ten years, we have never before been late serving breakfast . We did apologize in person to you and your party and immediately arranged with Chef Mark at nearby (1/4 mile) Moss Landing Café to have you and the members of your party enjoy breakfast there, gratis of course.
Of the six waterfront rooms in the “Boathouse,” which is a building separate from the historic house, three rooms have oversized “soaking tubs,” are 28” deep – large enough for two adults – and equipped with a retractable shower hose. The other three rooms have double-head showers. One member of your party specifically requested a room with a soaking tub. Nothing was said to the contrary at check-in nor when the guest was given a tour of the room, otherwise, we could have moved her to a room with a shower instead.
In the historic (1906) house, are four rooms, one on the main floor, and three on the second floor, all approximately the same size but for their bathrooms. The room you mentioned, Harbor Master, like the other rooms, has a queen size bed, a small desk, an antique wardrobe, and a reading chair. The bathroom in Harbor Master is unusually small because of restrictions in the renovation of historic buildings; however, we make its small size very clear on our website and our staff knows well to alert guests who call us for a reservation. The discounted rate for the Harbor Master room is because of the small bathroom. Again, had we known about your concern at check-in on during your stay here, we could have moved you to either of the other two upstairs room with bath and tub combinations. They were both available.
A full description of each room and bath is on our website, is reviewed with any guest who inquires by phone, and is reiterated in the confirmation materials each guest receives by mail. It is unfortunate that we didn’t have the opportunity to remedy the situation then.
We do hope you’ll reconsider Captain’s Inn in the future and encourage you to redeem the $50 “breakfast credit” given to each of your party members toward a room, or rooms, of your preference the next time. Try anchoring here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
98
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
santa cruz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Captain's Inn is a very special place to us, we have stayed here at least 4 times in the last ten years. And we live only about 30 miles away in Santa Cruz! So to spend the money when we could as easily just stay at home is an extra commendation. We are an older couple and really enjoy going down to eat and enjoy the music at Phil's Fish Market nearby, and this means in the dark months of the year we don't have to worry about dense fog or rain driving home. Seeing a different set of 4 walls from our own, with the great atmosphere the Inn has, is a real treat. The history, the decor, the delicious breakfast, the garden, the deck and the wildlife views are just lovely.
We have stayed in several different rooms over the years; we had an amazing boathouse room the first time and seeing the River light up at dawn through the picture windows was an unforgettable experience. But we found the real boat bed frame a bit difficult of negotiate. So the next time we tried the historic building. We had an upstairs room once, and the first floor First Mate room another time. We have decided that the First Mate is our absolute favorite. It is small but the bed is large and comfortable, and the best thing is, it adjoins right to the living room or "lobby" full of cozy furniture and a cheering fireplace and lots of books and information, so we feel like we are getting two rooms.
On this most recent trip the Inn was decorated for Halloween with the most artistic and novel pumpkins and gourds of all shapes and colors that I have ever seen, they were all over the place inside and out, a real visual treat. I learned that the innkeeper decorates for Christmas too, I think we will have to go check it out during that season also!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our hearts sunk as we drove into the town and saw the massive power plant dominating the landscape. The tiny town of Moss Landing would be OK ish if it were not for the power plant overshadowing the whole place.
The first night we opened the window to let some "fresh air" in but after a few hours were so overwhelmed with the fumes that we had to close the window and cook.
The owner is hospitable and works hard at being a good hostess, though we thought certain aspects were stingy. Charging for water e.g. Lots and lots of rules; a rather tyrannical style of management we felt, though guests appeared to be very happy.
The walls are thin and I felt sorry for the people next door to us as we are light sleepers and are up and down a bit through the night. Our room had an interleading door and we could hear every sound next door.
Comfy bed. Breakfast to US tastes but not others.
All in all overpriced for the awful location. I feel sorry for the owners as they are really trying their very best and are professional. If you aren't use to clean air you may not have a problem, but for those who are more particular, you would do well to drive on to Monterey.

Room Tip: The front building appears to have more substantial rooms and great water views. We were unfortunate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We took a chance staying in Moss Landing ( usually stay closer to Cannery Row) because we wanted to try the Captain's Inn and we were absolutely delighted. Our room was charmingly decorated with a marine theme and had floor to ceiling windows overlooking Elk Horn Slough. So many places promise an extraordinary water front view but few deliver. Captain's Inn is beyond extraordinary. At night we listened to the ocean (just over a sand dune, less than 10 minutes leisurely walk) .There is an elevated deck if you want to relax outdoors and watch the birdlife and marine mammals on the slough. Melanie and Yohn are perfect hosts; they are friendly and helpful in suggesting activities based on guests' interests. The breakfasts are multicourse; berry smoothies, fresh fruit, warm home made pastries, and finally a hot cooked main course. All served in a charming dining room. Rooms have books for birdwatchers and binoculars for viewing wildlife on the slough. Warm cookies are delivered to your room each afternoon. Don't miss the Elk Horn Slough Safari boat trip while you're there; you'll see more otters,seals and bird life than anywhere on the Bay. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing.A variety of good restaurants are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with a view of Elk Horn Slough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I can only repeat what others have said. We had a wonderful stay. The beautiful room, the large windows, the birds in and on the river, the provided binoculars, the delicious breakfast, This is a great place to stay. My wife and I spent 2 nights here and were totally impressed. It is a bit expensive, but, truely, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

B&B experiences can be hit and miss, so I had low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised. Our group had just walked 14 miles and the innkeeper was ready with band aids and ice packs. The room was literally spotless. The nautical theme was cute. The bed sheets were other worldly. The view of the estuary was lovely, especially with the binoculars provided. . Loved the fireplace in the room. Freshly brewed coffee is available at dawn. Melanie prepared a tasty breakfast of fruit, freshly baked scones, eggs, and sausage. It is clear that the proprietors take great pride in their oasis in Moss Landing!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Your first impressions arriving into Moss landing is “OMG” what have I done here!! Basically a good first impression!! The first thing you notice is the two very large chimneys that shadow the small town. The plant attached to those chimneys is blight on the landscape and not something picture postcards are made of.
Arriving at the Captains Inn does nothing to improve that first impression. Outside impressions are hardly staggering. The frost, “direct” approach by the owner doesn't help. We were greeted with the rules of you don’t do this and you don’t do that. Probably would have left there if we hadn’t already paid.
Our room was the size of a shoebox, others may have been bigger. The bathroom door couldn’t open due it hitting the sink. A cat couldn't even get into it let a long swing one.
The common area was spacious and warm with lots of sea faring bits and pieces around. One the up, the sleep was quiet, probably more to good luck the good management as our room had an old adjoining door. Fortunately no one was staying next door that night.
The breakfast was good but only available between 8.30 and 9.30. Not a minute before or after. Just too inflexible for travelers needs. We would have left much earlier.
The Captains Inn is over priced and miles from anywhere. To sum up I recommend you look harder for a better location and value for money.

Room Tip: Up stairs as the floors are wooden but not the small room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptWife, Owner at Captain's Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about the common area and breakfast, and I am pleased you had a quiet sleep. While the room has an adjoining door (historical), we did soundproof it for our guests. Besides the cooked breakfast time, guests can request an early bag to go breakfast, and we keep fruit and pastries with coffee for guests who wish to sleep past. The queen bed room you stayed in is priced the least expensive at the inn because of its size and tiny bath. Both the website and phone staff alert guests that this bathroom is small in advance, it is small mostly due to the nature of renovating a historical house. Other rooms are larger and other rooms have larger baths. When we introduce you to our home we do share the ammenties you can access in the house plus a few safety items, because guest safety is important to us. As for the funky character of Moss Landing, we agree it is a funky, working fishing village with a natural gas steam electric plant, but is also has beautiful beaches, serene wetlands, and stunning wildlife. Most guests appreciate the town for what it is and many others return more than once. Our apologizes for not meeting your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Inn

Address: 8122 Moss Landing Road, P.O. Box 520, Moss Landing, CA 95039
Location: United States > California > Moss Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Hotel Moss Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.