We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghostly nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant

Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant
140 Beach Way, Moss Beach, CA 94038-9737
650-728-5595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Moss Beach
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Street
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ghostly nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We been there during a gray lunch on the weekend, very much matching the ghostly atmosphere of the restaurant. Beside the stunning view over the ocean (with the -remote- chance to see whales passing by), the food was also real tasty. The sea food was fresh and properly prepared, without any overdoing.
I'd surely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    87
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant a great history,ghosts,a wonderful views of the California coast. We had lunch what a wonderful meal we ordered about eight or ten small dishes way to much for the four but they all sounded so good. We eat most of our order everything was more than good. Service was super,helpful,and friendly. We will be stopping in again. And that view

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is worth the trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I were first told about The Moss Beach Distillery about 15 years ago by the concierge at a Hyatt in Burlingame, CA. He promised it was worth the 45 minute drive and he was SOOO right!. We love this place and try to make it every time we visit San Francisco or Napa. We have been able to make it back at least 5 times and have loved every visit. During our last visit, we took three other couples and they left feeling the same way.

The restaurant is tucked away about a mile of the highway and sits right on the coast. It has a dinning room surrounded by bay windows, a bar and one of the best ocean front patios you will find. Sure, the inside is a little outdated but that is part of the character and charm with the distillery. The food and service is VERY good and the atmosphere is unbeatable.

I highly recommend going during the daylight hours. If you go at night, you miss the view, the sunset, hanging out on the balcony, watching seals play in the cove just below, etc... And plan to stay a while. I think you will like it much better if you go about an hour before your reservation and have a couple glasses of wine while sitting on the deck. There is also a beautiful trail along the coast that you can enjoy if you have the time.

It is worth the drive!!! and I hope you enjoy it as much as we have.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

On the positive side, this is a wonderful location, with fire pits on the patio in the evenings. The ghost stories add to the charm.

Unfortunately, the place is in need of major refurbishment, dirty carpets, faded paintwork, not a lot of ambiance.

The food is best described as average. Have been three times, because of the views, but my opinion on the food hasn't changed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with lovely patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Booked here Easter Sunday for a special birthday meal and we had a real treat. Welcoming patio and a bar downstairs meant we were welcome to wait until our table was ready. There was a fire outside and benches with blankets with views over the ocean. Our food was delicious - set brunch menu - all enjoyed their meals. The restaurant was packed out but we noticed that people were eating outside on the patio and in the downstairs bar area so they do try to accommodate people if there are no tables free in the restaurant. Glad we stopped off here on our way to Carmel as it was a memorable lunch suitable for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Beach Distillery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.