We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet Inn in a secluded setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Save Saved
You added Seal Cove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Seal Cove Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038   |  
Hotel amenities
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet Inn in a secluded setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Seal Cove Inn, like most of the Four Sisters chain of Inns, is a total delight. We were greeted graciously by a charming woman who was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious, and tastefully furnished. The wood burning fireplace was and added plus, giving the room a nice ambiance that gave the room a romantic glow. The large, well equipped bath was an added pleasure.

The grounds at this Inn are a special delight, with lots of local birds and bunnies coming out to be fed in the morning within easy view of the breakfast room. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choices and enough food placed out on a large counter to allow anyone to find something they would like to eat. I was surprised by the egg dish, a warm and fragrant frittata whose savory richness really hit the spot with me. Add a croissant and some fresh fruit and I was a happy camper!

My wife especially likes this Inn, located just a few steps from the Pacific Ocean snuggled into a grove of trees. It's very near the charming town of Half Moon Bay, which has several wonderful restaurants including Flavor, a new place with simply spectacular food, and the venerable Pasta Moon, a long time favorite which never disappoints.

Seal Cove Inn is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Seal Cove Inn offers a lovely room on the first floor set up for travels who are physically challeng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    48
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
155
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a beautiful place, inside and out.
My favorite parts was the fireplace in the room with cozy chairs to enjoy the Good Wood locally produced.
The best of both Bed & Breakfast and Inn convenience.
Comfy bed, patio that overlooked the beautiful gardens and towel warmers divine!
A short walk to the ocean, yet heard with the patio door open.
The driveway invites you in with the trees arched and good cookies to nibble at night.
Ray cooks up an amazing breakfast with rosemary hashbrowns and artichoke Quiche.
All Good I am grateful for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was so fantastic! I honestly couldn't believe how wonderful it was. The location was beautiful and as an employee of another for sister inns property it was nice to experience another spectacular inn. I will definitely be recommending our guests to you. That said, the rooms were gorgeous and spacious and bright but what made the experience was the fabulous service. The food was delicious and both the staff members I had the pleasure of meeting, were knowledgable and all requests were met immediately. Thank you so much Dana for the lovely stay, it was a fantastic get away/ birthday celebration for my grandmother.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's during our 11 years of married life and we have found none better than the Four Sisters Inns. This was not our first trip to the Seal Cove Inn and definitely will not be our last. It has a fabulous location-you can walk to the shore, drive a very short distance to Half Moon Bay, and take Hwy 1 to SF and save yourself a stuck-in-traffic headache.
Every member of the staff obviously takes their cues from Dana, the manager, who is a professional in every sense of the word. We have experienced unpleasant stays at B&B's where management has changed and so has the quality of customer service. Dana has been there quite a while and puts her customers first. This visit, the Inn was decorated beautifully for the holidays and we enjoyed sitting in the dining and living room areas watching the birds and bunnies.
We encountered very helpful front desk personnel who suggested an excellent new-to-us restaurant, Flavor, which is very close to the Inn where we had a great time. This visit we stayed downstairs in one of the garden rooms which we found as comfortable, warm and inviting as the upstairs rooms we've enjoyed in the past.
Please keep up the good work Dana and Four Sisters Inns-we love you and we refer everyone we know who wants a superior B&B experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lovely building for an Inn and as understood it, was custom built for a B and B - so no wonder! Very open, airy, spacious and pleasant public areas and rooms too. Perhaps the bathrooms could be a little more luxurious to match the surroundings, but who cares, they were clean and even had heated towel rails - a very nice touch. The breakfast was pretty good and the tea, coffee and hot chocolate etc. was always on offer. The bottle of wine in the room was a really nice touch too as well as the two log bundles they give you for the fire. The front desk clerk was charming and very helpful (the afternoon person was much more friendly than the one the next day however). Our room was downstairs and closest to the front desk but we did not hear anything and were not disturbed at all by others. The afternoon tea was nice as well and delicious! They do the whole thing very well here, right down the "thank you for staying with us" post card that was waiting for us when we returned. I would certainly stop here again on a drive down or up the coast.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and lovely but maybe ask for an upstairs room for the private balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We Stayed one night in an upstairs room with a fireplace. The employees were excellent. The building sits back from the road and is quite and relaxing, with a short walk to the shoreline. Most everything else nearby (other than the nearby Distillery) requires a drive, but the drives in the area are worth it. Our room (and the whole building) was very clean, although our particular room smelled from the stale fireplace smoke. I probably would choose a room without a fireplace in the future. The room had a distant view of the ocean and a nice garden in the back and was very private. A calm ocean could be heard in the distance. We selected the package with a dinner at the Distillery, but the Distillery closed early that night and our $50 certificate was refunded.Breakfast was good, with blueberry pancakes, Quiche, assorted fruits and yogart.

Room Tip: Might want to consider the lower rooms without a fireplace if the smell bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A twist in itinerary brought me here. Upon driving in, the sight of this beautiful inn unfolds beneath a canopy of Cedar that is simply breathtaking. The grounds are stuning local flora with a path to the beach that steeps you in peacefulness and welcome solitude from the pace we normally live. The staff is quietly very attentive, discreet yet friendly, very knowledgeable about the local area, favorite dining spots and more. The rooms are very spacious, luxurious, with all you could possibly want for a romantic get away. A stay here with a loved one is rejuvinating. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 23 miles south of San Francisco, this serene hideaway is spectacularly set amongst a meadow of wildflowers and bordered by towering cypress trees. The inn looks out to acres of county park and the ocean beyond: an oasis where you can enjoy secluded beaches, watch frolicking seals, and follow the tree-lined path tracing the windswept Half Moon Bay ocean bluffs. The inn also features an executive board room for small meetings up to 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seal Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.