We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and tranquility with quality accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Save Saved
You added Seal Cove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility with quality accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We only stayed one night whilst awaiting our flight from San Fransisco International Airport we had chosen this hotel to end our trip after visiting Yosemite and wanting to stay in easy driving distance of the airport. This hotel was perfect we arrived just before 5 and were treated to afternoon snacks which were both extensive and perfect for our arrival. We had chosen a garden view room and the room was both spacious and very comfortable, top class hotel and breakfast was included which got us off to a good strt in the morning.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms with access out onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    49
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
160
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The location is quiet and the inn is lovely. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. You get the feeling you are in someone's home where you are welcome but given your privacy. You have the opportunity to meet other guests over breakfast or in the evenings in the comfortable and cozy living area. There is a nice garden area that you can stroll around. It was delightful and restful. Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely B&B. Breakfast was superb with quiche one day/strata the next, along with fruit, pastries, cereal, etc. Coffee was wonderful. Rooms were large, quiet with a balcony overlooking a flower garden. Bunnies and birds galore. Lovely hiking trail directly behind the Inn covered in Cypress trees.

Room Tip: Balcony room backing up to forest and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Seal Cove Inn is one of the 4 Sister's Inns. We have stayed in 5 and they all have a different feel and surroundings. This inn is a lovely French country design with gardens you can meander through or sit on provided Adirondack type chairs and watch for the little bunnies and quail that come wandering out from under the bushes in search of seed that the owners provide. The rooms are nice, well appointed, each with French doors that open out to a private balcony or patio area. It's very quiet and peaceful. A burlap bag of wood chips are provided each day for burning in the real fireplace. Upon arriving one of the staff will present you with a bottle of wine and give you a quick little tour of your room. Be sure and inquire about operating the tub/shower as it took us some time to figure out how to get water to the shower nozzle. The beds are comfortable and the pillows were better than most pillows that are provided at B&Bs. They offer hors d'oeuvres at 5 PM along with a nice hot breakfast with many delicious fresh fruits, breads and cereals at 8:30 every morning. The staff is friendly but unless you engage them in conversation, they go about their daily work and keep to themselves. They are there for you if you need them and will offer suggestions for eating and taking walks along the many trails just outside the front door to the inn. Be sure and take the walk along the trail that leads to the split-rail fence. Take this walk for approximately half a mile and you will find an area where you can look over the cliff, about 200 feet straight down, and see all the elephant seals basking in the sun. Be sure and take your camera. We found the restaurants right on the beach very expensive and crowded. The 3 most popular ones are The Miramar, the Moss Beach Distillery and Sam's Chowder House. If it's the weekend, be prepared to wait and then be prepared to pay a lot. On the recommendation of one of the inns staff people, we went into Half Moon Bay and there's a restaurant on Main Street called, It's Italian. It was wonderful with great service and ambiance and the food was exceptionally good.
I would recommend Seal Cove Inn to anyone that enjoys gardens, relaxation and a great experience. The only negative I could find was the inn really needs to wash their windows as both inside and out needed attention.

Room Tip: If you stay in a main floor room you might hear the people above you, especially if they have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickman, CA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My mom, sister, and I celebrated a birthday here 6/29-6/30. Wow, we were incredibly impressed! When we arrived the gal checking us in was so helpful and friendly. As soon as we had settled in our room, the evening appetizers were being served...delicious! Then we flipped through the restaurant binder and found a place for dinner. When we returned, our beds were turned down, with chocolate on our pillows, wine chilling, and wood ready to burn in the fireplace. Everything was so wonderful. The next morning we awoke to bunnies and quail outside our slider in the garden. I would go back in a heartbeat! The only thing I can think of that could be different is that they don't serve breakfast, which was scrumptious, until 8:30 am and we are early risers. Other than that, it was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor for views and easy access to the garden paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A beautiful, comfortable inn close to San Francisco. The charming town of Half Moon Bay is nearby with good restaurants. The breakfast was delicious, staff were very courteous and helpful and the rooms (this was our second visit) are all well appointed. The gardens are a joy and the abundant wildlife delightful.

Room Tip: Room 1 opens onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A very quaint B&B just a little north of Half Moon Bay. Walking distance to ocean and beach. Beautiful garden, excellent breakfast, home made cookies in the afternoon, and wood burning fireplace. What a lovely place. Would go back again anytime. Staff exceptional friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 23 miles south of San Francisco, this serene hideaway is spectacularly set amongst a meadow of wildflowers and bordered by towering cypress trees. The inn looks out to acres of county park and the ocean beyond: an oasis where you can enjoy secluded beaches, watch frolicking seals, and follow the tree-lined path tracing the windswept Half Moon Bay ocean bluffs. The inn also features an executive board room for small meetings up to 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seal Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.