We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giancarlo's

Giancarlo's
810 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2332
805-772-9200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 80 Restaurants in Morro Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I treated myself and three friends to dinner here after I found an excellent coupon deal, We were pleasantly surprised by the wide variety and the server's suggestions. The appetizer's were incredible and the specials, too, Nice wine selection and good service. Will definitely take others back for other special occasions. Really nice surprise in the Central Coast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was a good experience in a well established restaurant. It has been rated as the second best in Morro Bay, and while we did not test all the other possibilities, that rating is probably accurate. The food was well prepared, fresh and very tasty. The atmosphere was average and the service, above average. For someone looking for a good meal at a very reasonable price, I would recommend this restaurant, but nothing really stands out as being exceptional.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Change of Mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I went to celebrate our 48 wedding anniversary and had one of the best meals of our life. The Short Ribs of Beef ravioli were so tasty and the sauce even better. The fish dish my wife had was cooked to perfection. This meal was on their coupon and the service and the bottle of house wine that came with show no cutting of quality, since it was a deal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, owners and staff make you feel at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We will definitely be back. The menu had a huge selection of Italian dishes, pastas, meats and seafood. The staff and owners were so friendly, it made me feel like we were having dinner at their house. My seafood entree was melt-in-your mouth delicious. I liked the wine tasting sampler option that is about the same cost as a glass of wine, and you get 3 generous-portioned tastes of different wines that paired nicely with our dishes. We live in SLO, and this experience was worth the drive to Morro Bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Agree, it was late on a quiet night, but ONE waiter to handle all the tables didn't cut it.

The food, however, especially the steamers, was EXCELLENT.

Papardelle: very nice.

Good, eclectic wine list.

Odd, no conventional sparkling water brands.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giancarlo's also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Giancarlo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giancarlo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.