We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth waiting for a table” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant

Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant
1245 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2041
805-772-8100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 restaurants in Morro Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Lichfield
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a very busy 'fish & chips' style restaurant which seemed to be very popular with the locals. When we arrived it was full but the menu sounded good so we waited 30 minutes for a table to come free.
It's located right on the dockside (I guess the name gives it away) so fresh fish is guaranteed and it was extremely good so I can see why there was a queue outside. Service was also quick and cheerful.
The wine list was short but offered a reasonable choice at a good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    132
    85
    21
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lihue, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice, friendly atmosphere & workers. Very pleasant. The food was tasty, had the clam chowder bowl and a salad (was not very hungry), but it was great. Others at the table had seafood, and the comments were very good. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dockside Too- oh the oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you love oysters, this is the place for you!
My friend and I saw the sign that said the oysters were 'swimming' in garlic butter. I try to be healthy but... after wine tasting all day, how could i resist a grilled oyster 'swimming' in garlic butter?! and I'm so glad i couldnt resist because it was amazing.
The raw oysters are also well worth the trip. All the oysters come from the bay, and they are usually quite big! I've been here a few times and there is usually some live music.
On a great day, you can watch the sunset on the rock with the tide just starting to go out, listening to good music, eating a mouthwatering oyster (with our without garlic butter) and a cold beer- this is literally my heaven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great prices and fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had dinner at Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant on our second night in Morro Bay. The service was great and the food very good. The fish & chips were tasty. I can recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dog-gone Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is a big fave because as locals, we love good seafood, the ocean view, and we have Jake, a German Short-Hair Pointer, who loves this place! Since the restaurant is on the dock next to the unloading dock for the fish boats, the fish is so fresh it seems they caught it just before your order! Get the fish and chips and maybe a small clam chowder - wash it down with a cold draft beer - I promise you'll be as happy as a clam! We brought out-of-town friends this weekend with our dogs and they loved the food, great outdoor music, and the dog-friendliness -- complete with free dog biscuits and water bowls. And, of course, the gorgeous view of the harbor and Morro Rock is free!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.