We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're over 60, fine if you're not...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Suites to your Saves list
Ascot Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great if you're over 60, fine if you're not...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

At first I thought we had accidentally wandered into a residential home for older people. The chintzy decor and cheesy atmosphere gave us many giggles. This is not a hip hotel! However, having got over that, we enjoyed the big spa bath (with window into the bedroom), the large bed and the convenient location: great for wandering down to the restaurants and bars on the Embarcadero. Breakfast was free: juice, coffee, eggs, make-your-own waffles etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    114
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
67
196
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is wonderful!! The awesome room, concierge service and an amazing staff member named Colleen. There is a complimentary wine hour in the evening , breakfast in the morning, they made dinner reservations at an amazing restaurant. The room was beautiful with jacuzzi tub, fireplace with a beautiful view of Morro Rock and the harbor. A nice bonus was the rooftop garden!! Sssh don't tell anyone, it's our secret.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

After being on the road for 2 days we arrived here and felt very relaxed soon. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the turret corner. It had a gas fireplace, a view of the harbor, seating area, and a large tub/shower. Our king bed was a four poster that had a step stool to help get up into it....and also, more importantly, very comfortable. Parking was available in a covered garage. It is located across the street from the visitor's center and a block from the stairway to the embarcadero. Be sure to drive or walk out to the Morro Rock. The only problem we had was the hot water would run out sporadically but not often.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

the room was great, overall treatment was fine. view wonderful. disappointing that a personal item, (a Samsung Notebook) was removed from our room and the results have been at best , disappointing. Upon realizing that the item was missing, the staff was at best half baked and uninterested. They were not helpful even after pleading with them. They would not return phone calls. Even one last visit prior to our leaving the area they had to be asked three times to check the lost and found. This has been reported to the local police, I would say : do not leave anything in your room that you don't want to see be taken. What else can I say. I don't want to accuse anyone but the item was in my luggage when I got there, missing after two nights.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel has nice large rooms, decorated like something from Murder She Wrote era, then again Morro Bay is almost kinda like a Cabbot Cove. We stayed here on a Monday and after travelling around the town, checking out around 6 or 7 other hotels first we happened upon this little gem. The hotel had everything we needed, plus a few extras, fridge, fireplace, four-poster bed, big tub (with a strange window that looks back into the bedroom), free wifi, breakfast (while it was only okay) and cable tv. Visited the bars around the town and the locals are very friendly and up for chats and pints. Met some very nice people there. All in all while the Ascot suites aren't perfect they do try very hard to be better. Morro bay is very small and this hotel, like most hotels in the town, within walking distance of everything.

Could be fun for a kinda retro style romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Other reviews suggest some rooms have noisy A/C outside the windows, so ask first if mild noise keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Why is this called Ascend? Should be called Descend, there is no pool or gym or hottub and no it's not on the water. The breakfast is not even as good as a Comfort Inn. The rooftop garden/deck has a nice view of urban decay and trash.
The interior as others have mentioned is dated to about 1988 and done by a grandmother.
Don't bother with their free wine in the afternoon it's cheap and awful .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Perfectly located for walking around Morro Bay harbor. Just two blocks from the main strip you can easily get to where you want to go without a car. The free wine tasting and breakfast were both great and made staying there a plus. The decor of the room is a bit outdated, but that really is our only complaint. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms next to employee only areas if you don't want an early wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Suites

Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ascot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.