We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Suites to your Saves list
Ascot Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Poorly maintained-noisy running toilet, moldy window sills. Could hear neighbors walking/talking through ceiling/walls. Positive-decor is retro 2000's, windows open for ventilation, basic breakfast, covered parking, close to tourist area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    120
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
202
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked through Priceline at a great rate! We were so happy this hotel is waking distance to the water as well as many restaurants. Free breakfast, clean rooms with a view of the ocean and a roof top area. We even checked out a DVD in the evening after walking to dinner. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending activities. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I had never been to Morro Bay and I wanted to find a nice place that was somewhat close to shopping areas and to the water. When I found this lovely place on the website at work...I looked into everything about the place and researched the places that would be nearby for walking too. Everything is very close to Ascot Suites.

This is absolutely a wonderful find! We couldn't of been happier with the place....from the front desk staff to the housekeepers. What a wonderful staff! Our room was just beautiful! The decor ...which I knew would be that of English style decor...was amazing! I felt like I was somewhere else! The room was spotless and everything was neat and tidy. We didn't have one complaint....we had a kingsize bed w/fireplace and jacuzzi tub! This was the best!! The view from our window was nothing less than perfect! We could see Morro Rock and it was awesome.

The breakfast each morning was great....many people shot down the items, but when you consider what other places serve you....this was great! Waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy and the sausages were yummy! Milk, juice, coffee....pastries, toast and more. A lot better than most I've had! And not to forget the wine pour in the evening....that's the best!

We stayed for 5 nights at the Ascot Suites and would definitely stay again! Thank you for a wonderful time in your town!

Room Tip: Our room faced west...and was at the far end of the building...2nd flr...it was the best! Large pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ascot Suites is a clean, cozy hotel in downtown Morro Bay within walking distance of the embarcadero's restaurants and shops. The room we had (king suite) was well appointed with a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. We were able to leave the window open at night to enjoy the cool ocean air and were awakened in the morning with the sound of seagulls and sea lions. Although not right on the bay, it is just a short walk. The rooms could use some updating as the wallpaper, curtains, club chairs and bedspread were all from a different era. The chairs were worn and should be replaced. There is a rooftop patio that has a view of Morro rock and the bay but nothing outstanding besides the view. The one elevator is quite slow and generally requires a wait. Overall, this is a decent place for a short stay or stopover in Morro Bay and is moderately priced compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel succeeds in looking very English. Wife liked the floral print wallpaper, bedspread and the canopy bed. The room was quirky in layout, perhaps another English trait. We were a suite but the living room was a chair and small table, the bathroom was in the hallway to the bedroom and then the bedroom which was a conventional bedroom. Great view of the Rock which is the dominant feature of the Morro Bay seashore. Great friendly staff. Free DVD loans. Free wine tasting every afternoon. Good breakfast. Two blocks to the restaurant district, lots of seafood! Sandy beaches a short drive or long walk. Hotel was far better looking than the neighboring mom and pop motels. All in all a find. If I found myself in Morro Bay again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here as a stopover during a road trip and I'm so glad we did! Lovely welcome from Linda the twinkly eyed receptionist, we had a fantastically spacious and clean room...well rooms really as it seemed more like a suite! Breakfast was great...I do agree with previous comments about the eating area not being big enough but apart from that it was all good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are a family of 4 that stayed 1 night in a 2 queen bed room at the Ascot Suites on our way between LA and Monterey.

WE JUST LOVED OUR STAY.

First, we had had a long day with morning in LA and the road up to Morro Bay. When we got to the hotel at 17h45, they were having their nightly free wine tasting of a local winery wines that finished at 18h00. By the time we had checked in, the tasting was over but the lady at the reception desk told us they would wait for us and then let us take a glass each up to our room - VERY APPRECIATED.

As for the room, it was perfect. Beautifully decorated classical look, extremely clean, gas fireplace in room, very comfortable beds, coffee maker in room, balcony with view of the rock, ........

Finally, we were tired and decided to stay in the room that night. There is a DVD player in the room and you can get free DVDs at the reception desk from a selection of over 100 movies in all genres.

Morro Bay is highly touristic but in very good taste. There are a few small shops, very good restaurants and the walk along the fisherman warf is magical with the rock in the bay and the sea lions sleeping on the boyes in the bay.

PS Please vote as helpful if you like this review

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Suites

Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.