We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable and Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Suites to your Saves list
Ascot Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Vancouver
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean, Affordable and Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked this hotel through hotwire and found it completely satisfactory. The hotel is located about two blocks from the beach (Boardwalk) and a downtown area that has a number of quaint shops. The hotel is clean and offers a fairly typical early morning breakfast as part of the cost. The room was very nice with good linens and a very comfortable bed. We would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    120
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
202
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked this hotel on a last minute weekend getaway. There weren't many hotel options so we went with Ascot Suites based on the postive reviews. The hotel exceeded our expecations! The rooms are very large with a seperate sitting room and a large walk in closet. The entire hotel is decorated English Country (hence the name Ascot Suites) and it is quite charming. We didn't find the decor to be dated unless you consider English Country dated. The rooms were in great shape, super clean and smelled nice. We loved the location, it's a short walk down to the embarkadero, and steps away from the quaint streets of downtown Morro Bay. My only complaint is that the staff is nice but not friendly. They are polite and do their job but do not go out of their way to greet you, not once did we hear a "Welcome to Ascot Suites", "Enjoy your stay", or "Thanks for staying with us". Even so, we will definitely return and are glad we found a comfortable place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in Morro Bay in May 2011. We found this hotel to be a little dated. Very clean, staff was great the value was excellent. This hotel and the town was a great find. I would go back to this hotel again. I would also recommend this hoetl to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ascot Suites at 2 different times. The decoration is "english-theme" and wallpaper is showing its age. Nonetheless the room is clean and the hotel is easy to find and conviniently located, making it a good choice for visiting Morro Bay and surrounding area. The service was okay, and the front desk staff could be more welcoming, but she wasn't rude or anything. The free breakfast was okay, slightly better than the usual continental breakfast. Could get crowded but the food was promptly refilled so no complains there. Wine tasting in the afternoon was a nice tounch. The bed was on the soft side. Also, noise could be a problem. I could hear the AC unit running, washer running, etc. early in the morning. Probably because it's an older building. Anyhow, I recommend bringing earplugs. This is a good choice if you're looking for a clean accommodation and not too picky.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times in the past and have been very pleased. This time was was quite disappointing, the service was very poor, when asked to see a manager we were told by the check in staff the manager was not there and we could see him in the morning. That was at 2:30 in the afternoon. They made no effort to help us. The following morning at check out they were unable to locate the manager again. The bed was broke down and sleeping was very hard to do, will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Check your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Ascot Suites many times, and we will stay many more times! Our experiences have always been positive. The rooms are so nicely decorated, and the service is great. Clean, neat, friendly staff, very nice breakfast buffet; what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony and view of Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ascot Suites was reasonable and the rooms were very nice and very clean. The front desk staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located near the water. We had no idea what to expect in Morro Bay. Our daughter lives in LA so we have been to CA many times. We have never heard anyone mention the place. We liked it very much. The views, the sunsets, the many restaurants, and the stores were a lot of fun. It's not an upscale place like Santa Barbara but it's a friendly place. The weather there is a nice relief from the hot humid summers back home. I hope to go back to Morro Bay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Suites

Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.