We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long-term friendly bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1100 Main St., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
“Long-term friendly bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had the pleasure of a long-term stay at one of the most friendly places ever (and at a very good price). The family-owned hotel had all rooms completely remodeled during the time I was there. Even during the remodel, my stay was tranquil and I was not inconvenienced. Any request I made was attended to immediately. The owners went out of their way to give me personal attention. I will go back for another long stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm
econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This little motel barely passes. Two queen beds, but those old nasty bedspreads. Lots of good pillows, even extras in the room. Toilet was plugged when we got there. Management brought a new plunger. Conveniently located next door to the Hungry Fisherman Restaurant. Said free WiFi, but signal was too low to actually download anything. It's right on Main Street, though and literally three blocks to the Embarcadero at the end of the street.

Room Tip: Not room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town. CALL HOTEL 805 772 5609 TO STY FREE REWORD TO YOU

Kind Regards,

Property CHI
gm JACK
econo lodge
80577256
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

About like Motel 6, I would stay here if it was less on the price or if the others are booked. It's not to bad, no pool but right downtown and walking distance to the embarcadero. Weekends are good if you like the farmers market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm
econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Checked the reviews and prices for different hotels before making reservations to stay here for 3 nights. We are so glad we picked here. Rooms are newly remodeled, staff very friendly and accommodating and rooms very clean. We had a great view, it's close to shopping and food. Wanted to give it a 5 but the breakfast area is very small and not much room for food. Otherwise we had a great time, felt safe and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm
econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way up the coast. We arrived in Morro Bay around 7pm and immediately headed to the rock to take pictures. A friend mentioned to take pictures when you arrive because the fog would be too thick in the morning. The room was perfect for an overnight stay. Bed was comfortable, pillows a little flat and bathroom was clean with visible recent renovations. We didn't bother with the the breakfast as we got on the road early. Perfect stop for a nights stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm.jack
econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a roadtrip as it was way to windy and cold to pitch our tent that night which we planned on doing most of the trip. It was late and dark and we just needed a place to sleep. I felt safe having a male with me but being a female I would not stay here alone. The area seemed safe but the doors open directly to the outside which freaks me out. The room was clean, average, we just needed a bed for the night. It was in walking distance of the beach and morro rock and a number of fun restaurants and cafes. They have an ice machine and a very small continental breakfast. Basically coffee/bananas/pastries/cereal. A cheap place to stay if you only need to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We're sorry for any inconveniences during your stay; our doors remain open during the day for housekeeping. And as for the breakfast, we can only serve standard food that has been approved by the Coorprate office which we provide for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at the Econo Lodge on very short notice. From the friendly check in, immaculately clean room and bathroom we were very pleased.

The next morning breakfast.room is very small and that is why didn't give five stars.

The location is a very easy and convenient walk to the wharf, restaurants, and all
The shops. There is even a restaurant immediately behind the motel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in a corner room. It had a good view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
GM jack

econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1100 Main St., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Morro Beach. This Morro Bay hotel is just minutes from area attractions like Hearst Castle, Mission Plaza, Morro Bay State Park and Cuesta College. The San Luis County Regional Airport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Morro Bay hotel provides guests with amenities like free coffee. Business travelers will appreciate access to a fax machine. King Rooms are available. In addition to standard amenities, some guest rooms come equipped with microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators and cable television with HBO. Some rooms have a bay view. Parking space limited. Pet accommodation 30 USD per stay per pet. Maximum of 10 lbs or less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Econolodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.