We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and nice remodel. Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1100 Main St., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and nice remodel. Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at the Econo Lodge on very short notice. From the friendly check in, immaculately clean room and bathroom we were very pleased.

The next morning breakfast.room is very small and that is why didn't give five stars.

The location is a very easy and convenient walk to the wharf, restaurants, and all
The shops. There is even a restaurant immediately behind the motel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in a corner room. It had a good view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
GM jack

econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
35
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Motel has been remodeled, good job except for shower and tub with mold on caulking. Room was nice and price of $70 for king was ok for area. Right off Morro Rock, short walk to waterfront. Wifi was good, no sleep timer on tv or HD channels. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was not available at 7:15am, they said 7:00am. We had to leave without.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
GM jack

econo lodge
8057725609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dime Box, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Convenient to the bay and the shops plus good restaurants. A nothing fancy hotel, bit older but gave us a good night of rest at a price of $75 a night. Free breakfast and internet plus iron and small fridge in room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

They charge as much as anyone and the room was painted. That's nice. But mattresses were old, cheap and worn. UNCOMFORTABLE. They save a few bucks, and the guests probably won't come through this town again, so the owner doesn't care. BUT Econo Lodge is below Motel 6 in my book if I have a choice in the future.

I stay in cheap motels and expect nothing but a (1) secure room; (2) a shower and toilet (3) a tv and (4) a MATTRESS/BED THAT IS COMFORTABLE. They FAIL.

AVOID ECONO LODGE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi This Econo lodge Morro bay
Sorry ,
you not comfortable hotel mattress. I dontknow Why The All mattresses Is New Came from serta Co 2014 1/10/14. double pillow top elite All so the hotel provide big flat TV 40' All rooms are New remodeling 2014 bathroom is new may you sty different hotel but if you come Agni Econo lodge and sow us room thet you sty hotel give 100% fully refund to you plus 1 night Free sty

Econo lodge Morro bay
GM Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went to this motel with hope for a remodeled room (we read they were working on it) . Our hope came true, the room (209) looked great and the bathroom was all new. So we had a great night over here. We didnt hear the road.
Breakfast didnt have much choice but there was enough.
It's just a 5 to 10 minute walk down to the beach.
It was conveniently located straight of HWY 1

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If all you are looking for is a good, clean, basic room, this is your stop. They have a TV, fridge, clean beds, towels, and sheets. What else do you need? If you want a fancy room to stay couped up in all day, this isn't your place. If you want a clean place to lay your head after hitting the beach, at a price that can't be beat in town (been going to MB for 34 years) this is your spot.
Great staff, nice view of Morro Rock, and best of all NO BUGS! Bed or otherwise. (I work in Pest Control).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We only stayed one night, but would definitely stay here again. The staff was really nice and the room was basic, but great. Nice upgrades to the bathroom, nicely tiled shower area and nice counter area. Lovely tv, good view of Morro Rock from our window. Very clean, good location to the beachfront area (shopping, dinner, coffee). Breakfast isn't anything special, but certainly adequate! Would recommend this to my friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1100 Main St., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Morro Beach. This Morro Bay hotel is just minutes from area attractions like Hearst Castle, Mission Plaza, Morro Bay State Park and Cuesta College. The San Luis County Regional Airport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Morro Bay hotel provides guests with amenities like free coffee. Business travelers will appreciate access to a fax machine. King Rooms are available. In addition to standard amenities, some guest rooms come equipped with microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators and cable television with HBO. Some rooms have a bay view. Parking space limited. Pet accommodation 30 USD per stay per pet. Maximum of 10 lbs or less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Econolodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.