We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1100 Main St., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Manager very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

This hotel was easy to find. With plenty of parking spaces. Right outside our window you could see Morro Rock. But it was overcast that day so it was hard to see the whole thing. The manger was very nice when we checked in. He also made sure to inform us where the continental breakfast would be. Some hotels leave that information out. Our room was over the car port so we didn't have to worry about making too much noise and bothering the people below us. The room had a small table, TV, and dresser. The shower had good water pressure and hot water. This hotel was worth the money that we paid.

  • Liked — Parking was not an issue
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
11
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Families and vacationers beware please...Was treated poorly by the hotel manager. He kept acting like he was doing me a favor and treated me without any respect. He ridiculed me in front of my significant other when I requested a cleaner room.

The hotel is cheap and dirty. My nonsmoking room wreaked of smoke (no disrespect to the smokers) - its just that I had paid for a non smoking room.

When I pay for a service, I expect to be treated with respect - this was not the case.

As for the rooms, nothing really stands out as bad other than thin walls and the smoke stench.

If you come here, I'd advise not dealing with the hotel manager. My other tip would be to stay somewhere else. We even had to bring our own soap!

This review is only for the 1100 Main St location. I can't speak for the other location on Main St.

  • Liked — close to a great restaurant and decent location
  • Disliked — service from hotel manager was horrid and rooms smelled bad
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
We the staff of Econo Lodge are extreamly sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We do hope you change you mind about our hotel and come back again. We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank You,
Econo Lodge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We arrived to do our photo shooting around 4:30 p.m. on a Saturday evening coming down from Cambria. Although, I had set up the lodging earlier via Internet, I forgot to note I wanted a room with a view...so they were out when we arrived. Thye did have a corner room that had about a 1/3rd angle view of the ocean. Jack the owner was extremely courteous and accommodating. Check-in was a breeze. The room was very clean, comfortable, and proved to be more than adequate. Unlike some comments about hearing neighbors at night because the walls were too thin (and we had a full parking lot), the noise was minimal, if at all. That quietness could be due to the lodging attendees sense of politeness or how exhausted people were when they arrived. Nonetheless, it's only an economy establishment so you should not expect the walls to be a foot deep and sound proof. It's isn't a 5-star hotel, it's a motel, and a good one in my book for economy traveling. In the league it is in--economy--it has to provide what it does best which are the basics, clean rooms, moderate level of comfort, and some (though not perfect) moderation in noise. The view was adequate, the location is excellent in the city being close enough to the embarcadero and the museums. What I am saying is that this is superb as a bargain, economy, no-major frills establishment. They did what they needed to do in an excellent way and, therefore, deserve the best stars for the type of motel it is in format and services. I would use them again as long as Jack runs it.

  • Liked — Very clean and nice service. Does what an economy-motel should do.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovelyTravel777
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my husband on the Thanksgiving day. I thought that the price for the room was reasonable and the room was very clean. Workers were very friendly and reliable.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

Pros: one-night weekend stay possible, clean room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, plumbing and hot water fine, 2 coffee shops within 2 blocks.
Cons: thin walls -- if neighbors talk and laugh loudly at 11 p.m. or 2 a.m., you can hear it all as if you were in their room.

  • Liked — Absence of requirement to stay a minimum of 2 nights on the weekend.
  • Disliked — Thin walls let neighbors' noise wake you up during the night.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

Good: desk staff were friendly/helpful , free newspaper, got two rooms for a very reasonable price.

Not so Good: manager apparently just quit, continental breakfast was minimal, property had a run-down appearance, rooms were not clean.

  • Liked — helpful desk staff, price for two rooms
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

We checked for one night on Friday July 8 at this Inn on Main street, Morro Bay, CA. The room was 202. It was very expensive ( $169.40 for one night) , The room was smelling of mildew and very noisy, ( windows were very thin and did not close properly). It had no shampoo to shower. The hot water came in the shower where the faucet indicated cold and visa versa. iI will never stay at a Econo lodge again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1100 Main St., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Morro Beach. This Morro Bay hotel is just minutes from area attractions like Hearst Castle, Mission Plaza, Morro Bay State Park and Cuesta College. The San Luis County Regional Airport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Morro Bay hotel provides guests with amenities like free coffee. Business travelers will appreciate access to a fax machine. King Rooms are available. In addition to standard amenities, some guest rooms come equipped with microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators and cable television with HBO. Some rooms have a bay view. Parking space limited. Pet accommodation 30 USD per stay per pet. Maximum of 10 lbs or less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Econolodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.