We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, fab bed, great pillows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay to your Saves list
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1080 Market Ave., Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely room, fab bed, great pillows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed one night on the 30th of December for a very reasonable $59 for a queen room. Our room was nicely refurbished, had a super comfy bed with awesome pillows. A nice flat screen tv and a decent shower. Everything was clean and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. Included in the price was small self serve breakfast - I tried out the waffle machine, a first for me being from the uk - pretty good and the coffee was totally drinkable. There was also cereal and toast available. I was really please with our room and would certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    26
    14
    23
See reviews for
35
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was a poor experience in every way, and even as a lower cost option in the area, I'd go elsewhere. The desk staff were not professional in any way, breakfast was one waffle maker and cold cereal, toilet tank was broken, drapery sheers literally torn and rotting, partying teens. There are many motels convenient to the waterfront, stay at one of them, not here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to San Francisco in July. We needed a room for 5 so we had the suite (which was a door leading to a small room with the 3rd bed)...although hotel was clean it was very old, beds creaky, toilet clogged once, NO air conditioning (but fans worked ok), breakfast was fine and so was the coffee. We were able to walk to the water in minutes. For $80-$100 i would have been fine with the hotel but they wanted $189 which was not a good value at all as have paid that for really nice hotels in Anaheim. If I had had more time to research i would have stayed elsewhere as it was meant to be just a stop over hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and had no complaints. Our room was compact and clean, the place was quiet all night (a little noisy in the morning with everyone's coming and goings, but it's a motel. What else can you expect?) The bed was pretty comfy and the shower was decent enough. I wouldn't stay a couple weeks but for a night or 2 it's perfect, cheap and in my opinion good value for money. Didn't get up in time for breakfast. Plenty parking and good wifi signal too. Staff we're polite and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had stayed here before and it was a good experience. Rooms have been redone and the rooms on the 2nd floor have new bathrooms. We were very impressed with the room. The value was exceptional. New bed was comfortable and the pillows were actually usable and nice. Bathroom had all new faucets, toilet, tub and surfaces. We liked the curved shower curtain rod. The only negative was the small and super low toilet that was not easy to use. Maybe that's an ADA thing. But for people of normal height, it's unpleasant. Bathroom floors were a non-slip synthetic stuff that looked like tile. The floor in most of the room was a type of wood laminate surface. Granite counters and table tops. New flat screen TV and cable. The coffee in the office downstairs is OK and always available. We had breakfast across the street at Carla's Country Kitchen. Our room was above the office and we could actually see Morro Rock. Even though it is located at an intersection, the noise was never intrusive. Unless you count the seagull perched on the roof that squawked at us when we walked out to our car, or the distant sound of seals barking from the bay. The family owners are terrific and very anxious to provide good service (like extra towels we requested). The stair steps appear to have been repaired(after reading other reviews) and are easy to use. Bottom line, this is a really good place to stay if you're on a budget and aren't interested in amenities like a spa. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are all new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Can't beat this location to walk to everything. The shops, eateries, fisherman and their boats, seals barking !! Our room was nicely updated....most comfy queen bed and pillows! a nice table and chairs , which we used to eat our continental breakfast in our room. Breakfast was, waffles, coffee, juice., and cereal/milk.....enough to start our day!! The parking lot is a bit rough, needs some repair work.....or walk across dirt. We were looking for a value room for one nite in this cute town and Rockview served us just perfectly. We were getting quotes of well over $200/nt other places.......so at under $90, this was a great value !!

Room Tip: We were upstairs, it was quiet and private. We could see the water from our balcony and the "Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in late August and was surprised what a great job the upgrade to the rooms was. Beautiful wood grained laminate floors instead of carpet, accent painted walls, flat screens... But the bed! Fantastic! High count sheets, gorgeous duvet and no hotel comforter. All custom built furniture with tons of granite. Leather dinette chairs and all around tasteful decorating makes this more like a suite in a fine hotel more than a. Motel.

Room Tip: Upstairs back building has amazing, textured imported Italian tile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay

Address: 1080 Market Ave., Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge Hotel Morro Bay
Travelodge Morro Bay
Travel Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Travelodge
Morro Bay Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.