We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest Place for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Morro Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Morro Bay to your Saves list
Motel 6 Morro Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   298 Atascadero Road, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at SR 41/Atascadero Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Visalia, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cleanest Place for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Motel 6 may not be the best motel to stay at, but for the price its hard to beat. When we go to Morro Bay its all about the beach and the food, not to pay a high price for a motel. Everyone at Motel 6 has been great when were there. They have a pool which a few Motels in Morro Bay dont have, and they cost more than Motel 6. If you need internet let them know because only a few rooms can recieve it.The showers are nice and the rooms are always very clean. We stay at Motel 6 in Morro Bay everytime they have a room available, we try to go at least 2 to 4 times a year.

Room Tip: It you want a view of Morro Rock then ask for south west side, up stairs is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    26
    11
    17
See reviews for
25
32
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this location is ok, it is walking distanse to the beach, and does have a view of morro rock!!

the rooms are your typical motel 6 rooms no thrills and no frills,, Just a place to lay your head at the end of the day!!, while the building could use a fresh paint job, and the walk ways in dire need of a good power wash! ovel all it is decent place,

the rooms are clean , very freindly employess, that are very knowledgeble,

To the folks who arent filmilar with the motel 6 chain, motel is a budget, motel with no thrills no frills, you dont get 1000 thread count sheets, expensive bed linen, coffee maker, shampoo, or big fluffy towels , clock radio or even flat screen tv's,the things you get at a five star hotel, but best of all of the chain is they are PET FREINDLY< WITH NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE, again this is a budget motel not the RITZ, so if you dont mind not having all the extras, then this chain is just fine, but if you require all the exteras then go some where else!!,

Room Tip: choose second floor for views of the rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lompoc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Im not a real big fan when it comes to Motel 6 but it was sorta a last min stay because we were at the Morro Bay Beer festival. The price was ok. Room was decently clean....overall I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After reading reviews I was worried about the ranking. Very surprised how clean the room was!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here recently in one of the upstairs units. I like the price and that we could bring our dog without additional pet fee, but room was dirty and stunk with cigarettes. Apparently the room was no smoking, but when I let the front desk agent know that somebody must have smoked in that room before she didn't seem to be surprised at all! Well - they even have ashtrays with no smoking signs in NO SMOKING rooms! Bed sheets had stains on and had burn holes from cigarettes too. I must say that the shower was a nice surprise. The pressure was great and it all seemed surprisingly clean. If you are looking for a quiet location forget about this one. In the end with tax our stay was $ 75 for that price you really can find something better and cleaner.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here choose upstairs units away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed here for my second time. the first time I stayed there was a few years ago and I said I wouldn't go back but this time I had no choice and had to stay there (there was a special event in town, I guess).

I was surpised at the changes. New managment it looks like. The manager was at the desk to greet me with the desk service, christopher? I've never seen the general manager helping out at the desk at any Motel 6. They were very kind. It was sold out but they did their best to place us where we wanted. The room wasn't ready til 4pm but that was okay. They were honest with the time and had so many people waiting it was understandable.The manager even offered to go check on the room, then gave us a map for where to get lunch, and the kid at the desk even took time out to map out our next trip on the way to another motel 6. Top notch!

The room was much cleaner than pervous years, beds were comphy. Our only compaints were the stains on the carpet and a stale smell. The desk called once we were in the room to see if we needed anything.(we were surpised, the best western we usually stay at never does this) We needed extra towels and we got them with in minutes. The housekeeper even offered to spray the room for the smell and clean the carpet. After a long apology and a few minutes our room was good to go. I guess the housekeeper then spoke to the manager because 10 minutes later she called with an apolgy and asked if she could do anything further for us. Great service!

just a small basic room, not the best but cheapest in town. Usually don't care for motel 6 but because of the great service I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the rock. If it's a busy weekend call ahead to have your room read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We love the location and that we could bring our dog without an extra deposit. But the beds are horrible. The bathrooms have mold/mildew in all the corners. The noise from 2nd floor units and next door units is too much. And if you're at the end where the stairs are, there is stomping up and down all night. And to complain does no good. I wrote to the corporate office twice about 2 different stays and each time they responded saying they would look into it. As expected, there was no change. And the PRICES go UP to a riduculous high for holidays and summer time. I'd rather pay extra and stay somewhere else that is cleaner and quieter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Morro Bay

Address: 298 Atascadero Road, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at SR 41/Atascadero Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Morro Bay is located in a small, quiet town a short distance from bay area restaurants, fishing boats and many small shops. Fine wineries in the area offer tours. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Motel Six Morro Bay
Morro Bay Motel Six
Morro Bay Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.